We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest Cross Country Ski”

Enchanted Forest Cross Country Ski Area
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Red River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enchanted Forest is New Mexico's largest and only full service cross country ski area. We offer a full rental shop, PSIA XC ski lessons, ski patrol, and snack bar, all at our comfy day lodge and lesson area. With 32 km of ski trails, and 18 km of snowshoe trails we offer plenty of terrain for anyone to have fun. We also offer Summer and Winter on trail yurt rentals. Ski or Snowshoe in the Winter, or Hike or Mt. Bike in the Summer.
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We went to this place on next day after Christmas, Plenty of snow to ski. Skis and trail pass were around 30 bucks for all day. We took the trail around 10 am and were back by 3 pm. The trails were well maintained and well directed. We all had an awesome experience. Will plan to visit this place again.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank Rishi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"yurts"
in 5 reviews
"snowshoeing"
in 9 reviews
"lesson"
in 8 reviews
"instructor"
in 6 reviews
"lodge"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2015

We skied several hours here. We loved the terrain. It was mostly gradual however there were plenty of uphills to get warmed up and several downhill stretches to get some speed. We were there days before Christmas and it was not that crowded especially compared to the nearby town of Red River. The trails were well marked. The staff was friendly. The warming yurt had a toasty fire in the cast iron stove. We spent over 3 hours skiing and still did not cover all of the trails there. There is also a separate set of trails for snowshoers which looked extensive and fun. The forest was beautiful and the overlooks were pretty sweet. Coming from Colorado where we often cross country ski for free we weren't sure what to expect. This is a lovely spot. If you enjoy cross country skiing or snowshoeing you should go!

Date of experience: December 2015
4  Thank blackbeerben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Be ready to educate your family regarding yurts. A great hike to the top of the ski area. A cute little hideaway complete with bunk beds, wood burning stove, propane camp stove and lantern. Enjoy eating around the firepit or around the large dining room table inside. It's not really roughing it unless you aren't fond of outhouses.

Date of experience: October 2015
3  Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

My husband & I cross country skied for the very first time for him & the first time in 30 years for me. The snow was amazing, weather not too cold with the sun peeping out every once in a while. The trails were well groomed & scenery beautiful. Great exercise as well as an added bonus. Everyone was very friendly & the little rental place was very homey.
Can't wait to return!!!!

Date of experience: February 2015
3  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Beautiful area to learn how to ski cross country. The folks doing the day to day operations were just lovely. The small group classes were just right for someone like me who has never been on skis before. Bob was our instructor, he was great, really took the time with us newbies.

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank CandiceMoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enchanted Forest Cross Country Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Enchanted Forest Cross Country Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing