We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ponderosa Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
USD 108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 83
USD 78
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn - Midtown(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
USD 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
USD 104
USD 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sitzmark Chalet Inn(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
USD 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Winds Lodge(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
USD 89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whispering Pine Cabins(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
USD 158
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 237
USD 224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins(Ruidoso)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
33
13
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
13
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsget awaynew ownersone night staywithin walking distancewe've stayedcabinfireplacemountainsroomyinnsaccommodationswood
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

The owners were the best and the cabins were clean and homey. Beautiful area in the mountains. This is a great escape for a weekend with friends or for the faniky. I would highly recommend this spot for anyone wanting to get away for a night or two!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The grounds and cabins are all kept very clean. The cabin itself was roomy and had everything we needed. The fans are a nice touch. Parking, compared to other places is great. There is ample sleeping space as well.

Now for the downsides. The check in process left me uncertain. Their is no "office" to walk into. The door was locked mid-afternoon and a very old, grimy, dirty phone was on the wall if you needed to check in. The lady checking us in was pre-occupied with other things and it took a while to get what we needed (keys). The fireplace filled the cabin with smoke. Simply could not use it even following the types typedinstructions to prevent it. The heaters were not working and had to be turned on by a switch in the main office...and are automatically set to certain temperatures (could override for a short period). The interior is not the ideal mountain cabin style decor. Seemed like a lot of clearance items were bought through out time to fill it. (Sea shell shower curtain and ugly dark blue 1980 hotel style comforter --- the kind you take off before getting into the bed because the thought of it touching your face is disgusting).

Overall, I would stay here again, but I hope the new owners make some changes as they settle in.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank diaperchanger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I and our friends stayed at cabin number 11 on presidents day weekend. We had an excellent time and we're very pleased with the cabin. The accommodations were clean and very reasonably priced, especially compared to other cabins in the area. We were within a half hour drive of the slopes and within walking distance of the village shopping strip. When we looked at the pictures online, they were difficult to tell what the accommodations were actually like so I would recommend maybe updating the pictures. We were very pleased when we saw the cabin in person. They provided free firewood and grills along with a huge patio to hang out on. The only problem we had over the weekend was that the wifi stopped working but it ended up being a problem with the provider and was in no way the fault of the facility. The owner was very prompt in addressing the issue and took the time to assure us it was being taken care of. This was a very pleasant experience, especially considering many inns with free WiFi don't bother to make sure it works properly at all or let the guests know the status. Overall, we would recommend these cabins to a friend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The next time we are in the mountains we will surely consider staying at ponderosa cabins!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank amuilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Staff was great cabin was in cozy with the fire place enough room for all of us friends to feel comfortable we had a great time there. Great location near down town but to close. We have already reserved a cabin for our next outing.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b00b123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

The staff was very accommodating and friendly. They really made our stay very easy and stress free. The Wi-Fi was better than most of the places we've stayed. You definitely feel welcome and at home staying here. The bedrooms had plenty of space and the heaters made it very warm our entire stay. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to friends and family.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mlujan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews