We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
206
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingthe rivergame drivesamazing hotelplunge poolonce in a lifetimeoutdoor showersouth africaluxury safari experiencewatching elephantsstaff went out of their waypersonal attentiongreat guideevery staff membersabi sands areaan incredible experiencebeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Had the good fortune to spend four days at Singita Ebony Lodge in early Sept/2017 as part of a two couple visit. One always wonders when the reviews are so good and expectations so high as to whether you will be disappointed or not. Trust us, you won't! No reason to check further, JUST BOOK THIS PLACE! Game drives were even better than expected, Big 5, Magnificent 7, Elite 8 were plentiful. Great guides / tracker (Josh/Emmanuel). Lodge staff was incredible, interactive, professional, extremely enjoyable and a big part of the experience. (Chantal, Tiffany and Kevin (Ebony's new manager). View from the lodge was chock full of animals. Lodge was relaxing and everything you could ask for. Rooms were great! Probably the best experience of our lives, and we've been around and traveling for awhile! To be fair and to try to find a negative, the only downside was intermittent wifi (which was being worked on), which normally wouldn't matter on a trip like this. (hurricanes in the states necessitated i stayed plugged in, unfortunately). even with the wifi hiccup, it was still an absolutely perfect trip. i'll say it one more time....don't look any further..quit looking...and JUST BOOK Singita Ebony Lodge and enjoy life! It was truly an incredible experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingitaTraveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words. As I read this I was smiling remembering your exciting stay. It was an absolute pleasure having you visit Singita Ebony Lodge. I hope that you will return in the future, or at least return to experience one of our other properties.
May you have a blessed festive season.

All the best,
Chantelle Maritz
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I am writing this a year later as we honeymooned here in August 2016. Everything was perfect. Out of Africa inspired decor, warm staff, memorized personal preferences and a beautiful room on the river with a pool. Food is excellent for the middle of nowhere. Guides know their stuff; we had a private driver and guide which is the way to go if you can afford it as you can come and go as you please. I honestly have nothing negative to say except maybe their store is full of too much expensive junk. We would go back in a heartbeat to Singita (when we can afford it again), but perhaps would go to a slightly more picturesque or lush area for touring next time. This area was a bit arid and dusty (probably due it being winter) but I guess that besides the point when we saw the Big 5 plus cheetahs and wild dogs. Can't recommend this hotelier highly enough. We are planning to go back to another safari in a few years when they open their Mozambique beach property.

Room Tip: There is no bad room
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FlyinFinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingitaTraveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Africa is a very special place to enjoy your honeymoon and I’m happy to know that you had such a memorable stay at Singita Ebony Lodge. We do have a tropical climate in our summer seasons and experience almost no rain in our winter months which does make the bush and environment unique throughout the year. If you decide to return, the summer months are much more lush and green. Our Boutique and Gallery sources individual items from all over Africa, so I’m sorry to hear you thoughts on it.
We would be delighted to have you return and hopefully your next trip will include one of our other properties.

All the best,
Chantelle Maritz
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We spent 3 nights here with my 8 year old daughter and 70+ year old parents. It was terrific for everyone and the staff went out of their way to make sure everyone's needs and desires were attended to. The setting is incredible and the service is impeccable. Our rooms were luxurious and homey at once. The vervet monkeys at breakfast were adorable (despite stealing our bread) and on safari we saw everything. Our tracker, in particular, was a delight, so committed to making sure we saw everything.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked amazing.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tanelifri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingitaTraveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review of Singita Ebony Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to our family again soon.

Best wishes,
Graham Kennedy
General Manager - Singita Sabi Sand Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Never in my life will another trip live up to this one. Singita goes above and beyond to make your experience perfect. The rooms are beautiful and the food was excellent. If you have a chance to try their Malva pudding at the boma don't pass It up. Also, Andres made our safaris wonderfully fun! Truly, if this trip is a possibility for you look no further and stay here! I would live here if I had the chance!!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank LizzieEmBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingitaTraveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review of Singita Ebony Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,
Graham Kennedy
General Manager - Singita Sabi Sand Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

This lodge was truly the jewel in the crown of our journey to southern Africa. Last on the itinerary we were thrilled that this spot would be the absolute best part of the trip. Reading the other reviews made my mouth water for the food and brought smiles to my face recalling the quality of service from the staff. Nothing is overlooked and every detailed is tended to. In addition to menu, the kitchen will cook anything you ask for. We participated in two game drives per day. They also offer archery and star gazing if you wish. Don't miss out on the walking game drive that allows you to see many of the smaller creatures that inhabit the area. There is simply no better place to stay and I look forward to my next trip, this time with even more of the family.

Room Tip: If it is only the two of you, ask for Room 5. Rooms 1 and 2 can be joined to make for a family cottage with room for about eight (8).
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ChateauWildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingitaTraveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review of Singita Ebony Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,
Chantelle Maritz
Singita Ebony Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews