We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edith Macy Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The Edith Macy Conference Center is our organization's first choice for external events. primarily because of the excellent customer service consistently rendered by the entire staff. They take extremely good care of us and always accommodate every request. They have built a trusted relationship with our organization by regularly exceeding our expectations...and that means everything!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear John H,
Thank you for the nice words in your posting. We appreciate your business very much and I hope you have a great Holiday season.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

We held a 2 day staff meeting here, and we were very pleased with our meeting space and the food served, and the overall conference center and staff. We did not require overnight lodging for our group, so I can't speak to how the guest rooms are. Our meeting rooms were nice and comfortable and set up for our use as previously arranged. Our meals were good and served on time. The staff was nice and helpful. They even arranged a small, special dessert for one of our staff celebrating a birthday when we asked for it that day (it was not pre-arranged). The setting is also very nice since it is out in the woods. It is a different atmosphere from a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Alisia L,
Thank you for the great feedback. Enjoy the holidays and we'll see you again in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

If you are looking for a seamless process from start to finish, and a company who knows and meets your every need, Edith Macy is the answer!

We have been working with Sherri Hoy and her exceptionally warm and professional staff (to include upward management and event staff) for over 10 years. Our relationship started with the coordination and execution of a 2-week Executive Leadership Program and has grown into our hosting nearly every off-site event at Edith Macy.

The Guest Services staff, Catering, Bartending & Wait staff, Housekeeping staff, A/V staff, Grounds staff and most notably the Event Planning Staff are naturals when it comes to meeting our needs and making us feel welcomed from start to finish. As for the location and setting, it doesn't get any better!

Take it from a company that strives for perfection and is customer-focused, you're experience will be the same!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Stephanie R,
Thank you very much for the comments! I'll pass them along to the team. Looking forward to another 10 years at least. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The staff at Edith Macy is above and beyond amazing! The staff is professional and accommodating both before, during and after the event. They worked with us to make our business meeting a great experience. The food was fantastic (great options and took any special order/dietary requests we had). The staff was so tentative and friendly. They took care of all our needs. The technical support staff made sure the room was setup to our specifications. The facilities are beautiful--wilderness ambiance mixed with business functionality. Thank you for a great event and we'll be sure to come back in the future!!

Room Tip: You can request pictures of the room for business meeting setup options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear P H,
I'm happy your team enjoyed their event with us. I was glad to see your comments about accomodating dietary requests. Our culinary staff works very hard to provide delicious options for everyone and just because someone has dietary restriction, that doesn't mean they have to sacrifice taste or selection. Hope to see you again soon.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stay away. Use your money at oufits who embrace customer service and excellence. Go to the Tarrytown House.

We have coordinated numerous vists to Edith Macy. Each time the nasty staff have something to say to make our event sour. Despite the fact that we take great care with their property they always seem to have staff that need to nickel and dime our outfit.

Customer service is not something the Edith Macy management embraces. The manager will always play off her direct report when her staff drops the ball. My staff are made to feel like the planning conversations they had prior to the event never took place. Is it a good idea for folks in the hospitality industry to make their customers feel uncomfortable and upset during an event they are paying for to feel uplifted when they leave? We are talking thousands of dollars spent at each event.

Taking our money elsewhere. Come here if you are looking for a venue staffed with individuals who are experts at being, rude; enjoy arguing and upsetting their clients and strive to ruin your event.




We have also stayed in rooms throughout the property. The rooms are over-priced, needing updating to the worn out carpet and dingy tiling in the bathroom.

Room Tip: stay any where else. Even your car would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMCCMgmt, General Manager at Edith Macy Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear John H,
Thank you for your comments. I am familiar with the situation that prompted your posting and I have spoken with the leaders of this particular group to get a complete understanding of what happened. It goes without saying, but I'll say it anyway, that we should never leave anyone with an impression like the one you have. It is obvious that we failed in this instance and I apologize. We have a dedicated team of professionals here and we could have done much better in handling this situation. Unfortunately, our communication was not what it should have been and a relatively small problem got away from us and got larger. I have worked with this team for many years and I know that this isn't how we approach our relationships.

Again, thank you for speaking your mind. We will be better for the criticism, no matter how harsh. Please consider contacting me directly if you would like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Briarcliff Manor
13.0 km away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
7.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawthorne
153 reviews
10.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
10.9 km away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
180 reviews
12.7 km away
The Time Nyack
The Time Nyack
#1 of 3 in Nyack
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edith Macy Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edith Macy Conference Center

Address: 550 Chappaqua Rd, Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510-1504
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Briarcliff Manor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Briarcliff Manor
Price Range: $118 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edith Macy Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edith Macy Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edith Macy Hotel Briarcliff Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing