We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 62.00*
and up
Taos Highlights Small-Group Driving Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buttressed church photograhed by legendary photographer Ansel Adams, and painted by famed artist Georgia O'Keeffe.
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A well-maintained example of the colonial New Mexican style church that is easy to find and visit. It is located near the charming town of Taos

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank melemelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    176
    41
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Shades of Georgia O'keefe”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The quintesimal Spanish Colonial Mission Church still in use today. The image of this church was made famous by Georgia O'keefe and Ansel Adams and is worth the stop if you are in Taos

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Must see in Taos”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

San Francisco de asis church is a historic church in ranchos de Taos ( on the outskirts of Taos). Built by the Franciscans in the 1700's a beautiful example of New Mexican Spanish Colonial Architecture. The back side of the church is probably the most famous side, many artists including Georgia O'Keefe have done paintings of the back side.

Helpful?
Thank Richardjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Georgia O'Keeffe Inspiration”
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I stopped here on Monday, July 26, 2010 on my way back to Santa Fe from Taos. I hadn’t been able to understand so many artists’ preoccupation with this church, especially the back. Until I saw it. Now I get it. Even though you’re surrounded by buildings and are standing in a parking lot perhaps full of cars, the back of this church will just capture you. The front is great, too. While I was there, I had to wait around for a bit to get the pictures that I wanted without people in them…but for a great reason. I got to watch a marriage proposal in front of the church! Probably would have made some great pictures, but I didn’t take any as it felt like it would be intruding. Eventually got my photos of the church and then visited the interior (no pics allowed there, though). Nice, but it’s the exterior that’s captivating.

Keith

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
Thank KthSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baton rouge la
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Holy Place”
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Very beautiful church with the special painting of Jesus. A must see for all Christians.

Helpful?
Thank jarreaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing