We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Christmas at Hartwell House”
Review of Hartwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hartwell House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

7 of us arrived on Christmas Eve. All rooms were lovely and comfortable. The main house is just stunning . We had a courtyard suite as we took the family dog Nero. He loved it as he could head straight out of the back door into the woods for walkies! Christmas Eve was black tie and had Carol singers in the Great Hall. It was magical as was dinner 5 courses with generous amounts of wine included. Christmas Day was also a huge success. The staff genuinely looked like they wanted to be there and were so friendly and welcoming. The food and wine was impressive , no dry turkey and overcooked veg here! Everyone in our party was delighted ( no mean feat with three generations) After a Boxing day walk and a swim in the charming spa we enjoyed Boxing Day lunch which was optional and later dinner again lots of choice and beautifully cooked and presented. The wine list was extensive and well priced for a hotel. We chose a Chablis at £38 and Chateau Musar at £60 the sommelier was professional,good humoured and friendly. After dinner followed a Casino evening with fake Hartwell money. It kept everyone cheerful and entertained. We were all sorry to be leaving on the morning of the 27th and definitely could have stayed until New Year's Day. Thank you SO much to all the team, led in the restaurant by Mark who made us so welcome. Tremendous can't recommend it enough. Fantastic memories for all the family.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank MichelleLeamDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2017

If you are after a quiet spot for a relaxing getaway I couldn't praise Hartwell House highly enough.

The staff were beyond accommodating and welcoming, we almost felt like the only people in the hotel!

We were personally showed around on our arrival, where we were welcomed by a huge twin room with views over the garden and an open terrace (which I'm sure would be gorgeous in the summer). Water and shortbread were in the room too (which was delicious).

We had blissful treatments in the spa (the best Indian head massage I've ever had), which was lovely and quiet on a Thursday evening. It seemed only a few other members were there who were lovely and helpful, showing us how to use the jacuzzi when we couldn't find the button!

The only thing I could pick on was the changing room and steam room facilities, which could do with some modernisation. Otherwise, the pool and spa was excellent.

The icing on the cake was our evening of drinks and canapes in the one of the drawing rooms (this is a National Trust house) and on to a three course dinner of exceptional quality. It was lovely to see a local sparkling wine on the menu too (which is highly recommended). We then had tea served to us back in the drawing room. Service throughout was five star.

Breakfast was equally fantastic experience, a full English breakfast served in the wonderful dining room flooded with morning light.

We only spent one night, but wished we could have stayed more. Can't wait to return - a magical place.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the grounds, which are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

This is one of the best experiences I have had til now.Everything was great.The rooms are nicely decorated.The pool is perfect, and the garden is really amazing.The breakfast is also tasty.The staff is helpful.I don't think that is something that needs to improve in this hotel, so if you have the opportunity don't miss Hartwell House.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan-Mihai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Positives: warm welcome on arrival, lovely staff, beautiful room, peaceful spa, incredible decor, excellent food, pretty grounds (even in the rain). Could not have asked for more. Slept a full 8 hours and I cannot remember the last time that happened. Treated like a Queen. I was sad to have to leave, but even just 24 hours there did a lot for my wellbeing. It was superb and I would go back in a heartbeat.
Negatives: none.
Thank you, Hartwell House!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

It was a big birthday for my wife and where else to go but Hartwell House? I booked a special room, room 14 and two more in the Courtyard for my two daughters, sons in law and grandchildren. It all had to be kept secret and so Mirella the hotel's Event Organiser was employed and she stage managed everything just perfectly.
We had not been back to the hotel since Jonathan Thompson's, the former manager , retired a few years ago. I am delighted to report that the new manager Matthew Johnson, is following in Jonathan's footsteps, with the perfect mix of care and professionalism.
Our stay was simply perfect from first to last. So a huge thanks to everyone without reservation.

Room Tip: All rooms I am sure would be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartwell
7 km away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
587 reviews
34.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
29.6 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#9 of 12 in Aylesbury
786 reviews
19.6 km away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
28.2 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House

Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Hartwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Price Range: $333 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartwell House is a beautifully restored 17th century Grade 1 listed stately home. The magnificent rooms are superbly furnished with antiques and hung with fine paintings. Many of the exquisitely designed bedrooms and suites are in the house and some in Hartwell Court, the converted coach houses or the Old Rectory. Royal rooms have high ceilings, fine fabrics and dreamy views over the extensive landscape, it is a truly idyllic setting.There are thirty bedrooms and suites on three floors in the main house each aimed at ensuring your comfort and enjoyment during your stay. In addition there are ten suites and six bedrooms in Hartwell Court, the adjacent 18th century indoor riding school. The Old Rectory Hartwell has a superbly appointed master four poster suite with a sitting room and three other bedrooms with bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hartwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Hotel Aylesbury
Hartwell Hotel Aylesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing