We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Accurate description on Trip Advisor”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Caroga Lake, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NySlp
Li, Ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Accurate description on Trip Advisor”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Polka Dot cottage is exactly as described on Tripadvisor. It is very clean, cozy & comfortable. It's definitely "whimsical" with polka decor everywhere & a glitter ball!!! My husband & I originally booked this rental because we expected 2 of young granddaughters to visit the area & we knew they would love it. As things turned out, they were not able to make it & we had more than a few laughs about my husband staying in this lovely, but very feminine cottage. (He did like the 1950's style decor in the kitchen because it reminded him of his childhood (minus the polka dots.) He also loved sitting at the fire pit! LOL But we had everything we needed, beds were extremely comfortable & it was a very short (2 min) walk down the street to the lake. The owners couldn't be nicer. The surrounding neighbors whom we met & various residents & business owners in Caroga Lake were very warm & friendly. One down side of Carago Lake is Verizon Cell phone service doesn't work until you go 15 min away from the cottage. Wifi is service available.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Thank you Li! Hope you can visit again, you are always welcome! (bring your granddaughters :) )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizCape
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Charming and Adorable Cottage near beautiful Caroga Lake”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our family was here in June of 2107 for a family reunion and booked two of this owner's cottages on same street. We had a camp on Caroga Lake growing up, and my uncle still lives there so we are big fans of this beautiful area. Both homes were clean, very well equipped, and full of personality. Polka Dot is small, but has room to spread out with a living room, porch, and eat in kitchen, and has a nice back yard. The decor is vintage and really cute-such attention to detail! Polka dotted everything! Aimee was very friendly and easy to work with during booking process.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thanks so much Liz! Hope you can visit again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Alexandria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay at this Charmingly Quirky Cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Polka Dot Cottage was exactly what I needed - a pleasant, pretty little house full of personality, in a quiet, beautiful lakeside setting with friendly locals. The cottage is exactly as described, with three cozy bedrooms, excellent WiFi, and tons of charm. I had plenty of room to spread out and get some work done, and for the one night when my teenage son joined me, the cottage still had enough room to keep us from feeling cramped. I loved the 40+ Japanese lanterns that light the enclosed front porch, the glittering disco ball hanging over the living room, and the cute, colorful decor throughout.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Oh, thank you so much Catherine! Hope you can visit again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleyca...
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Polka Dot is the cutest cabin.
My grand kids loved the disco ball! They thought it was the greatest.
All the decorations were great.
Very clean cabin.
Close walk to the lake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decor
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Glad you enjoyed yourselves Shirley! hope you visit again- you are always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words Karin, I do hope you visit again! We have two wonderful winter homes as well, Sunset and Evergreen. Let me know if you would like to return. Best to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing