We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catskill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Post Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Catskill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2011

What an incredible place! The owners Gil and Mary Ann become part of your family. Their hospitality is unreal! We were greeted by homemade cookies and wine and guacamole and homemade salsa. Every night at 8:30 port and dessert is served. And the breakfasts!!! Shirred eggs, peach blintzes, whole grain waffles, eggs benedict all incredible. Gil used to be a chef and they owned a restaurant.
The house is gorgeous, and our room was amazing. We stayed in the East Room and my boyfriend proposed to me in the room because it was so beautiful. I can't imagine wanting to get engaged any other place. The energy, the warmth of this place is wonderful!!!
We cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lifesabeach95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed only two nights at The Post Cottage, but we wished it had been longer. The innkeepers were welcoming and very informative and helpful – Gilbert produced a tide chart when he heard that we were interested in kayaking, gave us directions to go hiking and pointed us towards good restaurants in the area. The accommodations were good, not over-stuffed and cutesy but large bedrooms, well-furnished and comfortable. The breakfast was spectacular both days, the usual fruit salad and croissant followed by a delicious entrée presented beautifully in an elegant dining room. Then when we returned from a full day exploring the area, there was key lime pie (Susan’s favorite) waiting. Catskill the town is well worth a stroll up and down the main street, it’s a town that re-invented itself a few years back and has a lot of interesting architecture, some neat shops, a warehouse converted to a museum of the town’s history as a Hudson River port, galleries and a couple of good places to eat out. Catskill the region is an outdoor paradise, for kayaking, hiking, biking or just strolling. We had a delightful stay – highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanInIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful and the proprietors were very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odkaosko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I was actually on a business trip with an associate in Catskill. This was the only place to stay in Catskill and it was just unbelievable. When we arrived there was white wine and cookies. Upon our return from dinner there was port wine and dessert. We stayed downstairs and played scrabble drinking port. Then the breakfast the next morning was one of the best I have ever had. Period. Not mention the rooms were truly luxurious. I will stay here everytime I am in Catskill for business or pleasure. Thanks to Gil and Mary Ann for a great visit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevels2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is a lovely, low key B&B. We would definitely return and next time bring some friends with us too! Here are the highlights:

- This place is newly opened, so the interiors are updated and impeccable. All of the small details are great, like nice bathroom fixtures, fluffy towels, and Cable TV in your room.

- They provide a shared fridge with water, soda, tea, glasses and a corkscrew for BYO.

- I personally think the decor is lovely - it's tasteful-traditional, but with modern amenities. Perfect for a B & B.

- The Food is outstanding! They are very gourmet - local artisan cheese, crudite and wine for happy hour. Decadent home made desserts at the end of the night and of course awesome breakfast! It's true, they offer fish for breakfast. I had the pork one morning, which was tender and juicy and seasoned to perfection.

- They also have a tennis court, a mini-pool table, board games, DVD's...

- Lastly, Gil and Mary Ann are great. Everyone likes a different style when it comes to B & B's - I personally liked Gil and Mary Ann's style. They are friendly and interesting and willing socialize/hang out. BUT, they were also sensitive to when you needed some time to your self. They have the right mix of friendly, but not dominating.

Room Tip: Photos on their website are pretty good representation of what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catskill
31.7 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
14 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
31.3 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 km away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#2 of 7 in Catskill
83 reviews
2.3 km away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
10.1 km away
B&B Lounge of Catskill
B&B Lounge of Catskill
#4 of 9 in Catskill
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Post Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post Cottage

Address: 174 Spring St, Catskill, NY 12414-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Catskill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Catskill
Price Range: $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Post Cottage is located at 174 Spring Street in the village of Catskill, NY 12414. We have four rooms each with a private bath and a fireplace. Guests are welcome to play on our private tennis court. Full breakfasts are included and port wine is offered in the evening. The Post Cottage is adjacent to the Thomas Cole House and two miles from Frederick Church's house, Olana. Downtown Catskill is within walking distance, and Hudson, NY is three miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing