We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
33
13
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
13
5
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Once again, I stayed in Ruidoso at the Ponderosa Cabins. They're rustic and quiet, even though they're nestled in the middle of town and close to everything. I stayed in Cabin 19 this time and was very pleased at the cleanliness and appointments within the cabin. When Texas gets hot, it's time to get to Ruisoso -- and the Ponderosa Cabins are the perfect getaway! Love it!

Room Tip: let the owner/manager help you with size and prices.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

A rustic and quiet setting allows one to unwind from busy day of work. Has a kitchen, roomy with comfortable bed, and walking distance to restaurants and other attractions in mid -town Ruidoso. They have one two or three bedrooms available. The owner named Jules was very accommodating and willing to work with me. I am going back there again this week. Voting with the wallet.

Room Tip: talk to Jules
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crucesdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Had a wonderful time! Great service and location, peaceful, and quiet. Plenty of things to do. At walking distance from the river. Owner of cabins extremely nice and helpful. Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

I read numerous reviews on this place before making reservations. I felt the pricing was a little high but we live in a world of inflation. Yes, the cabins are rustic. Yes, the cabins are among pines, and yes, the cabins are just off the main drag through Ruidoso. Rustic should not equate to a total lack of maintenance and a total lack of cleaning. All the HD motorcycle engines on that street did not do much for peace and quiet. The owner was allegedly out of country fulfilling his bucket list and his fill in manager was never on site unless called to check in a guest or called about a problem. Out of five days there, the cleaning team was there two days. Good luck getting replacement towels without calling the manager. Leaving toilet paper and trash bags outside the office door isn’t rustic, just trashy. The cabin we reserved was filthy. The range still showed evidence of a past fire. The hot water heater looked like a relic of a nuclear accident. The furniture and beds weren’t antique, just worn out. The second cabin looked a little better but not much. There were holes in the sofa and puke on the sofa back cushion. The bathroom walls and trim needed repair or replacement. In fact, the two cabin interiors both needed repair, replacement, and cleaning. I would have fought for a total refund and sought lodging elsewhere but traveling with a dog and arriving mid afternoon, I was not up to that hassle. Management: Please manage your property. Repair it and get it clean for the pricing you charge. Or, just sell it and charge on with your bucket list.

Room Tip: If rustic is dirty and badly maintained, go for it.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldArmySoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules O, Owner at Ponderosa Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for mentioning the issue with the hot water heater. When I checked it out, there is a small leak which has basically rusted and ruined the heater. It was not there when last inspected. We have scheduled a complete replacement of the water heater and associated piping which should be finished next week. Your stay was during the annual motorcycle with thousands of motorcyclists enjoying our village. I dare say there was some engine noise throughout town which is mostly isolated to the two annual rallies that have been in Ruidoso for many years. Unfortunately it is beyond our control to create a serene environment during these rallies.

Those three yellow spots on the sofa are not “puke” but are “Gorilla” glue which I used to do a ceiling repair. It will not come off without tearing apart the couch fabric. The owner was not allegedly out of the country because he really was out of the country. A fact that that you were aware of prior to your decision to reserve your stay at our rustic cabins just as you had been notified (prior to your reservation) that the property manager would not be on-site at all times. Our policy regardless of the on-site staffing is to place extra incidentals such as trash bags and toilet paper outside of our office as a matter of 24 hour convenience.

Our cabins are very competitively priced. Your nightly rate was a value in which your received the last night free (a 20% savings) When you complained to our manager about your initial reservation, she upgraded you to cabin #18 at no additional charge. I regret that you didn’t perceive the value we tried to offer you

Thanks for the needed input on the hot water heater. I very much regret that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

This is the 2nd time we have stayed in the cottage with our well behaved pets and it is great. Cabin is rustic enough to feel like you are in the woods but right in the middle of everything you want to do in Ruidoso! Small enclosed yard gives plenty of privacy and allows the dogs to go out without having to leash them up. Jules is very friendly and makes you feel like you are visiting your own cabin in the woods!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews