We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
451
102
22
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
102
22
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lawrence river fire pit river view beautiful hotel turn down service thousand island adirondack chairs balcony room double queen nicest hotel watkins glen complimentary coffee admiral suite sitting area each morning indoor pool walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2015

The hotel itself and the location can't be beat. Clayton is a nice, quiet town and the waterfront location of the hotel was top-notch, with amazing views. The hotel & grounds were beautiful, you couldn't ask for better. However, our room on the 2nd floor above the ballroom used for wedding receptions was terrible. Although the noise from the DJ could barely be heard from elsewhere such as the hallway, lobby, & patio, the noise was almost unbearable in our room(206).As we are not cranky party poopers and certainly understood that a hotel like this hosts weddings, we weren't terribly bothered by it that night. However, we ran into the same problem the next night, as there was a Sunday evening wedding as well (due to the holiday weekend). Two nights in a row of loud thumping music vibrating the floor of our room for hours was frustrating. The outdoor patio & firepits were such a neat feature of this hotel, but the patio was so crowded with wedding guests that hotel guests don't have the chance to enjoy this great feature. We were looking forward to enjoying drinks by the fire at night, but the patio ended up being an extension of the ballroom/wedding reception.
Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel & would recommend to others, it was just disappointing to spend this amount of money for a special occasion getaway and have the hotel overrun with wedding crowds. We would definitely stay here again, but now know to ask specifically for a room that is not directly above a ballroom.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor above ballrooms where wedding receptions are held.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank t e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

We were in the area to attend a wedding and stayed at the 1000 Island Harbor Hotel. We knew what to expect both in high quality and professional service. The hotel was booked to capacity because of numerous weddings. Ample staff made it an enjoyable stay. The rooms are large and clean. Bathrooms have stall shower and the rooms have nice terry cloth robes. The beds were ok, the Internet was fine and free. The food was fine, service fine and the bar setting is warm and inviting. Our room was not available when we arrived, but was ready before we finished lunch.

The rooms were a little pricey, but they are large and comfortable. Our room had two beds, a couch, and comfortable chair and desk. Rooms have little fridges too.

My only observation was the towels could be a little bit fluffier, and that's a first world problem.

We often stay at the Watkins Glen Harbor Inn and will stay at 1000 Island Harbor Inn if we venture back to the area.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Sallad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed at both Watkins Glen and Clayton Harbor Hotels. They both are in great shape and very clean and well maintained and almosr identical in layout.
The beds were comfortable although I for one am never sure what to do with the mountain of decorative pillows and bolsters that they hide your sleeping pillows under.
The problem I have is that both locations were so corporate with the piped in jazz being played outside and inside and the model home look of the place it seems to have no soul.
The employees were all pleasant and accomodating but hotel itself seemed a little too buttoned down for me.
The bad news is that while there is coffee and tea in the vestibule by the elevators there is none in your room. If you are the type to like coffee in bed while you read your complimentary USA Today you better be prepared for some interesting pillow hair sights. The doors are heavy and somewhat noisy for the guest who is unaware. I found that the door that can open to the adjoining room to lack a good noise seal. My neighbor used the hair dryer for about 20 minutes at 6:30 apparently out side of the bathroom and you could wake the dead. All in all I would return as they are both the best in their respective towns but wish they did not feel so contrived.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the river side
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Decided to stay here after seeing the hotels in Alexandria Bay. We wanted something a little more upscale with good reviews! We made a great decision! Sits right on the St. Lawrence River! We got a room with a balcony. It was a little too cold and windy to take advantage of the balcony but the view of the river was fabulous! Would love to come here in warmer weather and spend some time on the beautiful outdoor patio!

Room Tip: Best Views; balcony rooms are nice but not necessary!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

We had a stay with Harbor Hotel, and enjoyed it very much. The location being perfect and also the grounds are beautiful, we saw many ships passing right off of our balcony, everything is very clean and comfortable also. Dinning staff is top! Our breakfast's were perfect and staff so pleasant. Location being in the middle of Alexandria and Cape Vincent, close to attractions, including Boldt Castle, very easy to navigate to, and Wine tasting a must, while visit

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews