We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
459
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstracker isaacour honeymoonplunge poolsabi sandsgame driveswild dogssafari experienceoutdoor showerfudgethe riverbubble bathsinging and dancingsouth africasitting areadry river bedthe cottagesdifferent locations
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We visited Dulini Lodge as the last stop on our honeymoon. Before we arrived, I was a little worried that my expectations were so high that we'd inevitably feel disappointed. I was wrong to worry! From the moment of our arrival, every part of the visit was perfect -- and even a little magical. It's clear that the staff work hard to cater the experience to the individual couple and put effort into the small details that make the visit as enjoyable as possible. The food, the accommodations, the surprises were all amazing. The game drives were also beyond my wildest dreams. Fred and May made a great team and worked hard to make sure we experienced the best sightings we could. (We saw the Big Five within our first two drives, but also saw lions hunt and kill a hyena and had some incredible leopard sightings.) I loved our visit so much that I actually was teary eyed when we left. Thanks to everyone at Dulini for making our honeymoon so perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulsatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We spent three nights at Dulini at the end of our anniversary celebration trip and had just an amazing experience at this lodge. Every single person goes out of their way to make your stay perfect - the service is impeccable and accommodating yet it all feels very understated and relaxed. Our guide, Fred, and tracker, May went out of their way to make sure we saw the most amazing sites possible on our twice daily drives and we saw the Big 5 and the Magnificant 7 many times over! The rooms are individual buildings with a beautiful deck/plunge pool overlooking the riverbed - the perfect place to relax between drives. I cannot recommend this lodge enough and feel privileged to have been able to spend 3 days experiencing everything it has to offer. We can only hope to be lucky enough to return one day and relive the experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual buildings - only difference is the distance from the main lodge where meals are served.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gorgasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We had an amazing experience at the Dulini Lodge. The staff was incredible -- Jaryd, Martin, Jess, Marissa, Leche, Jono, Chris, Maurice, Aubrey, and Martha all deserve mention, but many others contributed to our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful and also relaxed, making sure our needs and requests were met while also making us feel quite at home and the whole experience not at all "transactional". By the end of the trip we felt like the staff were friends, which really made the experience special for us. (Noted, some folks may just want to vacation to get away, and we experienced that this staff is just as good as giving people a respectful distance as they are at making people feel like part of a family.)

To some of the measurables:

(i) Game Drives -- Superb. We split time between two rangers, Jaryd and Jono, each of which was excellent. Our trackers, Martin and Chris, were also terrific. Highly recommend all four of them!! We saw, quite easily, the "big five" and much more, but each of the rangers and trackers were, as they say, quite keen to listen to our feedback, or try to read our mood, and structure the game drives in response. The service on these drives, in addition to the game viewing, was extraordinary.

(ii) Hotel -- Also, great. The Lodge has a small amount of rooms (six, I think) and feels very intimate. We spent our time between game drives and meals either hanging in our room (the sitting area was a favorite spot, with the great views outside) or enjoying the common outdoor areas, viewing the monkeys, impala, etc. and having some great conversation with the staff. The Lodge was very, very nice but also had that outdoorsy feel -- a great mix.

(iii) Food -- A special mention here for Altus, a wonderful executive chef and person who took time out of his busy schedule to check on our needs and talk about the food and South Africa. Some of your typical dishes -- filet, etc. -- are available and terrific, but we also ordered a springbok loin that was potentially the best dish of the whole trip (including Cape Town). Breakfast was probably my overall favorite meal of the day; after a big morning drive it was great to sample the available buffet and then have the option to order additionally (eggs benedict seemed to be a big favorite, and there's a fried egg that is also exceptional).

It's hard to imagine a better stay; if you're looking around Sabi Sands for a safari trip, put this hotel at the top of your list, and keep in mind the other lodges too in the same "group" -- River Lodge and Leadwood. For any return to Sabi Sands, we'll certainly be hoping Dulini is available! Mary & Brent B.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights at Dulini Lodge I the Sabi Sands private game reserve and it was fabulous! We arrived late due to a delayed flight but were greeted by the wonderful and infectiously enthusiastic Marissa on our arrival. Because we had arrived late, dinner had been arranged in our room, and what a wonderful room! The 6 rooms are all in their own 'little' independent buildings and have a seating area, a bedroom area and a bathroom area, including outdoor shower. Each room is very private with its own private decking area and jacuzzi on the deck overlooking the African bush.
Each day we were taken on safari in the morning and evening. The morning one started at 5.30am (early morning alarm call at 5am) to be followed by a superb breakfast after the 3-4 hour safari. Then the rest of the morning and afternoon were our own to do as we wished, only to be interrupted with a magnificent lunch at 1.30pm. Then, further safari starting at about 4pm, again for 3-4 hours. Back in the evening for a fantastic dinner. All drinks included!
Our ranger and tracker were brilliant and highly knowledgable. We saw the 'big 5' a number of times over in the three days we were there and numerous other animals and birds.
All in all I cannot recommend Dulini Lodge high enough. If you want luxury combined with enthusiastic and knowledgable staff and 2 safaris a day with lots of animals to spot, this is definitely the place to come. Absolutely brilliant!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Dulini for our honeymoon and couldn't imagine a more amazing experience. With only 6 rooms, every staff member knows your name and is so kind and welcoming. Within our first game drive we saw almost all of the Big Five, and the rest of the trip only got better from there. Knowledgeable rangers and drivers (we loved you Dyke and Jaryd!), beautiful rooms and delicious food made the trip unforgettable. Couldn't recommend this place more and I hope we are lucky enough to return someday soon.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews