We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some excellent guides but too expensive, therefore somewhat disappointing”
Review of Tydon Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tydon Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Pro
-clean, nice campsite , nice tents
-excellent game drives with some fantastic guides (esp dirkus, benji, lisa are excellent)
-good food, good atmosphere
-good maling contact with Gavin

Contra
-really too expensive (around 800 E per person for "4 days", in fact only 2 full days)
-Tydon safari camp has no view, no animals inside the camp. Relaxing clean place but really not very much to do with no view (bush camp is probably better for that?)
- tydon safari camp is located outsite Sabi Sands
-The Sabi sands park is only partially accessible with Tydon

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank THOMASmulier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile



Just finished 4-day Safari experience and it was just amazing!
the entire staff is incredible, the food is delicious.. everything just perfect!

Best value/price option in Sabi Sand!!!
Drikus was an excellent guide, I wish we could have spent more time there.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank luna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Wow what an amazing experience and made even better staying here. All staff went out of their way to make this experience very special and something I will never forget. The guides were amazing and as passionate and excited about finding the animals as the guests were. The food and facilities were fab. Thank you to everyone who made our holiday special, especially our main guide Drikus!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We spent four nights here & it was utterly amazing. The camp is beautiful with all of the amenities required. As it is quite small it is very intimate & easy to meet other guests & the staff. The safari guides are amazing, very knowledgeable & helpful. I would particularly like to mention the safari guide Drikus who took us out on 3 of our 5 drives, he was funny, helpful, extremely knowledgeable & we will never forget him. I would like to thank all of the staff for making our holiday very special. I can thoroughly recommend this destination

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We spent a week here at the end of July 2017. And what a week it was! We came armed with malaria pills but did not see a single mosquito during our stay. At the camp itself we found the guides, the staff very helpful and everythingwas just perfect. The food was great and plenty. Had to skip a lunch here and there but here you do not go hungry.
The tent accommodation was very comfortable, although you do not end up spending a lot of time there, except sleeping/napping and showering.
But the best thing was the wildlife we encountered in Sabi Sand. We saw White Dam (R.I.P.) nearly every day of our stay plus several more leopards. All of the big five and some very close encounters as well with Inyatini walking straight past us at one point. What a big leopard! The guides were very knowledgeable and I wish I could have memorized everything they told us about different species. We also had a lesson about elephant dung from Gregg and got to handle and smell it!
The drives were the highlights but second came the gathering around the camp fire eating dinner and listening to stories in the evenings. The food was really good and tasty and there was plenty of it.
We really enjoyed our time there and the company of the other travellers especially a german and an italian family. Hope they enjoyed our company as much as we enjoyed theirs.
Last a big thank you to Drikus, Gregg, Liesel, Tyrone (and Luna), Gavin and all the rest of the staff. Maybe we will return one day and stay in the Bush Camp with Jacques. Meanwhile we continue to follow the wildlife photos you post on your social media so we can say been there, seen that.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
4.5 km away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
19.4 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
462 reviews
24.7 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
425 reviews
20.5 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tydon Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tydon Safari Camp

Address: Shaws Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $130 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the shade of indigenous trees, this visual oasis of inspirational elements combines to culminate in this magnificent Tented Safari Camp. Intimate and comfortable, yet simplistic combined with excellent service, the Camp creates a traditional African Safari feel to your journey, and you can be forgiven for thinking you were transported back in time to an unspoilt and unexplored Africa. Sharing its borders with the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve which forms part of the Greater Kruger region due to having unfenced borders with the Kruger Park, Tydon Safari Camp offers guests a unique opportunity of staying in permanent semi luxury tented rooms and experiencing wildlife game drives and bush walks in the Sabi Sand as well as the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing