We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cabin, excellent customer service from...”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Angeles nature retreat on Cedar Creek in Lincoln National Forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Angeles nature retreat on Cedar Creek in Lincoln National Forest
Side view of the Casa Upper story back deck off loft bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Casa Angeles nature retreat on Cedar Creek in Lincoln National Forest
Side view of the Casa
Upper story back deck off loft bedroom
Upper story deck with only house within sight of the cabin.
View of living area from loft with Lazy Boy rocker recliners
Living area with fireplace and Lazy Boy sleeper sofa
View of living room from upstairs loft
Well appointed kitchen
well appointed kitchen
Downstairs bedroom
Upstairs loft bedroom with access to upper deck
Angel sign along split rail fence marking the driveway with cedar creek waterfall in the background
View from the front door deck of a mule deer visit.
Majestic Elk visitor to Casa Angeles land
One of the waterfalls on the property
Red Headed woodpecker.  Put seed out in the feeder and enjoy the beautiful birds of New Mexico.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ruidoso, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RvRespons...
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cabin, excellent customer service from owner.”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a lovely cabin set along a creek where the deer come in to feed and drink. We spotted a nice variety of birds. The cabin is tastefully decorated, has all the necessary cooking supplies, and plenty of nice linens. The floor plan is compact with a combination living, dining and kitchen, with one bedroom and small bath on the bottom floor, and a loft bedroom upstairs. There is a small deck off the loft that faces the cliff behind the house, very private.

Things to help you plan - Cable TV, fast WIFI, stacks of books and DVDs, full size fridge, microwave, no dishwasher, stack washer and dryer, lots of thoughtful small amenities. The dryer seemed to take about twice as long to dry, but the washer and dryer are a huge convenience. The large front window does not have blinds or curtains, providing a clear view into the cabin from the street, especially at night when interior lights are on. If you didn't bring a robe or cover-up, we found two robes in the closet.

An internet search using the term "remote cabin" brought up this cabin among the hits. The cabin is actually in a neighborhood along a canyon road that was surprisingly busy during the day, especially morning and evening work-drive times. However, there was not a lot of road noise. If you walk the road, be careful of, especially pickup trucks, driving fast and kicking up gravel. The house is set about 75 feet off the road, the closest house maybe 200 feet to one side, nothing close on the other side. The pine tress help the "mountain cabin-y" feel.

There is nice hiking further down the road. This is an area of private in-holdings surrounded by Forest Service lands. There are campgrounds and trails just off the highway at the entrance into this canyon. It is a short drive to the grocery store, gas stations, and restaurants. The Krogers was stocked as well as any big city grocery store with a surprisingly cosmopolitan variety.

This was a nice base for visiting sites along the Billy the Kid Scenic Byway. Among the many sites - Lincoln National Forest, Sierra Blanca mountains, Ruidoso River, Hubbard Museum of the American West, and Fort Stanton with its pre-civil war history through WWII, from Billy the Kid and Buffalo Soldiers and General "Blackjack" Pershing. And the historic town of Lincoln, site of the Lincoln County Wars and the famous escapades of Billy the Kid. It's also an easy drive to the Three Rivers National Petroglyph Site.

The owner was very accommodating on short notice, good communication. We really enjoyed their cabin and would definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for the time you spent with this very accurate review of our mountain home. It means a lot to us and it will definitely help future guests when making their choice of accommodations. We look forward to having you return for your next trip to Ruidoso and the enchanting Lincoln National Forest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B S
1 review
“Ruidoso Mountain Cabin”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great little cabin in a great location. Super clean and had everything my family needed. It was great to return to Ruidoso after many years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We're thrilled that you had a great time and that the Casa served you and your family well. We hope you return to Ruidoso and Casa de Angeles in the near future. Blessings, Beckie and Russell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha L
1 review
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We enjoyed our stay. The scenery was beautiful and refreshing. We loved the little stream in the front area. The cabin had everything we needed! Our kids enjoyed the wifi!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. It means a lot to us to know that you had a good time at our mountain home. We do hope you'll come back again!
Warmly,
Beckie and Russell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This place was clean and ready. Cozy little house that truly felt like a home the second we walked in. Had small amenities and essentials with plenty of in house entertainment. Every day we were there we saw multiple deer and had a beautiful stream right up front that gave great ambient sound while outside either up front or on the beautiful rear patio. I am ready to book a future vacation here. Me and my family feel relaxed and rejuvenated after our stay.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our cabin home. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are already looking forward to your return trip. It means a lot to us and hopefully it helps others to know what to expect from their stay.
Until next time,
Beckie & Russell Forsyth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliana R
1 review
“Best place ever!”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

By far the most beautiful place ever being to. First time visiting Ruidoso, New Mexico and best choice we could have ever made. This cabin is absolutely impeccable. Cabin is super clean and as soon as you walk in, you feel welcome! Cabin has been well maintained and well loved, you can tell right away as you go in. By the way, my daughter loved the vanity set, its precious. This is a great family-friendly cabin. There's always something to do around. My kids ( 15 and 22) loved it. They always had something to do from going outside to see the deer that were always around to playing a variety of board games that are in the cabin to many movies that the owners provide. Location is amazing. This place is just a few minutes away from town and very close to the ski Apache and to Winter Wonderland. Also very close to convenient stores. A big great advantage is that this cabin is in the forest, but very close to everything. Only one concern is that we were not able to set the cabin's alarm, not that we need it it. Place is very peaceful and quiet and everyone we saw there seemed very friendly, but I would have felt a little bit more secure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Dear Liliana,
Thank you for the review of your stay at our mountain home. I thrilled to hear that you and your children felt at home. We appreciate you taking the time to describe your experience as it allows others to know what to expect.
As far as the alarm, I'm unsure why you couldn't get it to set. I will contact the alarm company immediately. Thanks for letting us know.
Come back to see us sometime!
Warmly,
Beckie & Russell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing