We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, rustic simplicity”
Review of The Hedges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Mountain Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hedges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed in the Stone Lodge which was right on the lake, on the quiet edge of the property. There is a wide wrap around porch for sitting, reading or just gazing at the scenery. No air conditioning, but you can ask for a fan, if needed. The dining hall was charming with a tin ceiling, large stone fireplace and a view of the lake. The wait staff was friendly and effecient. The breakfast menu was varied and there was a choice of entrees for dinner. The main lodge has a birch room which displayed woodworking craftsmanship that was on par with what we saw in the nearby Adirondack Museum. As far as activities go, there are kayaks, canoes, swimming and hiking. Overall, it's a great place to "unlpug", slow down and enjoy the beauty of nature. We definitely plan to go back again when we need a break from the rat race.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachwalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for The Hedges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have kayaked past The Hedges for years. It is absolutely gorgeous from the water and inside the buildings. Fellow travelers I've spoken to on the lake have always raved about it. I must say that our breakfasts and dinners there were a cut above anything else offered in the area and that the vibe was quiet and respectful. There was a boat house with enough boating equipment for everyone to enjoy the lake fully. Then came the night. We were told to bring all our food in because a bear was about, so we did. The mice enjoyed a night of climbing through our bags and chewed into a can of nuts. The Hedges is a lovely place, and we do enjoy our rustic vacations, but that particular cabin has a problem that we hope has been dealt with. I would pack mouse traps if I ever booked lodging there again.

Room Tip: If you ever stay here, take out a kayak and paddle all three lakes. Check out the events scheduled a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Hedges occupies a beautiful spot on beautiful Blue Mountain Lake. It is a wonderful place for relaxing and enjoying summer pleasures: active ones like swimming, canoeing, kayaking, biking, hiking; and more relaxing ones like reading in a comfortable chair by the lake, gazing at a dramatic sunset, playing board games in a beautiful lodge. There are a variety of accommodations including lakeside cabins and rooms in several of the buildings. While breakfast and dinner are included in the price, the food is no better than average in quality. Our room on the second floor of the Stone Lodge was clean and very comfortable. One drawback, particularly for the summer, was that the second floor of the lodge does not cool off at night. Even though it was very cool at night, our room remained warm despite a wide open window and a ceiling fan and table fan going all night. Wi-Fi availability is very spotty. There are only two reliable Wi-Fi locations: outside the dining hall and outside the office. The staff was uniformly terrific – all very friendly and helpful. Despite minor shortcomings this place is a real keeper and we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor of the Stone Lodge do not cool off well on summer nights.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R6Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

My wife and I did not stay here, but we went there for dinner. The staff was friendly, food was good, and the atmosphere is memorable. I recommend the Hedges to anyone who enjoys rustic elegance.Be sure to visit the classic game room!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountainclimber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Overall this was an awesome trip. We were a group of about 14 that came as a family reunion with members from Florida, New Mexico, New Hampshire, New York and New Jersey. We all got to pick the accomodations that were best for us so that worked out great. The food was very good and plenty of it. It was only slightly inconsistent in that the menus at the beginning of the week were a bit better then at the end of the week. Choices were good with a vegan pick for those who didn't like fish or meat. Picnic lunches (which were an extra), were well worth the price as you got a large home made sandwich very fresh with large bottle of water, an apple, a bag of chips and home made cookies that were different almost every day and were great!! The grounds were beautiful and the little touches of flowers every where were well tended.

My 2 complaints are as follows: The first is that we rented a large house for our family (the Upper) and the main upstairs bathroom had horrible mildew all around the ring of the tub. I expected rustic and loved the rustic but we were there at the beginning of the season so seriously - this was probably a 30 minute handy man job of peeling it off and recaulking. Why would they want to leave such a dirty impression? The second complaint which is also a suggestion is why not have some time of laundry facility (that we would have happily paid for) or have some local who offers the service? For some of us traveling so far and for a week or more and with young kids (think messy) why not have something on site there?
That said, it is a timeless Adirondack camp and would come back again and again!!
Fishing off the dock was great, as was the canoing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountain Lake
32.0 km away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
62 reviews
34.3 km away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
132 reviews
29.7 km away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#4 of 6 in Inlet
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,310 reviews
41.3 km away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
134 reviews
41.7 km away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Blue Mountain Lake

Been to The Hedges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges

Address: Route 28, Blue Mountain Lake, NY
Region: United States > New York > Blue Mountain Lake
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Mountain Lake
Price Range: $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing