We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passionate chefs with big hearts and a beautiful home”
Review of Touchstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Touchstone Inn
Ranked #21 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
“Passionate chefs with big hearts and a beautiful home”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A really wonderful bed and breakfast - beautiful, great attention to detail, deliciously healthy food, remarkable hosts and in a prime location.

Hosts: Amber and Brad are the most accommodating, kind and thoughtful hosts you could ask for. They were able to work with our food restrictions of a nut allergy (me) and no meat (my boyfriend) without compromising the beauty, variety, or integrity of the breakfasts we had each morning. They source organic and used the Meyer lemons I brought from my CA backyard. Their passion for food and all things culinary is inspiring and you can taste and see it in the meals they prepare for guests. Brad has a wealth of knowledge and experience beyond the kitchen that he brings to his work and in conversation. Amber is the same and sets out cookies that we demolished every time we entered the common area (sorry to the other guests!) and having grown up on the property and in the town, she knows so many wonderful secrets and recommendations to make you feel at home, on the inside and welcomed in the area. They are all about making your stay the best for you whether that means being left alone to privacy or engaged in conversation and friendship. Amber and Brad in and of themselves are a rarity one strives to find in anything, we were happily surprised and appreciative to have had the opportunity to stay at their establishment.

Accommodations: The two acre property is set back from the main road just a mile up from the town center, affording beautiful privacy from the bustling tourists yet an easy and light walk to reach it all. I recommend taking the walk into town as the single main road into town gets really backed up even in the off season and parking can be at a premium. Taking a walk into town allows you to take in the beauty of the adobe buildings, the many shops and galleries, and the clean crisp Taos air. We stayed in two of the rooms because of a full house and late booking. The first room, the Frida was marvelous. Perfectly spacious with a king bed you could sleep a family in! The deck overlooked the backyard and was perfect for cooling down on after a soak in the jet tub. Great room. The second room was the Cielo which was much smaller in every regard but enough space for two with luggage for a week. The mattress wasn't as comfortable as the first room but was nothing to complain about. **To keep in mind - this is an old house, rich in history and beauty, that has been converted into a bed and breakfast. You will not get the quiet of hotel rooms that are sound proofed for high occupancy if that's what you are looking for. The trade offs of feeling at home and cared for are undoubtedly worth it.

Misc. notes: The Love Apple just down the driveway is the best restaurant we found with sustainable and organic foods. They book up fast so a reservation a day before is a must. There are a plethora of coffee shops in the area, Cafe Taza and Coffee Cats were charming, unique and of quality. Eske's brew pub brews their own beers and offers flights to taste all of them if you can't decide. Doc Martin's has live music each night and good menus and food quality though not consistent.

Room Tip: To keep in mind - this is an old house, rich in history and beauty, that has been converted into a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    13
    4
    7
    12
See reviews for
14
64
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Lunas, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed at the Touchstone for the New Year holiday. Amber and Brad were wonderful hosts. It was like staying with relatives.... none of the impersonal stuff. They were helpful with directions and sight seeing options. I will definitely tell my friends about this place!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubrey, Texas, USA
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The family stayed at the Touchstone the week folowing Christmas day. We found the room cozy and warm. Everyone was comfortable. Brad and Amber were very accommodating to our kids request for breakfast related to kids usual likes, i.e. pancakes and sausage....really appreciated that accomodating spirit. Mom and Dad enjoyed the daily breakfast items for those with more adult oriented tastebuds. There were always cookies left out to snack on after we came in from our daily ski outings. We found Taos to be a great area for shopping and having our evening meal after a day of skiing. We liked skiing Red River, while staying in Taos. A first for us as we usully stay in Red River. We drove the 45 minutes from Taos to Red River each morning without issue. Would definitely repeat this family vaction, staying at the Touchstone and skiing Red River, a great combination. Thanks Brad and Amber. You guys made our first trip to Taos a success.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Found Touchstone Inn on the internet. We stayed 3 nights and couldn't of had a better time. The inn is adorable, and Brad and Amber, the proprietors are very accommodating. They're both chefs and breakfast, which is included each morning was delicious. They were more than happy to help us with the sights around Taos. I would highly recommend The Touchstone Inn in Taos, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Brad and Amber put their personal touch on every part of our stay. They were gracious, accomodating and warm -- all qualities of a perfect innkeeper. The property is in a gorgeous part of Taos, and it offers just the right amount of privacy or opportunities for socializing. Breakfast was creative and very tasty. We hope to return again this summer!

Room Tip: Lawrence is so cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sightseeratheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
1.5 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
1.2 km away
Worldmark by Wyndham Taos
2.6 km away
Taos Country Inn
Taos Country Inn
#15 of 23 in Taos
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
American Artists Gallery B&B
8.3 km away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
743 reviews
2.1 km away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Taos

Been to Touchstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Inn

Property: Touchstone Inn
Address: 110 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price range (per night): $184 - $310
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Touchstone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded inn close to everything Taos! Touchstone is a secluded historic estate at the edge of Taos Pueblo lands. The native peoples consider Touchstone to be medicine land and a place for transformation. Touchstone offers cozy rooms with fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs in most of them. We cater to couples as a romantic getaway and to groups as a retreat center, workshops and weddings. Both USA Today and Fodor's Guide say Touchstone is the #1 place to stay in Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Touchstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Inn Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing