We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a spetacular experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a spetacular experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Hospitality is the name of this lodge. The owners Nicola and Bryce really spoilt us, gave all the attention and offered the best of the games. The staff is lovely. Excellent meals and a lot of effort to make sure we enjoyed the drives. Highly recommended if you want to have a memorable experience in South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silva_Moesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    30
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
196
205
56
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

A hidden gem in the Timbavati. Accommodations were great and food was superb. The guide and tracker, Moshe and Eric, were fantastic and made the trip. The fantastic accommodations in the midst of great game of the Timbavati was a perfect combination. Been to 5-6 different camps in East and South Africa. This is by far the best. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Compared to other lodges which charge up to $750Au a night, Kambaku is a bargain! The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and very large. The setting is perfect, with views over a waterhole - elephants drinking in the night - a sight to see - and hear! The staff, from the Managers, Krystel and Richard, the trackers and dining room attendants, to the domestic staff, are all fantastic - friendly, informative, entertaining and very proud of their country and willing to go out of their way to assist. Game drives were excellent, great range of animals and birds, and rangers and trackers extremely happy to educate the Aussie tourists!. I would recommend Kambaku to anyone wanting a fantastic African safari experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smith_susan407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

A wonderful experience - all the staff were knowledgable, warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, the attention to detail was impeccable and the food was absolutely delicious (probably the best of our trip in South Africa). The lodge, in short, is excellent. As for the Timbavati itself, it feels remote and wild, and doesn't disappoint when it comes to wildlife. Highlights included wild dogs (feasting on their kill), a lion pack on the prowl at night and a leopard (also feasting)... to name just a few. And the splendour of sunrise tinting the Drakensberg escarpment pink... We were very, very, sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lqbcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

One of the best travel experiences. The owners and entire staff were spectacular. They were warm and friendly from moment we arrived until the second we departed. We were very sad to leave Kambuka. Everything leading up to the trip with planning via email was smooth. Every detail of our stay was taken care of and all we needed to do was listen to the drum beat to know when it was time to eat or ride.

Saw the BIG FIVE and more. We have fantastic close up shots of the big five plus giraffes, zebras, impalas, and more. We know there are no guarantees but the guides did a great job searching for the animals. Even more important was the education they provided our family. Not only on the habits of the animals and birds but also showing us their tracks.

The guest rooms were clean, large and very comfortable. It was wonderful coming back to the room at the end of the day and finding a candy, bedtime story, and the beds ready for a good night sleep.

Setting was magnificant. How often can you be reading on your back porch and have an elephant walk through to take a drink at the watering hole. Just listening to the sounds of the bush during the meals which are all in open air settings was inspiring.

The food was wonderful, cooked and served by thoughtful staff. Each meal was in a different place in the lodge either in the main lodge which is open air or out under the South African sky with a warm fire. The staff even went out of their way to offer us, their american guests a Thanksgiving meal complete with a song about family and a bottle of champagne.

Overall, we were thrilled with our experience at Kambaku. It offers a great lodge, safaris into the bush, hospitality, a sense of family, and a great value for the price. We look forward to our next visit and spending more time exploring the bush with Kambaku.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be perfect for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
25.1 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
24.5 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
19.3 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
13.0 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
23.7 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Property: Kambaku Safari Lodge
Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price range (per night): $782 - $1,068
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kambaku Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing