We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn Grounds”
Review of Glen Iris Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castile
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Castile B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We stayed just one night on our way from New York to Niagara Falls. The inn was right in front of the biggest fall in the park. You could see it from the upstairs sitting room. We walked along the falls before leaving in the morning. The room was small but nice.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Letchworth Park, located between Rochester and Buffalo in New York State is magnificent.
The Glen Iris Inn is a restaurant in a beautiful setting over looking the falls
We came to see the park foliage at peak and were not disappointed.
The restaurant is a step back in time.
We were seated immediately and we were
fortunate in that we were near windows that provided a view of gardens and the gorge
A seasonal sangria was offered was delightfully fresh.
The options for lunch were classic... pot roast ... burgers... salads... sandwiches... chicken and biscuits....
The meal was actually quite pedestrian. Both burger and prime rib sandwich were over done and should have gone back but our server was scrambling to cover many tables in a full room
The dining room was quite loud... we had difficulty hearing each other..
Pot roast was good and was served with tasty mashed potatoes and a large serving of carrots
Wine list was reasonable
Wish we were able to have had the burger and sandwich prepared as requested... not fault of server but kitchen
Loved the park
Beautiful setting
Next time may stop in for dessert only... pies looked as passed by on way to other diners

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank travelfortheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

This comfortable but not plush inn, the prior summer home of Wm. Letchwprth, is located in Letchworth State Park that stretches several miles along a river in western NY about 50 miles from Buffalo. It has 2 or 3 suites-the Cherry suite with a balcony overlooking a water fall is the best and must be booked a year or more ahead, and several cozy rooms. The restaurant is generally good with beef prime rib and a lamb rack that were superb and others that were okay. The prime rib was among the best we have ever had- very tender and cooked perfectly. Many pleasant walks in the park are easily accessible.

Room Tip: Cherry suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ChloeSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We visited the Inn on the last 2 days of September. We missed the fall colours, but the ideal setting of the Inn made up for the small rooms. It's an old building but the staircase up to the three landings was beautifully preserved wood panelling. The view of the middle falls from the 3rd floor common room was spectacular. Unfortunately, there is no outside viewing from this area, so we had to see the falls through the window (a big pity). There was tea and coffee available each morning on each landing, and gave time to meet with your floor neighbours before breakfast. As mentioned the rooms were very small and our twin room had nowhere to place our suitcases. The staff were very friendly and helpful when planning our days activities. There is a museum next to the Inn ad is well worth the visit (it's free). The meals are expensive, but very tasty and served by excellent staff. I would recommend this Inn for a few days max, as you would get really antsy with the lack of space in the rooms.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

What a fabulous hotel this is. We had a loft with a large comfortable lounge, with a large bathroom with spa, and a king-size bed on the mezzanine level. Fabulous room – one of the best we have ever stayed in. The meal in the restaurant was delicious, top quality and reasonably priced and the service was excellent. My complements to the staff. All this plus the gorgeous setting next to the Middle Falls.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Glen Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Iris Inn

Address: 7 Letchworth State Park, Castile, NY 14427-9714
Region: United States > New York > Castile
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castile
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Glen Iris Hotel Castile
Glen Iris Inn Castile
Glen Iris Castile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing