We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hartwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hartwell House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Positives: warm welcome on arrival, lovely staff, beautiful room, peaceful spa, incredible decor, excellent food, pretty grounds (even in the rain). Could not have asked for more. Slept a full 8 hours and I cannot remember the last time that happened. Treated like a Queen. I was sad to have to leave, but even just 24 hours there did a lot for my wellbeing. It was superb and I would go back in a heartbeat.
Negatives: none.
Thank you, Hartwell House!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017

It was a big birthday for my wife and where else to go but Hartwell House? I booked a special room, room 14 and two more in the Courtyard for my two daughters, sons in law and grandchildren. It all had to be kept secret and so Mirella the hotel's Event Organiser was employed and she stage managed everything just perfectly.
We had not been back to the hotel since Jonathan Thompson's, the former manager , retired a few years ago. I am delighted to report that the new manager Matthew Johnson, is following in Jonathan's footsteps, with the perfect mix of care and professionalism.
Our stay was simply perfect from first to last. So a huge thanks to everyone without reservation.

Room Tip: All rooms I am sure would be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Can't rate this hotel highly enough. We didn't hold our reception here but we had about 5 rooms booked, including a 4 poster for our wedding night.
We were treated like celebrities; nobody could do enough for us. As well as the facilities being gorgeous and luxurious it was the little touches like the man on the gate knowing that my Dad was the "Father of the Bride" and also the little cards left in my room the night before asking if they could do anything and wishing me luck that really tipped it to being outstanding.
They also let us take pictures there, which was above and beyond as there was no obligation on them at all.

I VERY much hope to stay there for our anniversary. Thank you, thank you, thank you for all the special attention and great service. PS I hope that the lovely receptionist who is getting married also enjoys her day.

Room Tip: The four poster room really was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We received a lovely welcome on arrival,and were given a brief history of some of this beautiful hotel as we were shown to our room.Room 25 is graded as a standard room,but was very spacious,and had lovely views over the parkland.A sofa and armchairs,a separate dressing room and large bathroom,made the room very comfortable.We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restuarant on our first night,and loved all the attention to detail delivered by the staff.Breakfast was also excellent,with a choice of cooked from the menu,along with a continental buffet table,which was always very well stocked with a variety of pastries,cereals,juices,etc.
The parkland is worth an explore,our only regret was that we didn't take wellies,so could not go to far off the paths before it got very muddy.
We didn't use the spa,other than to have a cup of tea in the cafe,which,like the hotel was well run,clean and pleasant to spend time in.
I can appreciate that staying in an old historic house,with incredibly attentive staff,would not suit everyone's taste,but we loved it.Being able to sit and relax in the grand rooms of the house,in front of roaring log fires,and imagining how many changes this beautiful house has seen over its lifetime,made us feel very privileged.

Room Tip: Room 25 is spacious and quiet,and a lift is available if the stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay!

It is simply stunning both inside and out and the staff are wonderfully helpful and warm, so much so that you feel like you are a private guest of the lord of the manor. I can think of few hotels that retain the feeling of the original manor but this hotel has retained so much original furniture and decoration that it is impossible not to walk around in awe of your surroundings. It's location near to Checkers means it has hosted many a foreign dignitary over the years and it's not hard to fathom why.

Dinner is a lovely experience, only slightly lacking the last few percent of intricate flavours and attentive service to be true fine dining, but it is very close.

A walk around the property and gardens to take in the follies and foliage is a must and the Spa is also worth a visit.

All in all, a great place for a relaxing weekend getaway. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartwell
7 km away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
587 reviews
34.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
29.6 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#9 of 12 in Aylesbury
787 reviews
19.6 km away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
28.2 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House

Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Hartwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Price Range: $335 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartwell House is a beautifully restored 17th century Grade 1 listed stately home. The magnificent rooms are superbly furnished with antiques and hung with fine paintings. Many of the exquisitely designed bedrooms and suites are in the house and some in Hartwell Court, the converted coach houses or the Old Rectory. Royal rooms have high ceilings, fine fabrics and dreamy views over the extensive landscape, it is a truly idyllic setting.There are thirty bedrooms and suites on three floors in the main house each aimed at ensuring your comfort and enjoyment during your stay. In addition there are ten suites and six bedrooms in Hartwell Court, the adjacent 18th century indoor riding school. The Old Rectory Hartwell has a superbly appointed master four poster suite with a sitting room and three other bedrooms with bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hartwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Hotel Aylesbury
Hartwell Hotel Aylesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing