We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Shark Diving Company

White Shark Diving Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Shark Diving Co specializes in exclusive GREAT WHITE SHARK adventure tours in Gansbaai, Western Cape, South Africa. Rated #1 by industry peers, we strive to deliver excellence by being the only Shark Cage Diving Company to offer exclusive & private tours with limited seating capacity for extra comfort, safety and dive time! We are the exclusive carrier of all International Celebrities, VIPs and Sporting Teams. White Shark Diving Company have been advocates for the protection of the Great White Shark species; by pioneering sustainable methods of practice, founding and funding scientific research initiatives and being a key player in the development and implementation of The Great White Shark Protection Foundation of South Africa.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Words can't described this experience,truly needs to be seen to appreciate the experience,would recommend everyone to do this,however beware the water is freezing

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Davemurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    51
    20
    5
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great White Shark Diving Company provides a 10/10 experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This is my second visit to SA and my fourth dive with this company. This dive was especially memorable because my teenage sons and wife came along. The boat is comfortable and not too crowded and on every occasion the guys deliver what you are there for - SHARKS. It is a relaxed and fun atmosphere and the staff are very professional without being too stuffy. They are friendly and make you feel at home on their vessel. A tip to first timers - take sea sickness medication before you get on the boat. Lots of people on our boat obviously didn't and they regretted it. We took ours before going and had a fantastic time. Lalo (the videographer) was informative and entertaining, the Captain and crew were great. My ole mate Anthony Trompe our guide from Cape Town, is possibly the funniest guy in the world. He just needs to get over the fact that Australia are better at Rugby than the Boks. We will definitely be back. Jim & Melissa Christou.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful trip with White Shark Diving Company”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We went for shark cage diving with white shark diving company in Kleinbaai... we were welcomed with snacks and drinks... the boat was good one with double deck... they provided the dress and equipments for cage diving.. we were total 10-12 people for the trip.. so a number of sharks .. saw them very close and one of them did try to bite the cage and clinged to the bait.. overall it was good fun...

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JebinGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“White Shark Diving Company via Sharkbooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

First about Shark Booking: this was a great pick. Everything was professionally organized. It was a pleasure to exchange emails with Dave who was very informative and responsive to our requests. Company offers at least dozen of shark diving operators to chose from, for a good value (not he cheapest, not the most expensive).

White Shark Company: it also proved to be the best choice. Firstly, we were welcomed with coffee, small breakfast and we were clearly instructed how the tour was going to develop. Our boat looked modernized and it seemed to be well prepared for such an attraction. I can't say anything negative about the wet suits we were given: they looked clean, were well fitted and turned out to be 'lifesavers' as it was extremely cold in the water. People were screaming from cold when getting into the water but once we survived first shock, it was pretty comfortable. All the time while in the boat and in the cage I felt safe. Finally the biggest advantage for me was that the leader of the tour was actively looking for sharks and made me believe he did everything in his power to find them. We set out into the sea after two days of bad weather (cold and rainy). Shark activity dropped drastically and it took at least an hour before we saw first shark. I'm pretty sure some of the boats didn't have chance to see these predators on that day. Our 'boss' firstly checked the area next to the seal island and when there was nothing going on he decided to go back to the Mossel Bay to look for sharks over there. All the time he was communicating with other boats on that subject. Big plus for that! Finally, we were able to see 4 or five sharks and everyone had enough time in the cage. There were around 20 people on the boat but it didn't feel too crowdy. The only disadvantages of the tour: the guy who leaded the tour was giving the impression that the whole thing is just a painful routine for him and the price of the video footage from the trip was just pathetic (I think noone bought it).

General thoughts about shark diving: at least half of the people on the boat, including me, suffered from sea sick even though we did take pills. In this case it doesn't really matter how long you're in the cage or how big is the lunch or snacks: you just want to go back ashore as soon as possible after your dive. Even if you're the lucky one not to feel sick, remember the water this time of year is so cold that it's uncomfortable to sit in the water for a long time. If you wear glasses - they will make you to take them off.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank PiotrNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best company and the best boat, very professional, caring about the environment and marine Biologists on board”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

We had a fantastic experience with Marine Dynamics. A presentation is given prior to boarding the boat by a Marine Biologist who explains about the projects they are running to help protect the environment and look after the sharks.

We took our 8 month old baby and 5 year old son along, They were fine, the baby slept through most of the trip and our older child had a fantastic experience and was able to actually see (from the boat) the beautiful animals that we have spent many hours watching on the discovery/NatGeo channels. Prior to booking the trip we went to speak at length with the Captain Henny about whether this would be suitalbe for the children, Henney checked the weather reports and explained what would happen on the trip and that if we didnt like it or didnt feel comfortable they would send another boat out to collect us (at a cost of R400, approx £36).

We choose a good day weather wise to make our trip, not much wind and pretty much a flat calm. Nobody was sea sick at all. We had visibility of about 5 meters-perfect for seeing plenty of Great whites and also the seals along shark alley.

Safety was also of paramount importance, you are told exactly what to expect and life jackets fitted by the team prior to getting on the boat. The boat is only about a month old and very nice. We were given a light lunch and then also some soup and sandwiches when arriving back whilst they play a dvd of our trip (which you can buy if you like).

All Staff were extremely professional, Henney, Alison and Nick were absolutely fantastic and extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank jilly3778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Shark Diving Company also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to White Shark Diving Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing