We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
430
62
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
62
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush experience game drives guide sam off road walking safari hot water honey badger wild dogs eating dinner greater kruger on foot other guests water hole cape buffalo fantastic stay herd of elephants private game reserve
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We spent four nights at Shindzela and it was an amazing from start to finish. The camp has obviously been refurbished and the pictures on here do not do it justice.

There are eight tents each housing two people. The tents are spacious with bedside cabinets, a hanging rail, mosquito nets, electric lights and a wonderful bathroom with water heated by gas. Shampoo, shower gel and insect repellent hand cream were provided. Definitely glamping.

Each tent has a designated charging area in the main building with USB and South African power points, so there was never an issue with uncharged camera batteries or phones. Tea, coffee and water were always available here too. The tents were serviced twice a day and the whole camp was spotless, with even the paths being swept every morning whilst we were on an early morning drive.

We were very well fed with breakfast and lunch eaten in the main room but dinner was outside with the two tables arranged around a campfire, inside a boma and lit by lanterns. It was an amazing nightly experience enhanced by having Angelique, the manager, plus Sam and Jacu, the drivers, also eat with us and recount their stories. A waterhole behind camp was spotlit and during most dinners we saw wildlife having a drink. On one evening a pride of lionesses and cubs appeared and we all left the camp between dinner and dessert racing in the vehicles to get a closer look.

We had two game drives each day where our very experienced tracker/driver Sam, never failed to find something impressive to show us. We saw the big five more than once and way more besides - cheetahs, wild dogs, fighting hippos, water monitor, hyenas, a python in a tree, vultures, warthogs, impala, giraffe, kudu, waterbucks etc... One of the most memorable was following the story of a lion, his hunt and his kill over three days - truly spectacular.

Shindzela has two vehicles. Sam took us off the beaten track to see wildlife and once there would radio the other vehicle to say what he had found. We stayed with the animal or animals and when the other vehicle arrived we would usually leave or vice versa so it never felt that we were competing or just looking at another car full of people.

The wildlife also visited the camp, with Hyenas creeping up to the Boma whilst we were having dinner or a herd of Impala stopping for an afternoon drink. But the most amazing afternoon was when a herd of 25 elephants came by and stayed at the waterhole for a couple of hours. Watching the dynamics and relationships within this herd was magical.

Everybody who worked at the camp made us feel truly welcome and I would love to go back. My only slight niggle, and it is only small, would be to have a tent which overlooked the waterhole. Whilst tent 8 was nice and secluded it would have been nice to face the wildlife.

Room Tip: The best views of the waterhole and visiting wildlife are from tents 1 to 6.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MATTNottinghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We had four nights at Shindzela and loved every minute of it. From the warm welcome, relaxed atmosphere, simple but super comfy tents to the wonderful staff, great meals and magical game drives with Sam. Angelique was a great host and always made sure someone was around during the day on hand to help with queries and questions and generally look out for the guests. The food was very good and plenty of it with all day complimentary tea, coffee and cold drinking water available. The game drives were so good, we saw so many animals and Sam was an excellent, caring driver and a font of knowledge about all in the bush, also with a great sense of humour but constantly checking for the well being of the guests and the animals we were watching. Jacu deserves a mention too for his knowledge and patience when answering all our questions! We loved the evening meals around the boama and it was lovely that Angelique and the guides joined us for the supper (always 3 courses). The pool area and unfenced view of the waterhole are nice to relax with during the day before the exciting evening drives. We were over the moon with spotting many lion and also a group of 4 cheetah as well as so many other beautiful creatures and the highlight must have been the morning we saw 6 rhino together. The vehicles are in great condition and are open-topped to enable fantastic all round viewing. We were so sad to leave Shindzela and would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a genuine Bush camp experience amongst friendly staff and other like minded guests. Maximum occupancy is 16 people in 8 tents and take cash for your extras as there is a 3-4% charge to use credit cards. Really hope to return to Shindzela one day.

Room Tip: All tents are the same. We were in No.6 which was very private and had a great view of the waterhole.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Privatefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

It's hard to describe how fantastic our safari experience at Shindzela was. The entire experience from the welcome to the last game drive was something my husband and I will never forget. The grounds are beautiful and the stay was extremely comfortable. We had delicious daily meals, snacks, and coffee each day. The area in unfenced so the crew walks with you at night, but you're able to see lots of wildlife at a safe distance during the day.

The game drives itself were my favorite part. We LOVED our guide Sam and our tracker Jeff. They both really wanted to make sure everyone was satisfied with their experience and we were beyond happy with every part of the ride.

The price is so reasonable and we would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Had very good game drives with Jaco and Reymund where we saw the lion, leopard, wild dogs, rhino in defense position, fighting hippotamus and many many more, and learnt a bit about the wild life in the reserve. Very nice sunset view while we stop for the sundowner.

The food looks simple but tastes really good, especially the 3-course dinner. Great snacks and wine choices too. Room is always tidied and prepared for us too.

The waterhole in front of the camp is amazing. So many animals came for a drink while we were there. The leopards, hyenas, elephants, impalas.

Our 2 nights stay is too short for such an amazing place. Received far greater value than what we paid!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Cannot wait to return. Shindzela offers a genuine bush camp experience, yet is genuinely comfortable. Unfenced, and thus wildlife sightings are plentiful. Trackers, guides, and owners all experienced, humble, and demonstrate a love for the land. Jakku and Ramon make an exceptional team. Reflects South Africa's commitment to hospitality. All tents well situated. All amenities are just what we needed; no need for plug points in the tents, as chargers were provided in common area. Eco-friendly.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank U_S_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews