We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Booking.com
AU$206
No prepayment needed
Agoda.com
AU$205
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,247)
Filter reviews
2,247 results
Traveller rating
1,989
210
31
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,989
210
31
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews neon sign rotary phone chenille bedspreads family suite attached garage step back in time route trip motor court classic cars lawn chairs authentic route rooms are small gift shop new mexico the owner sit outside new owners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,075 - 2,080 of 2,247 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I love old motels--and anything "Route 66"--so we went here for my birthday. Best birthday weekend ever. All I wanted was to get out of ABQ, relax, hole-up in a room with my sweetie and play gin rummy and the like. Perfect. That said, we did tour the town (saw the dinosaur museum among other things) and Bill (owner) gave us free tickets to the rodeo, which was really quite fun.

If you're looking for a booming town or nightlife, this is not the town for you--lots of abandoned building. If you're looking for lodging that's large, anonymous, with all the latest and greatest amenities, this is not the motel for you.

If you're looking for the sort of "down-home" hospitality that privately owned, mom and pop establishments in New Mexico seem to excel at, this is the place for you. Bill and Teri are friendly, helpful, and informative. Each of the two mornings we were there, I went outside to sit in the chairs in front of each room to smoke a cigarette (NO smoking in the rooms), and Bill would bring coffee!

The rooms were cozy--tho large enough, clean, and unique. The bathroom in our unit was smallish with a tiled shower (no tub). The grounds were well-kept and while we were there, Bill and his son were hard at work making improvements.

A final note: like attracts like--even the other guests were friendly!

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmwritergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2009

My friend and I recently traveled from Birmingham to New Mexico. The Blue Swallow had been recommended by another friend who had stayed at the motel. The owners, Bill and Teri, have poured themselves and their money into reviving this pre-WWII motel. Each room has a garage but today's cars (even Jane's VW) will fit, so each is now painted with a mural that represents movies whose actors, directors, etc. have stayed at the Blue Swallow: among others, Clark Gable, James Dean, the cast of "Easy Rider" . . . and last summer, Sir Paul McCartney. Part of the charm is the fact that this isn't the typical interstate hotel experience.

The room was spotless, the owners delightful, and the memories invoked by the stay priceless. I hope that the current owners' vision and hard work will be contagious so that the area will experience revitalization. Tucumcari could become a mecca for creative types and entrepreneurs with vision.

We enjoyed the experience so much that we stopped by for a visit after our time in Taos, Abiquiu, and Santa Fe. Both of us wish Bill and Teri all the best. They have worked hard to keep a bit of the past alive and have the gift of hospitality.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreshPerspectives
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Our family had the pleasure of staying at the Blue Swallow this Summer in route to Santa Fe. The hospitality was exceptional and the rooms, while modest in size and decor, are nice and clean. This motor-court style motel is straight out of the movie "Cars" and the town has a wonderful display of neon signs. If you are looking for a night or two of Rt. 66 nostalgia, this is your place.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWJFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2009

If you are looking for the anonymous sterile comfort of a chain motel, then go find one. However, if you are looking for a great night of rest in a clean room, along with a heaping dose of nostalgia, served up with hospitality and good old-fashioned friendliness, then spend the night at the Blue Swallow. I spent the third night of the Route 66 portion of a 5,000-mile road trip at the Blue Swallow, and I'm very glad I did. Sure, the rooms aren't the same as you'll find at the Marriott. There isn't coffee in the room, nor is there a spa or pool. But, if that's the sort of thing you value in a vacation, then perhaps you should stick to the interstates and airports instead of venturing down Route 66. As far as family-run motels go, the Blue Swallow is tops. The rooms are incredibly comfortable, and in my opinion offer a great value for the money when compared to similarly-priced chain hotels. Being a small business owner myself, I personally value an opportunity to support a small mom-and-pop business, and find that businesses like these go out of their way to make your experience a good one. I wholeheartedly recommend a stop at the Blue Swallow if you are in the neighborhood, especially if you are a Route 66 vacationer!

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkeyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We didn't know what to expect other than the reviews we had read - and we were pleasantly surprised from the moment of check-in to leaving the next morning. Everything was clean and comfy - we got a good night's sleep after a long day on the road. We enjoyed the murals and the lights, although we were a little disappointed they seemed to go out early!!

This was a great start to a great vacation, and the service was friendly and quick.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews