We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Experience - We Loved It”
Review of Dulini Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dulini Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

The three of us (my wife and I and our eleven year old daughter) are vagabonds in search of experiences and we normally do not stint on anything. So when my wife booked Dulini purely on the basis of the reviews I was not aware that we were letting ourselves in for such a delightful holiday experience. Let me put this in point form so that I do not miss anything:

1) The place is magical - small, quiet and low key. The lodges are large and luxurious, including a private pool. Nyala roam the lawns and the whole place is teeming with bird life.

2) The staff - pleasant, very polite and very solicitous. They seem to be happy where they work and it shows in their attitudes. If I have to name a few - Jessica was very helpful and made us feel at home, James was our butler and very warm.

3) We are vegetarian - they made sure we had interesting things to eat all the days we were there. Great food and great wines to go with.

4) The game drives - Martin and Jaryd were just fantastic. Jaryd was very knowledgeable about the bird life in the Bush. As experienced safari-goers we often find rangers to know about the quadrupeds but not much about birds. Jaryd knows his stuff. Between Martin and Jaryd they combined so well to look at tracks, listen to calls and figure out what was going to happen. Its a different matter that we saw great sightings but we believe the drives would have been exceptional for us even if we had not seen so much of game. Jaryd's enthusiasm for his passion is infectious.

5) The company - we were very lucky to be part of a group that formed around the Defender driven by Jaryd. Alex and Jake, Joe and Nicole were all great fellow travellers. There was a lot of mirth and song. You guys made the trip great.

6) The hosts - Iain and Sue Garratt - were warm and great company talking about South Africa, politics, game, etc.

We were genuinely sad to leave the place. We made some friends there - Jessica and Jaryd and Martin ("Mack the Machete") will always be in our memories.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RaviRajagopalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

We visited Dulini Lodge as the last stop on our honeymoon. Before we arrived, I was a little worried that my expectations were so high that we'd inevitably feel disappointed. I was wrong to worry! From the moment of our arrival, every part of the visit was perfect -- and even a little magical. It's clear that the staff work hard to cater the experience to the individual couple and put effort into the small details that make the visit as enjoyable as possible. The food, the accommodations, the surprises were all amazing. The game drives were also beyond my wildest dreams. Fred and May made a great team and worked hard to make sure we experienced the best sightings we could. (We saw the Big Five within our first two drives, but also saw lions hunt and kill a hyena and had some incredible leopard sightings.) I loved our visit so much that I actually was teary eyed when we left. Thanks to everyone at Dulini for making our honeymoon so perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulsatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We spent three nights at Dulini at the end of our anniversary celebration trip and had just an amazing experience at this lodge. Every single person goes out of their way to make your stay perfect - the service is impeccable and accommodating yet it all feels very understated and relaxed. Our guide, Fred, and tracker, May went out of their way to make sure we saw the most amazing sites possible on our twice daily drives and we saw the Big 5 and the Magnificant 7 many times over! The rooms are individual buildings with a beautiful deck/plunge pool overlooking the riverbed - the perfect place to relax between drives. I cannot recommend this lodge enough and feel privileged to have been able to spend 3 days experiencing everything it has to offer. We can only hope to be lucky enough to return one day and relive the experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual buildings - only difference is the distance from the main lodge where meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gorgasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We had an amazing experience at the Dulini Lodge. The staff was incredible -- Jaryd, Martin, Jess, Marissa, Leche, Jono, Chris, Maurice, Aubrey, and Martha all deserve mention, but many others contributed to our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful and also relaxed, making sure our needs and requests were met while also making us feel quite at home and the whole experience not at all "transactional". By the end of the trip we felt like the staff were friends, which really made the experience special for us. (Noted, some folks may just want to vacation to get away, and we experienced that this staff is just as good as giving people a respectful distance as they are at making people feel like part of a family.)

To some of the measurables:

(i) Game Drives -- Superb. We split time between two rangers, Jaryd and Jono, each of which was excellent. Our trackers, Martin and Chris, were also terrific. Highly recommend all four of them!! We saw, quite easily, the "big five" and much more, but each of the rangers and trackers were, as they say, quite keen to listen to our feedback, or try to read our mood, and structure the game drives in response. The service on these drives, in addition to the game viewing, was extraordinary.

(ii) Hotel -- Also, great. The Lodge has a small amount of rooms (six, I think) and feels very intimate. We spent our time between game drives and meals either hanging in our room (the sitting area was a favorite spot, with the great views outside) or enjoying the common outdoor areas, viewing the monkeys, impala, etc. and having some great conversation with the staff. The Lodge was very, very nice but also had that outdoorsy feel -- a great mix.

(iii) Food -- A special mention here for Altus, a wonderful executive chef and person who took time out of his busy schedule to check on our needs and talk about the food and South Africa. Some of your typical dishes -- filet, etc. -- are available and terrific, but we also ordered a springbok loin that was potentially the best dish of the whole trip (including Cape Town). Breakfast was probably my overall favorite meal of the day; after a big morning drive it was great to sample the available buffet and then have the option to order additionally (eggs benedict seemed to be a big favorite, and there's a fried egg that is also exceptional).

It's hard to imagine a better stay; if you're looking around Sabi Sands for a safari trip, put this hotel at the top of your list, and keep in mind the other lodges too in the same "group" -- River Lodge and Leadwood. For any return to Sabi Sands, we'll certainly be hoping Dulini is available! Mary & Brent B.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights at Dulini Lodge I the Sabi Sands private game reserve and it was fabulous! We arrived late due to a delayed flight but were greeted by the wonderful and infectiously enthusiastic Marissa on our arrival. Because we had arrived late, dinner had been arranged in our room, and what a wonderful room! The 6 rooms are all in their own 'little' independent buildings and have a seating area, a bedroom area and a bathroom area, including outdoor shower. Each room is very private with its own private decking area and jacuzzi on the deck overlooking the African bush.
Each day we were taken on safari in the morning and evening. The morning one started at 5.30am (early morning alarm call at 5am) to be followed by a superb breakfast after the 3-4 hour safari. Then the rest of the morning and afternoon were our own to do as we wished, only to be interrupted with a magnificent lunch at 1.30pm. Then, further safari starting at about 4pm, again for 3-4 hours. Back in the evening for a fantastic dinner. All drinks included!
Our ranger and tracker were brilliant and highly knowledgable. We saw the 'big 5' a number of times over in the three days we were there and numerous other animals and birds.
All in all I cannot recommend Dulini Lodge high enough. If you want luxury combined with enthusiastic and knowledgable staff and 2 safaris a day with lots of animals to spot, this is definitely the place to come. Absolutely brilliant!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
29.3 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
416 reviews
20.9 km away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
11.9 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.8 km away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#5 of 176 in Kruger National Park
262 reviews
1.3 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
443 reviews
21.7 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulini Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulini Lodge

Address: | White River, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa (Formerly &Beyond Dulini)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $137 - $2,987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dulini Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under a leafy canopy of ebony trees, six luxurious stone cottages grace the banks of the Mabrak River. As one of only 12 guests, you feel instantly at home in this quiet retreat, where classic interiors enfold guests in quiet style and elegance. Generous private plunge pools and shady decks look out onto the dry riverbed. Large, welcoming sofas and African sculptures fill the gracious guest areas. Dine under the ancient jackalberry tree where skilled chefs serve delicious meals or steal away for an intimate dinner in the well-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Dulini Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
And Beyond Dulini Lodge
&Beyond Dulini Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing