We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
115
73
33
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
73
33
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews letchworth state park third floor glen iris upper falls balcony overlooking white pine no elevator on site restaurant double bed complimentary coffee air conditioning genesee river stayed one night standard room mini fridge small room new york
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stayed for one night and the room was a little dated but at $115 is what you can expect. Restaurant was poor and overpriced for the quality. We feel that the food is typical of what you might expect in a national park!
Letchworth Park itself was great and is worth a trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank NaturesMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Even though we did not stay at the Inn itself but in the Pinewood Lodge nearby that is also run by the Inn we really enjoyed the location in breathtakingly beautiful Letchworth Park (the Grand Canyon of the North) as well as the great service and wonderful meals in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We had lifelong friends visiting the area and were excited to show off the vaunted Grand Canyon of the East. The scenery didn't disappoint. Sadly the same could not be said for the Glen Iris. The staff was woefully inattentive. The meal was so salty it was unfit for consumption. I won't return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1986_Cade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

treated aweful by the front staff, with attitude and dirty looks because they did not do their job. to top it of it was our wedding day and i was to be married in about an hour. what a terrible way to treat anyone. we rented the stonehouse which we did not shower in because bathrooms were gross, (outdoor park showers are nicer, bring showerflops) and windows sills had hundreds of dead flies.creepy. check in is 3 pm but we had to demand the key at 2 min to 3pm to get into the house to get dressed for our ceromony. at the stonehouse we were greated by a cleaning crew,(the cleaning crew was in the house mingeling with our guests well after 3 pm, not appropriate but we needed to make the best of things. the frige was never cleaned out and had food from the previous guests) about 15 garbage bags and the guests from the night before whom were 4 hrs late in checking out were still there and also gave us dirty looks even though they were ignorant pompous folks. nothing could ever correct that situation.the way a lady feels on her wedding day is PRICELESS and they made me very frustated. i would replace the front staff .

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank justmarried056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Wife and I have visited Letchworth State Park several times over many years but the Glen Iris Inn, while very attractive in many ways, had never appealed to us as a place to stay or even to eat. The dining room and gift shop always seemed jammed with daytrippers--even busloads of them--and we feared that little rustic charm still remained. A two night stay has now shown us that were sadly mistaken and that we have been missing a gem all this time. The daytrippers, after all, mostly leave after the busy lunchtime here and by late afternoon, all is peace and quiet. And anytime of day, once you are up in the Inn's private guest floors, you can enjoy all the rustic charm and tranquillity that you seek.

Our room had just the right blend of quaint decor and mod cons--the bathroom squeaky clean and thoroughly updated with new fixtures, brilliant lighting, even to the point of having BOTH sun and heat lamps. The small bedroom itself could have done with more lighting at night. I appreciated having a choice between a nice old, fully-opening window for natural breezes and the soothing sounds of the waterfall outside OR the quiet central AC and heat for chillier nights. An earlier Tripadvisor has mentioned "terrible beds" and while I wouldn't go quite that far, we were a bit disappointed that our "double" bed turned out to be two twins coupled together, leaving quite a bit of a dip in the middle. This bothered my wife more than self. If this would be a problem for you, you should clarify when you reserve...

Rooms on the top floor share access to Mr. Letchworth's lovely old panelled library that stretches the full width of the house and offers a spectacular view of the waterfall. Second floor rooms have a smaller sitting area with similar view and here each morning, there is coffee service set out for early risers, and good strong coffee it is, too, with option of real cream. (My wife was a bit disappointed that there was no similar service in the evening for people like herself who enjoy a pot of tea.) There are four larger suites available, one of these with its own little private balcony. Try to at least get a peek into this latter "Cherry" suite: a splendid old fireplace and glowing woodwork throughout, the inlaid, patterned floor almost too beautiful to step on.

As a nod to the Thoreau within, rooms and suites are not numbered but rather assigned the names of various traditional American trees found on the property or planted originally by Mr. Letchworth. I was assured that the name of our room, "Deodar", is indeed a tree name, though it sounded ominous to me, like some unfortunate place in Iraq or Afghanistan. Other rooms have more reassuringly familiar names like "Hickory" or "Hemlock" or the aforementioned "Cherry".

We had two breakfasts and two dinners at the Inn. The breakfasts were excellent, the dinners less so, but overall food and service are certainly a good cut above what we have often experienced at other State and National Park concessions catering to a similar, moreorless captive clientele. Prices fair. Skip the frenzied lunchtime--you'll probably be out touring around that time of day anyhow--almost everyone at breakfast is a resident guest and it was very peaceful and relaxed, and dinnertime almost as quiet. Only one small dining area is actually part of the original structure--you should try to have at least one meal in there--but the more modern dining area is still very attractive with lovely big windows, wood panelling and warm lighting.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torontotraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews