We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rodeway Inn
Nearby Hotels
USD 466*
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 271*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 303*
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 154*
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rodeway Inn(Carlsbad)
USD 147*
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 219*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 146*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
54
128
122
49
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
128
122
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclosest hotelroom was cleanvisiting carlsbad cavernspicnic tableswafflespirate shipminute drivefridge and microwaveguadalupe mountainsguadalupe peakquiet at nightwi ficomplimentary breakfastcarlsbad arearoad tripcereal
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The staff here was very accommodating and friendly! We were only here for a few nights while exploring the Carlsbad caverns, but it was a nice place and very suitable for our quick stay. It's not a fancy shmancy hotel, but it was very reasonably priced and clean! Can't really ask for more! I wasn't expecting much, but I was impressed with the amenities and service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cile N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had checked into the Motel 6 in Carlsbad and quickly checked out because the room was filthy!

We traveled down the road to the unique White's City and checked into the Rodeway Inn with our 3 beagles. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful; check in was a breeze!

We had a first floor room with two double beds. The room was really large and gave us plenty of room to spread out in. The room was quiet with good air conditioning and was very clean. The bathroom was in need of some updating, but everything in the room functioned properly. We had several areas where we could walk our dogs. The parking lot was well lit and safe at night.

There is a small shop/ grocery store across the street that had some hot foods and fountain drinks. There is also a restaurant and some other shops in walking distance that we did not visit. The hotel also has a small water park attached.

White's City is literally AT the entrance to the Carlsbad Caverns park. It could not be more convenient for visiting the caves!

Fun tip: After dark we could see bats from the caves eating the moths around the big lights in the parking lot of the hotel! There were only a few bats, but it was still something really cool to experience!

We would definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moviejunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were there for 5 nights. Rooms were very clean. They were renovating, so some items needed replacing, but everything worked fine. Staff was fantastic. Every need attended to promptly. The pool area is far above average, basically a water park. Great for children.

Room Tip: If it's summer time, I recommend a room facing East.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXLandman1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

A little cheaper than Carlsbad motels and convenient to the Caverns. The reception staff was very friendly, the room was large and very clean, though the bathroom was a little shabby. No fridge, no hair dryer and a very basic breakfast (beverage and small muffin). Ice machine not working, but reception topped up our bucket from their machine. Quiet location, safe, but very little nearby - eat before you arrive. Expensive for what you get, on acount of the location I guess. I'd stay again for one night.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank USAtravellerNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here one night to visit the Cavern, because we did not want to drive back and forth from Carlsbad. It worked out well for that purpose

We had a room with one king size bed on the second floor. The room was very large, could have fit another king size bed in it with room to spare, so there was a lot of empty floor space. It also had a cathedral ceiling, making it seem even more spacious.

Mattress was firm, but comfortable. The room was pretty dark and quiet. Window had a vinyl room darkening curtain behind a decorative sheer, so most outside light was blocked out. The A/C unit was kind of noisy, but only in the bathroom area, a wall kept it from being noticeable in the sleeping area, much better than the window units that many motels have.

The room was clean and everything was in good condition, except there was a little mildew on the caulk in the tub. It looked like maybe they had renovated everything except the tub?

The breakfast was packaged muffins, coffee, and orange juice that you pick up at the office and take back to your room. But they did not advertise that there was any breakfast at all, so this was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have cathedral ceilings.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews