We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A MUST VISIT!!!”
Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area
8 Villas for a group of 16 guests Exclusive-use Lodge for your private party!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Living area
8 Villas for a group of 16 guests
Exclusive-use Lodge for your private party!
'Boma' - dine alfresco under the stars
Our families have had long generational ties with this area and the South African safari industry.
Nestled amongst a towering 1000-year-old jackelberry and giant, wild fig and marula trees
'Toro Views' lounge and dining area, with a large viewing deck & open plan boma catering under-stars
You will get treated to the use of this facility 'Toro Views' for a spectacular evening's dining out
The original founder of the reserve built his private lodge on the very site of 'Toro Views' in 1994
2017 Almost a decade ago we started making plans to acquire this prime site and the surrounding land
Located high on a cliff, overlooking Makhustwi river in The Greater Makalali Private Game Reserve!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Makalali Private Game Reserve, Limpopo Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LounaJ2
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A MUST VISIT!!!”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in October 2017

WOW, what an awesome experience!!! Super friendly staff, rooms are really comfortable and luxurious! A must visit to have a real Safari experience!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
With our totally self-catered package, designed especially with our South African Guests in mind, yet still offering all the luxuries of our lodging, drives, walks, and facilities, Toro River Lodges tailor-makes the perfect package for you and your family.

It was a true pleasure to get to meet you in person by the owners in Camp.

Until your next visit,
Toro River Lodges
Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryanB270...
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in October 2017

My wife and I had the opportunity to spend a weekend at Toro. It was definitely not long enough!
The rooms are spacious with a wonderful view and has all the necessary amenities that anyone will need in the bush.
The staff are friendly and are willing to go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable.
The guides are knowledgeable and an absolute pleasure to be around.
If you are looking for the perfect getaway to the bush, we would highly recommend Toro River Lodges!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
Toro River Lodge comprises of 5 spacious Single Villas (double bed, with the option of a sleeper couch for the kids)

· All Villas occupy a prime slightly elevated position, overlooking the perennial Makhutswi River

· Lodge facilities include a lounge, dining and relaxation space, with an expansive wooden deck overlooking the Makhustwi River and Toro Hippo Pool, with a Raised Hig-Tea area right alongside Hippo Pool.

Each of the 8 Villas has been recently upgraded or rebuilt and is designed for privacy and optimum appreciation of the surrounding wilderness. Each Single Unit has:

· Master bedroom with bathroom en-suite

· Double volume wardrobe area

· Outdoor shower overlooking the river and indigenous vegetation

· Lounge area with fireplace

· Expansive viewing deck with a covered seating area.

· Full range of dietary preferences catered

· Free Wi-Fi

We specialize in ''exclusive-use'' safaris, meaning you, your family and friends will have one of our lodges accompanying Game Drive Vehicle/s with Guide/s, all to yourself. Your Self-Catering package, includes, 2 game drives a day / guided safari walks. 

Until your next Safari adventure with us, the Big 5 are waiting for you.

Thank you!

Toro River Lodges
Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomirizar...
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
1 review
“An episode out of Planet Earth !!”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in August 2017

The perfect African Safari !! Personal attentions way beyond the call of duty !! The bungalows were sumptuous with a great fireplace.The food was typical and delicious, cooked fresh every night over a wood fire in the boma. Every breakfast was spent witnessing big game going by the lodge, including giraffes and elephants. We went on safari drives or walks twice a day, and I got to see all Big Five.
During my first outing we witnessed a lion kill. My zulu guide even showed me how to track the abundant wildlife. I made a lot friends , locals and neighbors, and acquired a great insight in the life and management of a game preserve in Africa.
Brad and Cindy Phillips are the perfect hosts, as they treat you as family.
I fully and unconditionally recommend Toro River Lodges for an unforgettable African safari.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
If you are coming from far away, best is to spend a minimum of 4 nights / 5 days on Safari to have the opportunities to see it all!

You will have your very own private Ranger and game drive vehicle for your entire stay, with a private butler, chef and everything you need, and is what makes this "exclusive use" so special.

We also include the option to chose semi-self catered totally self-catered packages, designed especially with our South African guests in mind, yet still offering all the luxuries of this spectacular place, its facilities drives and walks.

Looking forward to the time you come back to Toro River Lodges with your family and friends!

Thank you!

Toro River Lodges
Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowTra...
1 review
“Looking for a wonderful bushveld experience to view the big 5?”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in July 2017

Look no further than Toro River Lodges for the experience of a lifetime with a river right in front of the lodges, morning and evening game drives with excellent game rangers in their open safari vehicles, usually ending with sundowners out in the bush. All this with no crowds to spoil your viewing of the wildlife and a chef to prepare your choice of whatever self catering provisions you bring.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
A great guide is a heart the drives every Safari. Our Rangers, trackers and every one of our lodge staff is what makes your stay memorable. Having the best of staff is important to us. Our Head ranger, Willem Scheuer and his head field ranger, Andrews has been in the business for decades. Having been based in this reserve for years, they know it intimately and will see it that the most is made of every opportunity while looking after your every need.

Look no further than us, here at Toro River Lodges, we have it all!

Until your next visit with us. Thank you.

Toro River Lodges
Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing