We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had the best time!”
Review of Glen Iris Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castile
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Castile B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We absolutely loved our time at the Glen Iris Inn. My husband and I went up north to Letchworth State Park to check out the scenery and beautiful waterfalls. We decided to stay at the Glen Iris Inn initially out of convenience, being that it's located inside the park. Letchworth is breathtaking alone, but then combined with Glen Iris Inn, it was the perfect weekend for us. It felt like a second honeymoon. All the people at the Inn, from check-in to check- out and everyone in between that we had contact with were pleasant and kind. Our dinner at the restaurant Caroline's was delicious, we went back the second night too and were just as pleased. Our waiter Joe ( we asked for him the second night, because he made such an impression on us the first night) was so friendly and knowledgeable of the park and the area- and he makes a mean Bananas Foster. ( and-they will hold your leftovers in the fridge for you!) Complimentary coffee served on the second floor between 7 and 10! Loved it!
The Inn is pretty to look at, inside and out, and the view of the falls out front is phenomenal... We very much enjoyed watching the Hot Air Balloon lifting up over the falls at sunset. We have definite plans to go back,

Room Tip: Our room, Hemlock, was on the small side, which was fine with us. Some people might want a little mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stayed for one night and the room was a little dated but at $115 is what you can expect. Restaurant was poor and overpriced for the quality. We feel that the food is typical of what you might expect in a national park!
Letchworth Park itself was great and is worth a trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank NaturesMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Even though we did not stay at the Inn itself but in the Pinewood Lodge nearby that is also run by the Inn we really enjoyed the location in breathtakingly beautiful Letchworth Park (the Grand Canyon of the North) as well as the great service and wonderful meals in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We had lifelong friends visiting the area and were excited to show off the vaunted Grand Canyon of the East. The scenery didn't disappoint. Sadly the same could not be said for the Glen Iris. The staff was woefully inattentive. The meal was so salty it was unfit for consumption. I won't return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1986_Cade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

treated aweful by the front staff, with attitude and dirty looks because they did not do their job. to top it of it was our wedding day and i was to be married in about an hour. what a terrible way to treat anyone. we rented the stonehouse which we did not shower in because bathrooms were gross, (outdoor park showers are nicer, bring showerflops) and windows sills had hundreds of dead flies.creepy. check in is 3 pm but we had to demand the key at 2 min to 3pm to get into the house to get dressed for our ceromony. at the stonehouse we were greated by a cleaning crew,(the cleaning crew was in the house mingeling with our guests well after 3 pm, not appropriate but we needed to make the best of things. the frige was never cleaned out and had food from the previous guests) about 15 garbage bags and the guests from the night before whom were 4 hrs late in checking out were still there and also gave us dirty looks even though they were ignorant pompous folks. nothing could ever correct that situation.the way a lady feels on her wedding day is PRICELESS and they made me very frustated. i would replace the front staff .

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank justmarried056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castile
21.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Mount Morris, NY
31.6 km away
Hampton Inn Geneseo
Hampton Inn Geneseo
#1 of 2 in Geneseo
522 reviews
31.5 km away
Quality Inn Geneseo
Quality Inn Geneseo
#2 of 2 in Geneseo
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Iris Inn

Address: 7 Letchworth State Park, Castile, NY 14427-9714
Region: United States > New York > Castile
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castile
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Glen Iris Hotel Castile
Glen Iris Inn Castile
Glen Iris Castile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing