We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TYDON SAFARI”
Review of Tydon Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tydon Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

we took a 3 day tour with Tydon in the first week of Novemebr-2011. This was our first ever trip to South Africa and now i am sure that it will not be the last. We are so glad that we chose Tydon. Overall it was all a first time visitor could ask for. We were naturally apprehensive when making our choices before coming. But from the time they picked us up from our Lodge in Joburg to the time they dropped us at Joburg Int Airport it was as if we were living with our own family members. Every thing had a personal touch . THANK YOU Lyam , Joy and Gavin.We have taken very cherished memories of our stay with you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorers771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 326 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

I thought that I had come to see the animals; I left with a rich life experience of love for the land and people. The accommodation - tents, dining hall, pool, firepit area are all top notch as is the location with easy access to both Sabi Sands and Kruger Park. But it was the personal interaction, with Tydon staff and with other visitors, that made this visit so special. Gavin is passionate in his love of the bush and animals and Joy and Lyam, his guides, share this in their game drives. The evenings of great meals of traditional African dishes, good wines, lively conversation were my favourite part of the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Our host and owner, Gavin, along with his safari guide Joy and his staff made us feel welcomed and pampered everyday. The tented camp was comfortable with a huge sleeping space with a full size bed. The tent was airconditioned. Games drives with Joy were fun and educational. Thanks Joy! We saw the big five in just two game drives. This place is a must go to. All meals were a South African cuisine at it's best. If you are looking for a lodge that allows you to experience the "bush" of South Africa then this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Tydon Safari Camp was amazing! The tents were extremely nice, service was impeccable and the staff were accommodating. The camp is perfect…great pool, beautiful dining area and large fire pit. Lyam and Joy (Safari Guides) are very well educated and do their best to enable you to see everything you came to see. I would highly recommend Tydon Safari Camp. I will always remember my time at their Camp.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMF3168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We came expecting to see the big five but we went away with memories of traditional food cooked around the camp fire in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Lyam and Joy have a wealth of knowledge about the Kruger and sabi sands parks (much more than I could take in!). We did also see the big five but much more besides. The accommodation is a perfect compromise between comfort and being close to nature. Keep it up guys!

2  Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
4.5 km away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
19.4 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
462 reviews
24.7 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
424 reviews
20.5 km away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#17 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tydon Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tydon Safari Camp

Address: Shaws Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $132 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the shade of indigenous trees, this visual oasis of inspirational elements combines to culminate in this magnificent Tented Safari Camp. Intimate and comfortable, yet simplistic combined with excellent service, the Camp creates a traditional African Safari feel to your journey, and you can be forgiven for thinking you were transported back in time to an unspoilt and unexplored Africa. Sharing its borders with the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve which forms part of the Greater Kruger region due to having unfenced borders with the Kruger Park, Tydon Safari Camp offers guests a unique opportunity of staying in permanent semi luxury tented rooms and experiencing wildlife game drives and bush walks in the Sabi Sand as well as the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing