We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barely adequate!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Barely adequate!”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I was very disappointed in this place. Our room was infested with gnats. There was no closet. The "continental breakfast" was practically non existent. It was definitely close to the Caverns, but that's about all I can say about it. They seem to cater to a group of oil workers from the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    112
    101
    44
    33
See reviews for
127
123
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The staff here was very accommodating and friendly! We were only here for a few nights while exploring the Carlsbad caverns, but it was a nice place and very suitable for our quick stay. It's not a fancy shmancy hotel, but it was very reasonably priced and clean! Can't really ask for more! I wasn't expecting much, but I was impressed with the amenities and service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cile N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had checked into the Motel 6 in Carlsbad and quickly checked out because the room was filthy!

We traveled down the road to the unique White's City and checked into the Rodeway Inn with our 3 beagles. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful; check in was a breeze!

We had a first floor room with two double beds. The room was really large and gave us plenty of room to spread out in. The room was quiet with good air conditioning and was very clean. The bathroom was in need of some updating, but everything in the room functioned properly. We had several areas where we could walk our dogs. The parking lot was well lit and safe at night.

There is a small shop/ grocery store across the street that had some hot foods and fountain drinks. There is also a restaurant and some other shops in walking distance that we did not visit. The hotel also has a small water park attached.

White's City is literally AT the entrance to the Carlsbad Caverns park. It could not be more convenient for visiting the caves!

Fun tip: After dark we could see bats from the caves eating the moths around the big lights in the parking lot of the hotel! There were only a few bats, but it was still something really cool to experience!

We would definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moviejunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were there for 5 nights. Rooms were very clean. They were renovating, so some items needed replacing, but everything worked fine. Staff was fantastic. Every need attended to promptly. The pool area is far above average, basically a water park. Great for children.

Room Tip: If it's summer time, I recommend a room facing East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLandman1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

A little cheaper than Carlsbad motels and convenient to the Caverns. The reception staff was very friendly, the room was large and very clean, though the bathroom was a little shabby. No fridge, no hair dryer and a very basic breakfast (beverage and small muffin). Ice machine not working, but reception topped up our bucket from their machine. Quiet location, safe, but very little nearby - eat before you arrive. Expensive for what you get, on acount of the location I guess. I'd stay again for one night.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank USAtravellerNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whites City
31.9 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
25.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
28.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
29.6 km away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
26.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 6 Carlsbad Caverns Hwy., Whites City, NM 88268
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Whites City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Whites City
Price range (per night): $162 - $181
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn White's City, NM is under new ownership as of September 2009. The Rodeway Inn is the closest accommodations to Carlsbad Caverns National Park, and Guadalupe Mountains National Park. We offer a complimentary breakfast to help you get a fresh start on your exploration of the Carlsbad Caverns. The Rodeway has newly remodeled bathrooms and wheelchair access. The Rodeway also partners with Walnut Canyon Water Park to allow visitors a special discount on admission. The Rodeway is also walking distance from: the Cactus Cafe, White's City Grocery, White's City Arcade, USPS Post Office, and White's City Gift Shop. Within only minutes of driving are notable hiking trails, park and recreation areas, and Carlsbad Caverns National Park Visitor's Center. We take pride in helping enhance your Carlsbad Caverns adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Ctrip TA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Whites City
Walnut Hotel Whites City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing