We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
647
38
4
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
38
4
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivestracker ericbedtime storywatering holewonderful hospitalitywild dogswater holeother guestssolar powerthree daysan amazing experiencesouth africawhite liontimbavati reservedinner tablemaking us feelexceeded our expectations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

A hidden gem in the Timbavati. Accommodations were great and food was superb. The guide and tracker, Moshe and Eric, were fantastic and made the trip. The fantastic accommodations in the midst of great game of the Timbavati was a perfect combination. Been to 5-6 different camps in East and South Africa. This is by far the best. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Compared to other lodges which charge up to $750Au a night, Kambaku is a bargain! The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and very large. The setting is perfect, with views over a waterhole - elephants drinking in the night - a sight to see - and hear! The staff, from the Managers, Krystel and Richard, the trackers and dining room attendants, to the domestic staff, are all fantastic - friendly, informative, entertaining and very proud of their country and willing to go out of their way to assist. Game drives were excellent, great range of animals and birds, and rangers and trackers extremely happy to educate the Aussie tourists!. I would recommend Kambaku to anyone wanting a fantastic African safari experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suesmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

A wonderful experience - all the staff were knowledgable, warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, the attention to detail was impeccable and the food was absolutely delicious (probably the best of our trip in South Africa). The lodge, in short, is excellent. As for the Timbavati itself, it feels remote and wild, and doesn't disappoint when it comes to wildlife. Highlights included wild dogs (feasting on their kill), a lion pack on the prowl at night and a leopard (also feasting)... to name just a few. And the splendour of sunrise tinting the Drakensberg escarpment pink... We were very, very, sad to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lqbcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

One of the best travel experiences. The owners and entire staff were spectacular. They were warm and friendly from moment we arrived until the second we departed. We were very sad to leave Kambuka. Everything leading up to the trip with planning via email was smooth. Every detail of our stay was taken care of and all we needed to do was listen to the drum beat to know when it was time to eat or ride.

Saw the BIG FIVE and more. We have fantastic close up shots of the big five plus giraffes, zebras, impalas, and more. We know there are no guarantees but the guides did a great job searching for the animals. Even more important was the education they provided our family. Not only on the habits of the animals and birds but also showing us their tracks.

The guest rooms were clean, large and very comfortable. It was wonderful coming back to the room at the end of the day and finding a candy, bedtime story, and the beds ready for a good night sleep.

Setting was magnificant. How often can you be reading on your back porch and have an elephant walk through to take a drink at the watering hole. Just listening to the sounds of the bush during the meals which are all in open air settings was inspiring.

The food was wonderful, cooked and served by thoughtful staff. Each meal was in a different place in the lodge either in the main lodge which is open air or out under the South African sky with a warm fire. The staff even went out of their way to offer us, their american guests a Thanksgiving meal complete with a song about family and a bottle of champagne.

Overall, we were thrilled with our experience at Kambaku. It offers a great lodge, safaris into the bush, hospitality, a sense of family, and a great value for the price. We look forward to our next visit and spending more time exploring the bush with Kambaku.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be perfect for your stay.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was the most amazing holiday experience I have had and I have travelled far and wide. The staff were friendly, helpful, knowledgable and caring. The food was all delicious and Krystal shared the recipies with us. Yum, yum! I have tried them at home and they bring back such wonderful memories. The accommodation was perfect. Words cannot explain the feeling of being in the bush in an open landrover watching majestic elephants, gangly giraffes (a 1 week old baby- gorgeous). We saw the Big 5 and so much more. I still can't believe how fortunate we were to see the white lion from the Giraffe Pride. In fact I am still dreaming about it. I want to go back. The best word I can find to explain the experience of seeing animals in the wild is spiritual. I have told everyone since I have been home that an African safari is a number one on the bucket list and Kambaku is the place to do it. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews