We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Motswari Private Game Reserve(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 823
USD 629
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Geiger's Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
USD 1,123
USD 1,097
Agoda.com
View Deal
Kings Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
USD 7,253
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Legend Safari Lodge & Spa(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kambaku Safari Lodge(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kambaku River Sands(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanda Tula Safari Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Umlani Bushcamp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Machaton Private Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
436
77
20
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
77
20
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily chaletgame drivesluxury tentsmain deckwatch animalssafari experiencekruger parkbuffet stylewild dogstimbavati reservegreat safarian amazing experienceprivate reserveoutdoor showerour night staywatering holedelicious food
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at the Sumbavari River Lodge in November 2015. Everything from our first welcome, the staff, the food, the safari drives and our accommodations were excellent. You are right in the park with no barriers and as a result we had breakfast with monkeys, and a group of elephants stopped by for a drink of water one morning while we ate. Our safari guide Stephen was awesome. You could really tell that he was passionate about the park, the animals in it and his job which was to educate guests and find animals in their natural habitat. We saw all of the big five plus two leopards, lion cubs, a rhino and her baby, large groups of elephants and many more animals. I would recommend this lodge to anyone and think it is 100% great value for your money. You will not be disappointed if you stay here!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShandaRoslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Matketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear ShandaRoslyn

Thank you for the lovely review and recommendation.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge.

Our staff are definitely passionate about what they do as you saw and they are one of the many reasons why our guests enjoy their stay at our lodge.

Thank you for letting us be part of your memorable safari experience.

We hope you will come back and visit us again.

Regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This was our second time at Simbavati. We stayed here two years ago and after looking at other options decided to return. We had a great time. Hemet is a star tracker and Mike was our very enthusiastic and great Guide. Unfortunately Mike has moved on but we know they have other great guides also.
The "tents" are getting fancier and bigger. It's truly glamping. The common areas like the lobby have also been upgraded to a more luxe level. The food was very good and you definitely won't go hungry. All of the staff are friendly and helpful. Free airport shuttle to Hoedspruit is a nice bonus.
The safari drives were great. Lions, elephants, leopards, giraffe, buffalo, hyenas and of course many antelope (kudu, nyala, steenbok, springbok, impala). Quite a few baby animals also.
We wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear SeanSD

Thank you for choosing to stay at our lodge for a 2nd time.

We are so glad you came back and that you got to experience our new refurbishment "glamping" as you called it :)

It was lovely to be able to provide you with a new memorable safari experience and we were happy that we could live up to your expectations.

We look forward to your next visit.

Keep well, regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

The Simbavati River Lodge provided the most amazing experience for our family safari. The luxury tents were comfortable, beautifully decorated and provided an authentic African experience. The food was delicious and I couldn't wait until all the meal services. The BOMA especially was a delight. Last but certainly not least, the service at Simbavati was impeccable and faultless. All staff were professional, kind and incredibility friendly. Our guide, Steff was knowledgeable, charismatic and passionate about all flora and fauna. I could not rate my stay any higher or recommend this premises enough! Thank you Simbavati for the memories!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Neesha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Neesha S

Thank you for the lovely review and awesome compliments we will definitely pass them on to the team.

We are thrilled that we could provide you with a memorable safari experience and that we managed to wow you with our service, the food, our lodge and the game drives.

We appreciate your recommendation and we hope you will come back and visit again.

Regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

This property is very beautiful and right on top of a watering hole where animals can drink from. We saw hyenas at night but others mentioned seeing elephants, baboons, and more. In the front of the resort, we saw a group of warthogs.

The good: food selection for every meal was great, especially the buffet breakfast. For our private dinner they offered 3 choices (fish, meat, and vegetarian) and it was beautifully presented. Our guide (Stefan) and tracker (Nicholaus) were the highlights - Stefan was extremely enthusiastic and wasn't afraid to go "off-road." Stefan also took us on a bush walk, which I didn't think I'd enjoy as much as the game drive, but I did. He's clearly excited about the bush walks so highly recommend going on one with him if you can.

The bad: we were in the very last room. Because it's not a fenced-in property we had to be escorted to and from the main areas, and we had to wait a while one night before dinner. Recommend asking for a room closer to the main area.

There actually isn't a lot of 'bad' with this resort - it's very pretty (loved the inside and outside showers), has excellent food, and the service is good. I think I just prefer a smaller, more intimate lodge (this one accommodates up to around 30 people) where we could get to know our guides and the other guests a little better. I could see myself returning if I was with a large group of people, like 8 or more that would appreciate the numerous amenities. If you like to be more anonymous and do your own thing, this is a good choice. If you want more interaction with your fellow travelers or guides, or more personalized service then this might not be a good fit.

I also feel like there are other lodges that are a better 'value.' We stayed at a non-Timbavati property that was less expensive but also included alcoholic and soft drinks. I even think Simbavati's sister property, the Hilltop Lodge, might have also been a better value - it's more expensive than the River Lodge but the room is stunning and it includes all 'house' beverages.

Room Tip: Choose one close to the main area
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JasmineSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear JasmineSP

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your bush walk with Stefan, thank you for recommending the bush walk and Stefan this is something that he is very passionate about.

We are happy that we could tick most of your boxes (according to your preferences) during your stay at our lodge. We wish that we could have reached 100% however we understand that people have different tastes and what one person likes another may dislike. We will take your comments into account as we value our guests feedback and if there is a better way to provide our guests with a memorable safari experience we will definitely do our best to find it :)

We hope you will come back with your friends and family.

Kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful 4 days at Simbavati under the care of Corbert & Derrick who ensured that we had amazing wildlife encounters at almost every turn.
The game drives were fantastic & obviously the reason for our trip but we enjoyed the lodge & its surrounding also.
Meals were enjoyed on the deck, at the Boma & one fantastic night right in the bush.
You do need to be escorted to & from you rooms after dark as demonstrated by the large buffalo quite close to our room one night.
The added bonus of a minibar & tea & coffee making in your room was great as we had a nice deck to "rest" between games drives!
Roy at reception always provided a happy smiling face & could answer any questions as needed.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenslandHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear QueenslandHappy

Thank you for the lovely review we really do appreciate it.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge in the bush, that you had amazing game drives and that you enjoyed our various meals that we provided, giving you a memorable safari experience.

We hope that you will come back and visit again.

Regards Nadine





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews