We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of De Kelders B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
De Kelders B&B
Ranked #22 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed here for one night as part of a trip along the 'Garden Route' Wished we could have stayed a lot longer. Our hosts, Alet and Gerhard, couldn't have been more welcoming. The accomodation was excellent and the breakfast was superb . As for the whales, well!!! we could see them from the bedroom and there was a short private walkway down to the sea shore. At the time we were there it was possible to count at least a dozen Southern Right Whales together with their baby calves. A beautiful place to stay and we were sad to have to leave. We drove through Hermanus on the way to De Kelders and we certainly made the right choice on where to stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linfiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for De Kelders B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2009

What a fantastic place. From the moment we arrived until we left, nothing was too much trouble. The owners are a lovely couple, so proud of their beautiful home. The house is amazing, with fantastic views out to sea and, at this time of year, there were whales everywhere! The breakfasts were wonderful. The rooms very clean and comfy. Can not rate this b & b highly enough. Just want to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill26miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of July hoping desperately to see whales, but knowing it was early in the season. On the way stopping off in Hermanus there were hundreds of people scouring the sea but no sign of any whales. At de Kelders the whales were there right in front of the house for our whole stay and we did little else but watch them entranced. We could even hear them at night. They tail fluked, fin fluked, breached, interacted with porpoises- just at the bottom of the garden. No crowds just the rocks and beautiful finbos between you and the whales.

The B and B accomodation is on the bottom two floors of the house. The rooms are pleasantly furnished. But the best bit is the deck/balcony to which all the B and B guests have access which gives superlative viewing over the bay. From there you have direct access to the shore and can sit on the rocks to watch the whales and see mongoose, rock hyrax and even a porcupine on occasion. There is a shared lounge and you can buy beer and soft drinks.

There are a couple of places to eat in Gansbaai but this is mainly an area for owner occupiers and facilities are a bit scarce. Shark diving and whale watching trips can be arranged but we had come specifically to watch from the land- and we could not have had a better experience.

The owners are great hosts, full or information and keen to help you have a good visit. All in all definitely one of the highlights of our visit to South Africa- a great B and B.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghLinda_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

This was our third stay at this outstanding waterfront B&B at one of the best whale-watching spots around the entire Walker Bay coastline. If you are here for whale-watching, there is nothing to beat the experience of sitting in your own room, watching southern right whales (and calves) playing in the water less than 200 yards away. In contrast to the usual whale-watching experience of spending hours seeing very little, from here it is a surprise to be unable to see any whales. Moreover, being in the De Kelders area means that you are away from the busy-ness and congestion of Hermanus (although also further away from its facilities, for which it's about a 40 km drive).

Gerhard and Alet are consummate hosts, who keep the property to an extremely high B&B standard. They treat you more as their guests than as mere customers - underlined by the number of repeat clients that they have from overseas. An ample (but not overwhelming) breakfast is served in the mornings; they know all of the local eateries well and can point you in the direction of the good, bad and indifferent. They also have contacts with the local tour operators (whale-watching and shark-watching) so can advise you about whether and when it is worth going out onto the water.

On this occasion, we stayed in their new Whale Suite, which has been built under the house. Although it was initially a little damp and chilly, the heater soon dispelled that. It may be a little disconcerting for some to have a large see-through internal window from the toilet and shower allowing direct views of the outside world, but few people ever come past the outside of the room and it is actually wonderful to be able to continue watching the bay even when using the facilities.

The other three rooms are more conventionally laid out. All the rooms are very well equipped (there is even a small safe in the Whale Suite - don't know about the other rooms). There is a shared lounge area for guests, with lots of books and information. There are also a viewing terrace and more open spaces below the house for viewing and relaxing. And you can easily walk out onto the shorefront and even onto the rocks to get closer to the sea.

The location is also very handy for a gentle 15-minute stroll to a perennial De Kelders favourite daytime spot: "Coffee on the Rocks" (next door to Whalesong Lodge), from where there is also great viewing and good food.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WanderingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Henk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.7 km away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
1.0 km away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#14 of 30 in Gansbaai
56 reviews
0.4 km away
The Bay Lodge
The Bay Lodge
#17 of 30 in Gansbaai
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
287 reviews
1.5 km away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
108 reviews
1.3 km away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Gansbaai

Been to De Kelders B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders B&B

Address: 18 Steyn Street, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing