We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
459
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tracker isaac our honeymoon plunge pool sabi sands game drives wild dogs safari experience outdoor shower fudge the river bubble bath singing and dancing south africa sitting area dry river bed the cottages different locations
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Dulini for our honeymoon and couldn't imagine a more amazing experience. With only 6 rooms, every staff member knows your name and is so kind and welcoming. Within our first game drive we saw almost all of the Big Five, and the rest of the trip only got better from there. Knowledgeable rangers and drivers (we loved you Dyke and Jaryd!), beautiful rooms and delicious food made the trip unforgettable. Couldn't recommend this place more and I hope we are lucky enough to return someday soon.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

HIGHLY recommend!!

My husband and I stayed at Dulini Lodge during our 1-year anniversary trip to South Africa.

Dulini is a serene place with an intimate feel. Our suite overlooked the river bed, and we watched a family of elephants bathe in the mornings from our outdoor shower and plunge pool. To call it magical is an understatement.

The twice-daily game drives with Ranger Fred and Tracker Dike were exhilarating and lots of fun, and we really enjoyed the company of the other travelers in our spacious 6-person jeep. The sundowner cocktails were also a nice touch.

Everyone on staff knew our names, greeted us, and treated us with friendly hospitality and top-notch service. A special shoutout to managers Marissa and Emma for going above and beyond.

We would go back to Dulini in a heartbeat and definitely plan to return!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bonvoyage9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

The other reviewers ht the nail on the head. This lodge is wonderful! It has only 6 villas, so there is never a crowd. Each is very private, beautifully appointed with all amenities included. They overlook the river - as we were unpacking our bags on arrival, a giraffe walked by. The lodge itself is beautiful, with meals served on the deck or patio. I can't say enough about the service. The staff were friendly and professional and the meals were fantastic. I'm afraid we did serious damage to our diets on this trip.

As with other safari lodges, everyone goes out on 2 games drives a day. The guides and trackers were very good and managed to find whatever animals or experiences were were looking for. The vehicles never hold more than 6 passengers in three rows so there is no one sitting in the middle. They are equipped with rain ponchos, and wool blankets and hot water bottles for cold mornings (only needed that briefly one morning), as well as setups for coffee stops on morning drives and cocktails for sundowners.

The service even extended to before the trip. I had emailed the manager ahead of time with questions, and they had dried beans on hand to fill my camera beanbag.

All in all, we were extremely pleased with our stay. Our only regret was that we had not booked a longer stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Wow. I had to start my review that way. Dulini is a luxury lodge in Sabi Sands. Think of Sabi Sands as a more private or exclusive part of the greater Kruger National Park. This distinction is important. If you're staying at a lodge in Sabi Sands, your safari outings are much more personal than if you're staying in Kruger. In our case, at most we'd see one or two other vehicles at a siting.

Dulini contains six large villas. The villas are spacious with high ceilings and include a sitting room, bed room, changing area with shower, bathroom, a deck, a plunge pool and an outdoor shower. They are well decorated and taken care of. Each room includes snacks and drinks such as beer & liquor. I liked that the room had drink accouterments including fresh lemon (to garnish) and a dish to rim the glass for making a bloody mary.

This was the nicest accommodation we stayed at for our entire trip. The lodge is not fenced which means there are nyalas and kudu and monkeys on the property. One night while we ate dinner on the deck, we heard a huge herd of water buffalo walk past following the dry river bed. When we shone a flashlight to see what was causing all the noise, several of the herd stopped to stare at us. Keep in mind these animals are a ton or two apiece so it's a bit unnerving for them to take notice of you particularly when there are dozens of them. Another morning, we found tracks of a leopard that had walked right through our lodge the night before.

Service at Dulini is excellent. They learned our names faster than we could learn theirs. All of the people were quite friendly, almost to a fault, and the people looking after us and our room did all their work behind the scenes. After my wife asked for some cranberry juice at dinner, our butler took it upon himself to ensure the fridge in our room was stocked with some for the remaining days of our stay.

The food was excellent. In particular I have to highlight the lunches -- they would bring over a tray with two or three entree items plus two side salads, home made buns or bread, etc. It was like having a tiny buffet delivered to your table.

The main reason people travel to this part of the world is for the game safaris. Dulini has two vehicles, each holding 6 people -- three villas are assigned to each vehicle. These are open-top Landrovers. The vehicles include sunscreen, bug spray, and binoculars and there was storage space so you could stow your camera lenses or anything else you brought. In the mornings (at least in winter), they provide hot water bottles and blankets to keep you warm until the sun warms up things.

Dinamosi and Isaac were our guide & tracker. They did a great job taking care of us and trying to accommodate what each couple wanted to see. Each outing typically involved surveying the ground for animal tracks and eventually Isaac would go walking by himself into the bushveld as we drove around. The guides across the lodges stay in touch with each other and share information about sitings. One day they were able to effectively zero in on a leopard that was otherwise hidden if you were more than a few feet away from it. It was quite impressive to see how well they all worked together to find the animals. Over the course of 3 days, we were able to see all the animals we had on our list. On our last day, we started to ask for unreasonable things like asking to see a kill which they were able to do -- a leopard had killed an impala and we were there to watch it drag it to a tree.

Overall this was a great experience. There were other places that were twice as expensive and I really couldn't figure out what more they could offer to justify their price. We had everything we wanted at Dulini. While the days can be quite full between the morning & afternoon game drives and meals, make some time to enjoy the accommodations, the plunge pool and the surroundings. It's quite peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperDave666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Our travel agent at Go2Africa booked us at Dulini and was constantly telling us how lucky we were to get a room/cabin. I think the best way to describe our experience at Dulini would be "paradise". Everyone in the lodge was amazing. They surprised us one night with dinner in our cabin and a whole honeymoon decoration job. We saw the big 5 within our first day and spent the rest of the three days with our mouths agape as our ranger (Justin) and Tracker (Martin) worked to show us some of the rarer things in Sabi Sands

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews