We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
244
205
104
78
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
205
104
78
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlook lodge west point ice skating daughter's wedding hiking trails continental breakfast paddle boats hudson river grounds are beautiful king suite hessian lake yogurt new york city fireplace trailside retreat nyc
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 677 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Bear Mountain is a beautiful, quaint facility. However, the windows of their Inn rooms need to be updated to improve insulation. Also, the satellite cable was ineffective. If these elements are improved, the Inn will be a more enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aleshahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia D, General Manager at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you Aleshahw for taking the time to post a review for the property. We have some cable upgrades coming in the near future. We are also planning some new upgrades to our Overlook and Stone lodges in the next few months. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

What a wonderful escape. Beautiful place. Quiet. Great walking grounds. The zoo is fun. The room we stayed in was clean, big and attractive. Food was really good, nice presentation. Breakfast buffet was OK, could be better. Everyone in the restaurant and cafe were very friendly. The hotel was helpful when we needed it. I think it was great deal. Without a doubt I would go back but not in the summer because I think the grounds will be crowded since its a state park. Went to the spa which is a huge plus for relaxation. Only 35 minutes away, great find!!!!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The Overlook Lodge is overdue for an update. We had a good time at the wedding we attended, but the rooms and the event space we mediocre at best. The tv/Sat didn't work, we had 10 rooms reserved and no one's TV worked. Ours was fixed 5 mins before we left. Granted we weren't there to watch tv, but if there is one in the room, it should work. The tub needs to be resurfaced, it was peeling. The beds were uncomfortable, I know that is subjective, but we did not have a good night's sleep. I won't stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank reneavillarreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia D, General Manager at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you reneavillarreal for taking the time to post a review for our property. We are currently scheduled to go under renovation in the Overlook lodge in the month of June/July. we are upgrading TV's and services provided, new carpeting, paint, tubs resurfaced and other updates to the banquet room with a new dance floor, paint and banquet chairs. Thank you again and we are so sorry to see that you were disappointed with the stay. We do hope you will chose to return again in the future after our upgrades and updates are completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Bear Mountain Inn s a picturesque old style rudimentary place to stay in a close to NYC state park with hiking, boating, and the Hudson nearby. I stayed in a Stone Cottage. My room had no phone, minimal storage, half a mile from the main lodge and food. No charge for the two beetles.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank macktheforchette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia D, General Manager at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you Macktheforchette for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review for our property. We appreciate all your feedback and hope you will give us a chance in the future to get a better rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

The location, the rooms, and the customer service at Bear Mountain Inn were all perfect! My visit came after heavy snow and the state park was just beautiful.The room I stayed in had a gorgeous view, and was very clean and comfortable. I will honestly book here from now on when I am in town!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NorCalMomOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia D, General Manager at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you NorCalMomof4 for taking the time to post a review for our property. We look forward to seeing you on the future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews