We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband and I went on our first Safari last month to Kambaku lodge. We were blown away by our experience, and couldn't have asked for anything more. When we were looking for a lodge we wanted somewhere based in the Timbavati area, because that is where the gaming is better. We found Kambaku Lodge and then realised that not only did it offer amazing gaming, but we also got a lodge that was run by a beautiful family that had a passion for the bush. The knowledge of the tracker Eric and the Driver Bryce was priceless, they never made us feel like we asked too many questions and they ALWAYS went that extra mile to get us an incredible experience. The gaming was unbelievable we saw the big 5 within 2 game drives, and also got to experience really rare sightings like Lion Cubs, Wild Dogs, Servile and Leopards mating. The food and Service of the Staff was outstanding. Dinners were different every night, and the attention to detail was never over looked in anything they did. We would recommend this lodge to couples, families and groups. Loved it, and can't wait to come back to Kambaku.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Briarley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thanks -

We look forwards to seeing you and spoiling you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    30
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
202
221
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
motril
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was a late addition to our trip as the devastating rains of January had destroyed our proposed camp. But we were delighted with the whole experience. The guide and tracker were probably the best team we experienced and did absolutely everything to make our experience very special. The accommodation was comfortable and well serviced. The food was excellent and each night dinner was held in a different part of the camp, which meant that one night we were treated to a Braai in the bush. We were made to feel special and as this was our first Safari camp it made for a great start to the trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theoliversmotril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I had a fantastic time at Kambaku. The management made a big effort to put a personal touch to each guest's visit. The food was amazing and every meal was a treat, including the magical bush braai one night for dinner. The only thing that could have been better was the game viewing -- it's a bit hit or miss in this part of the park. Of course, the lodge has no control over this. All in all, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon lodge. A bit secluded and a nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank averma001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife Melissa and I had an amazing time here. Everything was perfect, from the food to the service to the accommodations to the game drives, we loved it all! Lets talk about the food for just a second...WOW! The food was unbelievable! Everything was cooked and seasoned to perfection, better than any of the 5 star resort we've been to and I'm sure I packed on a couple kilos because of it! Hats off to the cook! Nicola and Bryce were great hosts and always made sure we were well taken care of. The attention they gave to the small personal details were what made our short stay here better than we could have ever hoped for. Moshe (our safari guide) and Eric (our tracker) were lots of fun and were both very knowledgeable and they made our first safari experience an unforgettable one. The entire staff was friendly, helpful and was always there to make sure we had whatever we needed. Our room was really nice, clean and very comfortable, plus we had a direct view of the watering hole (I took the picture of the buffalo from our room) As this was our first safari lodge on this trip, they made it impossible for the lodge we went to afterwards to compete. Melissa and I agreed that this vacation, with all the places we went, was the best of our lives and more importantly that Kambaku was the highlight of it all. Thank you to the entire Kambaku team!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny2theB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We would have loved to give a good review for Kambaku since we did extensive research to pick this lodge. Our chalet was small, dark and hot, with no way to circulate fresh air. We had a small sliding glass door with no screen. It was much too hot to sleep. One night there was a group of guys that were allowed to party (drinking and singing) outside our chalet until 2am.

Aside from our lodging the staff and safari drives were excellent. We were a little disappointed since we were there for 4 nights and never saw any lions. But it was not due to our guide Richard and tracker Albert's lack of effort. They were very patient and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank donna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for talking the time to review Kambaku. It is a pity that we did not live up to your expectations. At the time of your departure, as well as during your stay, a number of your complaints and issues were addressed, and resolved as much as what could be under extreme circumstances. We were dealing with the aftermath of a huge natural flood disaster - one that turned the whole area on it's head to such an extent that the nearest town of Hoedspruit was declared a disaster area and did not have drinking water for well over a month. On top of having to deal with excess bookings and trying to assist other camps severely damaged by the floods, we had the Valentine day rush and therefore a full camp, with no room to move. Your daughter was upgraded for the two nights that we could, and we catered fully to her vegan needs - making sure that she always had food at the same standard as the other guests. On departure and in your letter after departure, you held us to ransom with a bad review on Trip Advisor, if we did not refund the money paid for your stay. As your booking was already a pay 3 stay 4 special, and due to the fact that we did what we could under extenuating circumstances, and also as the two reviews prior to your - " Memorable 1st Safari " & " Kambaku Safari", are both highly favorable ( these guests having stayed at the lodge at the same time as your family), we would like on record that we feel the review posted is not an accurate record of services and experiences provided by Kambaku.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
25.1 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,661 reviews
19.2 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
432 reviews
24.5 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
677 reviews
3.5 km away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
186 reviews
13.0 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Property: Kambaku Safari Lodge
Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price range (per night): $550 - $1,279
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kambaku Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, Hotelopia, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing