We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
371
29
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
29
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssabi sands and krugerkruger parkoff roadother guestsluxury tentsboth parksgame drives in krugertraditional foodair conditioningjohannesburg airportpanorama routefewer animalswonderful experiencesharing storiesprivate reservepersonal experiencespent days
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I thought that I had come to see the animals; I left with a rich life experience of love for the land and people. The accommodation - tents, dining hall, pool, firepit area are all top notch as is the location with easy access to both Sabi Sands and Kruger Park. But it was the personal interaction, with Tydon staff and with other visitors, that made this visit so special. Gavin is passionate in his love of the bush and animals and Joy and Lyam, his guides, share this in their game drives. The evenings of great meals of traditional African dishes, good wines, lively conversation were my favourite part of the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Our host and owner, Gavin, along with his safari guide Joy and his staff made us feel welcomed and pampered everyday. The tented camp was comfortable with a huge sleeping space with a full size bed. The tent was airconditioned. Games drives with Joy were fun and educational. Thanks Joy! We saw the big five in just two game drives. This place is a must go to. All meals were a South African cuisine at it's best. If you are looking for a lodge that allows you to experience the "bush" of South Africa then this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Tydon Safari Camp was amazing! The tents were extremely nice, service was impeccable and the staff were accommodating. The camp is perfect…great pool, beautiful dining area and large fire pit. Lyam and Joy (Safari Guides) are very well educated and do their best to enable you to see everything you came to see. I would highly recommend Tydon Safari Camp. I will always remember my time at their Camp.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMF3168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We came expecting to see the big five but we went away with memories of traditional food cooked around the camp fire in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Lyam and Joy have a wealth of knowledge about the Kruger and sabi sands parks (much more than I could take in!). We did also see the big five but much more besides. The accommodation is a perfect compromise between comfort and being close to nature. Keep it up guys!

3  Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews