We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful stay with lovely hosts”
Review of De Kelders B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gansbaai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
De Kelders B&B
Ranked #22 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at De Kelders B&B. Gerhard and Alet were so nice and welcoming and shared useful information about the area. As soon as we arrived we saw about six southern right whales right in front of their place and shortly after one of the whales began breaching and put on quite a show. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we had a great view of their garden and the ocean. From the B&B we could access a trail that goes all along the coast and we were able to see so many whales. It was a beautiful and easy hike. Alet and Gerhard made us a delicious breakfast and shared their knowledge about the whales and birds in De Kelders. I wish we could have stayed for more than one night but I am so glad we decided to stay here instead of a place in Hermanus.

Room Tip: We had the James Room which overlooks the garden and ocean. We loved it!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for De Kelders B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Great views, lots of whales passing by. Nice base to explore the area and avoid staying in Gansbaai. Reasonable prices, clean rooms and bathrooms. Shame we didn't have the chance to stay longer. Definitely recommended and would come back if I visited the area again.

Stayed: November 2014
1  Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

The view is absolutely fantastic - you can watch whales from your room.The owners of the guest house, an elderly couple, is very caring and knows everything about whales and Gaansbai. This Guest house was the first one opended in this area 18 years ago. But nevertheless we felt the rooms as such have not met our expectations compared to the room rate.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed there in November 2013. Our first trip to South Africa and not our last one. We arrived by car at the really steep street. We got a warm welcome and our hosts selected us a whale - that can be seen from the balcony. We got the separate apartment with a own, view. You just sit outside, listen to the ocean and watch whales. There is even a small trail to the coast - just 5 minutes walk with some benches, where you can sit and watch the sea and the whales, even listen to them.
The hosts are lovely - giving you tips where to eat out for dinner, even phoning the restaurant to get a seat. Making a great breakfast with eggs and local products and fresh fruit.
If we got another time to south africa we will sty there again.!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for two nights and had an amazing time absorbing the healing sounds of the ocean. Lots of birds to watch in the morning, with truly knowledgeable hosts Gerhard and Alet. Even in the off-whale season we did manage to spot a whale blowing far off in the sea. So we will definitely be back in whale season. This getaway was just what the doctor ordered! Many, many thanks for an awesome stay, warm hospitality, a memorable few days and the small subtleties that made a huge difference. See you soon, C+L

Room Tip: the room on the kitchen level has a balcony. the downstairs room is really luxurious, but the sea vi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainChris1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.7 km away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
1.0 km away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#14 of 30 in Gansbaai
56 reviews
0.4 km away
The Bay Lodge
The Bay Lodge
#17 of 30 in Gansbaai
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
288 reviews
1.5 km away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
108 reviews
1.3 km away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Gansbaai

Been to De Kelders B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders B&B

Address: 18 Steyn Street, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing