We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly memorable and exceptional stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from our trip to South Africa where we had the privilege of staying three nights at the Kambaku Safari Lodge during our safari portion of the trip. The lodge truly exceeded our expectations! From the moment we arrived at the lodge we were treated like royalty, offering outstanding service, constant attention to all details and a homey feeling.

Upon our arrival in the early afternoon, the lodge staff welcomed us very warmly by the main entrance, offering us a delicious cocktail and great smiles. We met the owners, Bryce and Nicola, along with their daughter Paityn, who live right at the lodge. We were also introduced to Werner and Phillip (rangers), Albert (tracker), Clarisse (assistant manager) and some of the waiting staff. It turned out we were the only guests at the lodge during our stay (that week was part of the low tourist season) so we had all the staff attention to ourselves, talking about pampering!!

Clarisse kindly showed us to our chalet and briefed us in on the lodge logistics and schedule of activities. The lodge has 8 chalets in total. Our chalet (Joao, #8) was located towards the end and had a great view of the waterhole. Room decor was simple, colorful, clean and well appointed. Loved the poster bed with the draped mosquito net! All the rooms have an overhead fan to keep the room cool; they also provide mosquito repellent and bug spray. In the evening, we would find bed-time stories and some candies on our bed, which was a very nice touch to welcome us back to the room for a restful night.

Shortly after our arrival we were invited to enjoy afternoon tea and some snacks at the main area (lounge), then headed out to our first game drive with Werner and Albert. It was just an incredible and unforgettable experience for us, being our first safari trip. Shortly after the drive began, we ran into a very large (200+) herd of African buffalos, and Werner did not hesitate to drive off the road into the bush to get close (and I mean really close!) to the buffalos, what a great to start a safari!! Visitors are advised to stay sitting at all times in the jeep, that way the animals don't feel threatened and simply don't mind the vehicles.
We were paying close attention to all the information that Werner (the ranger) and Albert (the tracker) were exchanging during the drive; their dynamics were very enjoyable to watch. They both showed their professionalism, dedication, passion and knowledge throughout all the game drives. Werner was also in radio communication with other rangers in the area during the game drives in order to share reports of interesting animals (particularly any of the big 5) being spotted in the area.

The afternoon game drives also allowed us to spot animals that become more active after sunset (like wild cats, civets, hare, etc.). Albert would carry a big spotlight that we would sweep through (left to right) in the dark to try to spot animals in the bush, it was certainly an interesting a very unique experience. We spotted a honey badger one evening (a very rare sitting which excited our ranger very much!). Also, buffalo herds seek water to drink in the morning and late afternoons, so we were able to see them gathered in the waterholes in few occasions, great sights!

The game drives overall were quite productive and very rewarding, as we were able to spot 3 of the Big 5 (elephants, buffalos, and a female white rhino with its baby rhino) in addition to zebras, giraffes, Kudus, waterbeds, impalas, a hyaena, warthogs, baboons, jackals, wild cats, lizards, mongoose, bats, reedbucks, monkeys, eagles, and different species of birds (hornbill, Lilac Breasted Roller, guineafowl). Unfortunately, could not spot any lions or leopards even though our tracker and ranger found fresh tracks on the roads… that will be saved for the next safari trip.

The meals at the lodge were simply outstanding, and the staff always ensured we were properly fed. Before the morning game drives (which start at 6 am) they serve hot beverages and biscuits. There is always a snack stop during the game drives. After the the morning game drives a delicious and varied buffet style brunch was waiting us, which would really fill us up for the rest of the afternoon. There was also tea time before the afternoon game drive. After returning in the evening we were served a fabulous dinner, each evening having a different theme. One of the dinners was held in the Boma under a clear starry night and surrounding a nice bonfire. During the last evening of our stay we were pleasantly surprised with an intimate dinner for my husband and myself at our chalet's veranda, surrounded by lanterns, and the whole setting decorated with flowers, wow!! The staff offered this special dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary which had happened the week before. Terrance (a.k.a. Terry, the waiter) did a fabulous job waiting for us that evening, even sang for us, what an unforgettable evening indeed!!!!

The staff also went our of their way in trying to accommodate our clothing needs since my husband's luggage never made it to the Kambaku lodge from Johannesburg. They tried to track the luggage with the airport and other lodges, they took care of the laundry for us and even gave my husband a Kambaku polo-shirt as a gift. Can't thank them enough for all the attention and fabulous service they provided.

All in all, it was a truly memorable stay and would not hesitate to go back to Kambaku for another safari trip to Kruger area. Highly recommend this lodge to anyone considering to visit Kruger area and looking for comfortable, exclusive accommodations and exceptional service and setting. Thanks tot he whole staff for making this vacation a once in a lifetime experience!!

Room Tip: The rooms that face the waterhole are particularly recommended since they offer the chance for guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cgparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you so much for this lengthy and well thought out response. We really appreciate the time that it must have taken to provide so much information about the camp, staff and game drives, and we are sure that many future travelers will find this review very informative and helpful. We are so glad that we made your first safari trip and anniversary holiday so memorable and special, as memories stay forever. We wish you all the best, and look forwards to your return for the elusive lions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 433 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband and I went on our first Safari last month to Kambaku lodge. We were blown away by our experience, and couldn't have asked for anything more. When we were looking for a lodge we wanted somewhere based in the Timbavati area, because that is where the gaming is better. We found Kambaku Lodge and then realised that not only did it offer amazing gaming, but we also got a lodge that was run by a beautiful family that had a passion for the bush. The knowledge of the tracker Eric and the Driver Bryce was priceless, they never made us feel like we asked too many questions and they ALWAYS went that extra mile to get us an incredible experience. The gaming was unbelievable we saw the big 5 within 2 game drives, and also got to experience really rare sightings like Lion Cubs, Wild Dogs, Servile and Leopards mating. The food and Service of the Staff was outstanding. Dinners were different every night, and the attention to detail was never over looked in anything they did. We would recommend this lodge to couples, families and groups. Loved it, and can't wait to come back to Kambaku.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Briarley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thanks -

We look forwards to seeing you and spoiling you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was a late addition to our trip as the devastating rains of January had destroyed our proposed camp. But we were delighted with the whole experience. The guide and tracker were probably the best team we experienced and did absolutely everything to make our experience very special. The accommodation was comfortable and well serviced. The food was excellent and each night dinner was held in a different part of the camp, which meant that one night we were treated to a Braai in the bush. We were made to feel special and as this was our first Safari camp it made for a great start to the trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theoliversmotril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I had a fantastic time at Kambaku. The management made a big effort to put a personal touch to each guest's visit. The food was amazing and every meal was a treat, including the magical bush braai one night for dinner. The only thing that could have been better was the game viewing -- it's a bit hit or miss in this part of the park. Of course, the lodge has no control over this. All in all, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon lodge. A bit secluded and a nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank averma001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife Melissa and I had an amazing time here. Everything was perfect, from the food to the service to the accommodations to the game drives, we loved it all! Lets talk about the food for just a second...WOW! The food was unbelievable! Everything was cooked and seasoned to perfection, better than any of the 5 star resort we've been to and I'm sure I packed on a couple kilos because of it! Hats off to the cook! Nicola and Bryce were great hosts and always made sure we were well taken care of. The attention they gave to the small personal details were what made our short stay here better than we could have ever hoped for. Moshe (our safari guide) and Eric (our tracker) were lots of fun and were both very knowledgeable and they made our first safari experience an unforgettable one. The entire staff was friendly, helpful and was always there to make sure we had whatever we needed. Our room was really nice, clean and very comfortable, plus we had a direct view of the watering hole (I took the picture of the buffalo from our room) As this was our first safari lodge on this trip, they made it impossible for the lodge we went to afterwards to compete. Melissa and I agreed that this vacation, with all the places we went, was the best of our lives and more importantly that Kambaku was the highlight of it all. Thank you to the entire Kambaku team!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny2theB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
24.5 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
25.1 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,780 reviews
19.2 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
204 reviews
23.7 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
709 reviews
13.0 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: $618 - $1,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kambaku Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Hotelopia, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing