We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idube (+ sister-lodge Lukimbi) is a MUST if you go to Krüger!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Idube Game Reserve Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lux
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Idube (+ sister-lodge Lukimbi) is a MUST if you go to Krüger!”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We spent 2 days at Idube and 2 days at Lukimbi. Both lodges are fantastic. Idube has the best game view and Lukimbi the best location for elephants and rhinos and because of the close river also for hippos and crocos!

In Idube we saw the big 5 during our first 2 drives. Ranger Andreis and tracker "Eagle-eye"-Titus didn't miss anything. From the leopard onto a tree, the lioness which had hunted an Impala for her two babies (Titus saw the las 10 cm of the lioness tail in the same colored high grass...thats why i call him Eagle-eye) and the 100 big buffel-herd....we did not miss anything!

Meals were in both lodges from a very high quality (my personal opinion as a chef myself). The teams were very kind and professional. We had the chance to meet the very charming owners of the lodges.

I suggest to stay first 2 nights at Lukimbi and then move to Idube!

Our stay at Idube (and after at Lukimbi) was definitively one of the most impressive we ever had! I only can reccomend these locations for everyone who wants an amazing experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto_Beltramini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    30
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
195
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

It was the best most awesome safari. My husband, kids 23 and 20 and I could find nothing but praise for idube, for Melinda, especially for our ranger, promise and " bait" Maurice ( tracker). People were always courteous, made us feel at home. Food was excellent, saw big five plus plus plus.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallice60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

SHE was so enthusiastic to please HIM; he had apparently been very busy with the ladies next door! However, the silky, very beautiful, female Leopard did not give up. She wanted those cubs. What a unique experience! 10 lion on a Buffalo kill; 5 cubs, different ages sneeking a tit- bit where they dared. Hyena pups on a Francolin kill; but our Game Ranger, Promise, lived up to his name, he was so proud of IDUBE. His knowledge and professional skills were 5 star, but he was also humble and VERY PATIENT WITH THE CAMERA CLAN, especially when 400 head of Buffalo crossed our path!
The accommodation is relaxed, understated Luxury. (4 Star) My suite was on the perimeter, so the REAL BUSH, as we call the bush in Mpumalanga, almost touched my toes, sitting on the tranquil deck in silence.
The new chef excelled himself with the most juicy, tasty venison kebabs fit for a King.
IDUBE is a low key (not larny) Lodge with every comfort and friendly staff.
My idea of the Real Bush!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildoneKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I was in Africa for a month of work, needing to span the continent from Ghana to Uganda to Mozambique. I had three days between completing work in Uganda and presenting a paper in Mozambique, so I chose to take a three-day break - and birthday present to myself - by going to the Kruger, ZA area. As I scanned various lodges on websites, I found Idube was one of the more reasonable private lodges bordering Kruger, so I decided to try it out.

I could not have been happier. The managers and trackers were like immediate friends. In spite of traveling alone, I felt a warm welcome from staff and other guest. I actually ended up with one day as the sole guest, as others ended up with a delay in their flights. At that time, the trackers asked me what I wanted to find and completely catered to my interests. They were knowledgeable and experienced guides, and I learned so much.

At the lodge, there were constant visitors of nyala, baboons, warthogs, and vervit monkey to keep us entertained. We saw the big 5 and so much more. I hope to return with my son in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Idube was a wonderful place. Nice facility, friendly courteous staff, excellent food and great game viewing. The Ranger (Andre) and his guide were terrific. They really knew the animals, plants and environment.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a bad room at this plac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper3995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#18 of 174 in Kruger National Park
408 reviews
9.7 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
445 reviews
3.7 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
401 reviews
18.5 km away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
302 reviews
10.1 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idube Game Reserve Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idube Game Reserve Lodge

Property: Idube Game Reserve Lodge
Address: Portion 1 | Wallingford Farm, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price range (per night): $131 - $2,179
Hotel Class:4 star — Idube Game Reserve Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idube Game Reserve is a safari lodge situated in the Sabi Sand Reserve, in the heart of South Africa’s premier wildlife conservation area of the Greater Kruger Park. Game, including the Big 5, is viewed really close by from open Land Rovers, or spotted on guided walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Idube Game Reserve Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idube Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing