We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,217)
Filter reviews
1,217 results
Traveller rating
1,102
78
24
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,102
78
24
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagles crag plunge pool game reserve outdoor shower long lee manor his knowledge sarili lodge whole experience the main lodge cape town amazing experience our honeymoon watering hole hot chocolate thatched roof black rhino stayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 1,217 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Situated 75 klms (1 hour) from Port Elizabeth by mainly good sealed road. Stayed 3 nights at Long Lee Manor, in one of the spacious original lodges. If you love wildlife, could only describe this as a relaxing amazing experience with a touch of luxury. Short walking distance to reception, library & dining etc. Lodge very clean (updated daily) and quiet. Very good breakfasts, whatever you wanted plentiful and to order. Evening Dining to high Restaurant standard, fresh local content prepared by local staff - friendly & polite -excellent. Beverages, complimentary on afternoon game drives, you otherwise pay for what you select and consume - extensive range (and also range in cost) available. Limited dealings with reception staff, however all were very good. Ranger: Dean R. exceptional- experienced & knowledgeable. Made certain we got to see most of the big animals on two game drives each day. Something at Shamwari for everyone, - another one off our bucket list!.

Room Tip: There are a number of different Lodges available throughout the Shamwari Game Reserve.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We booked for bayethe lodge for a 4-night stay, however, Shamwari had overbooked for the first 2 nights of our stay so offered us a 4 night stay at Eagles Crac, their premier lodges. We thought about it and decided to do 2 nights at Eagles Crac and 2 at Bayethe, best decision we made in the whole 3 weeks we were in SA. Driving along dusty road you twist and turn and suddenly arrive at Eagles Crac. What a place! It was fantastic. A truly luxurious experience. Rooms were large and beautifully laid out and staff were courteous and very helpful, quick to give you any information you requested. Food was very good and plentiful. A very very minor complaint about the drinks on offer in the menu, i asked for a particular beer and after a while was told they did not have this would I pick another. I did this but then waited in vain for my beer before asking again and then being told that it also was not in stock. I asked them for anything similar and they were quick to oblige. Not really a complaint more of a comment but a slight minus on service, however, this was the first night so no real problems. This was the only minor blot on the whole experience, they had arranged for complimentary champagne in the room to apologise for the original overbooking as well as a beautiful hard back Shamwari book. We moved on to Bayethe after two days. While nowhere near as luxurious the lodges were also fantastic. Hidden away you felt like you were the only ones on the planet. Food and service were just as good as at Eagles crac. Only downside was that the menu at Bayethe was the same as we had at Eagles Crac two days earlier, however, I would not hold that against them as I do not suppose many people switch between the two lodges in one stay. The game drives were with an absolutely fabulous ranger called Almar. Only in his early 20s but his knowledge was vast and his enthusiasm was infectious. We were lucky enough to have him for all 4 days and his verbal interaction was hilarious at times. He asked us what we wanted to see and managed to satisfy all four of us with our favourite animal viewings. Once he had achieved this he set about showing us as much of shamwari as possible, including a walk one beautiful morning. It was so amazing that it is hard to put into words but at Shamwari you get to see truly wild animals in their natural habitat. The anti poaching unit were there in the background and you could not help but admire them for their protection of the animals. It was our first ever safari but will not be our last and too be honest we will almost certainly be back at Shamwari as, every person we spoke too was so impressed by the knowledge and dedication of their own rangers. Top notch and worth the little bit extra!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter at Eagles Crac but at Bayethe, lodge 11 was completely out of the way and so peaceful.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGR_socialmedia, Public Relations Manager at Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. We value all guest feedback as it helps us to better ourselves.

I am thrilled to hear that you loved your stay at Eagles Crag and Bayethe Tented Lodge. It is also wonderful to hear that the game drives were an unforgettable experience! Aymar is a great asset to our team and ensures that guests have the best wildlife encounters.

I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with regard to the standard of our service, it is usually well praised by guests. However we will continue to work on our service levels.

We are primarily a conservation company and your stay provides us with the tools to maintain the 25-thousand-hectare reserve. I would like to ask you that if you return to Shamwari, I would appreciate if you would contact our Hospitality Manager, Mat Matysik, directly so that he can facilitate your booking and your stay with us.

Best Regards,

Claire Radloff
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Really unique the experience we had in Shamwari. We've been at tent lodge and we could really feel the jungle atmosphere on a high level 5 stars tent! Amazing to see the antelopes and pumbas walking around... Just a kindly tip: pay attention to vegetarian people on dinner! The availability of some fish would be nice! About the game (safari) it was amazing, but I would recommend to stay at least 2 days. We've taken just 1 and missed some animals... About the tent, the idea is awesome, but please, make sure there will be hot water available when returning from the game!! Slept without shower...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felipe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGR_socialmedia, Public Relations Manager at Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Felipe,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We value all guest feedback as it helps us to better ourselves.

We are sorry to hear you felt disappointed by the cuisine. We cater well for our vegetarian guests and have many options available to them. This is certainly not the norm as many previous guests have praised the vegetarian cuisine offered by our chefs.

With regard to your experience without hot water, please do accept our sincere apologies. We will certainly investigate this issue to ensure that it does not reoccur in future. I truly hope this does not take away from your overall experience at Shamwari Game Reserve.

If you should ever wish to return to Shamwari I would very much appreciate if you would contact our Hospitality Manager directly so that he is able to facilitate your booking and your stay with us.
Best Regards,

Claire Radloff
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We recently paid a second visit to Shamwari - the first being to Long Lee Manor in September 2014. However on this occasion we spent 2 nights at Lobengula Lodge which gave us a completely different experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The Lodge is lovely and very private. All staff especially Nina went out of their way to be helpful. The food was amazing - content and presentation wise so we would like to thank all the catering staff. As for our ranger Patrick - he was a font of knowledge and went out of his way to help us see as much wildlife as possible - which in the 2 days we did. The Lodge has a lovely relaxed and peaceful atmosphere and we would certainly recommend and hope to be back one day. Thank you Lobengula Lodge for a lovely stay. Katherine and Francesco

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pesaro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

An absolutely wonderful experience. The whole staff at the Sarili Lodge went out of their way to make us comfortable. The rooms were gorgeous and the meals were incredible. Special thanks to our ranger Leon. His enthusiasm, knowledge and great attitude made the trip unforgettable. We felt like family by the end of our first drive! If an African Safari is on your list of things to do....this is the place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marginjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews