We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
620
32
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
32
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity paraffin lamps game drives sabi sands family run lodge bush camp high tea outdoor shower other guests long table hot water bottles lovely pool safari experience three night stay watering hole big family greater kruger
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Bit late in sharing as we visited after being reinstated without any problem after being held up with Cairo riots in February 2011. David and Mia were the most wonderful hosts and the visit was everything you would or could want for an African experience

Stayed: October 2018
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Notten’s was our first stop on African safari and it delivered what we have expected and much more; friendly and attentive staff, competent and dedicated drivers, good food, and good rooms. They even served food that complied with my strict diet and sent me away with a great recipe. Hubby and I are both picky eaters, and they fully met our standards.
To get back to why we picked Notten’s, it was the only place where we saw all Big 5, plus numerous other species. We saw a young lion practicing taking down a buffalo in a dark, leopards mating, a baby rhinoceros, and so much more. We liked the fact that this was a private property, so while they enjoy animals roaming freely between Kruger and other private properties, the safari drives were not limited to set park roads, allowing us to find animals in the bush. We also liked how small and intimate the place was and how you could observe the wildlife while dining right in front of us. The camp has its own permanent residents such as hyena that liked our porch, warthog that liked the grass between the cottages, and kudu that just liked to hang around. They are not kidding about not walking alone in a dark and using an escort, because we met a couple who saw a leopard napping on their doorsteps. I recommend to have a two full day’s worth of safari drives. Also, we took two bush walks despite the heat of the day and the fact that the first walk was uneventful. You can never predict animals and what you can see and the second day walk was much more interesting and it allowed us to stretch our legs between safari drives. Oh, and not to forget to mention sunsets. We have never seen a sunset that pink and pastel. It is truly amazing and different from other places.

Room Tip: I think we had #1 and it was great
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irinava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Wonderful accommodations of just 9 rooms. Excellent food served in an open area overlooking a large grass field with a watering hole for which many animals would visit every day. The manager, Dale, and his staff were always available and most friendly taking care of any needs that we had. Our guide and spotter were outstanding. A wonderful dollar value.

Room Tip: No bad room
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We spent 3 nights at Notten's this past September and had a wonderful experience. Our driver/guide Geoffrey was incredibly knowledgeable about the animals and so willing to pass along his knowledge. Actually, everyone was extremely professional and seemed interested in making sure that guests had the best possible experience. Gift, Susie, Desmond and others that we didn't come in contact with provided an excellent dining experience. In 3 short days we counted them as friends. Rident, our tracker worked hand-in-hand with Geoffrey to locate the animals. During the day we had walking tours with Rhian (sp?) who was also extremely knowledgeable. All in all we had an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papapapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

It takes more than being shown the 'big five' 'small five' or ' ugly five' to make a good safari. You need excellent guides, excellent service and a passion for passing your wildlife enthusiasm onto your urbane guests. Nottens does this par excellence. Attention to detail like paraffin lamps, hot chocolate in the bush and surprise bubbly (on ice) & a full hot bath awaiting your evening return, all make this the best.
Did I mention the open eating veranda where you can spot your birds and animals; the excellent food & drinks; the kindnesses shown by all the staff; and the thoughtfulness of Dale and team members.
This is not our first safari but easily our best. Thank you Nottens!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael186565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews