We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Jemez Springs, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JfromAbq
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 2 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed three nights and plan to return as often as possible. The rates are a little high, but we offset the cost by bringing our own food and only eating out for dinner-which is actually easier anyway with small children. I don't think the rooms have changed much from prior reviews and I was very happy with them when we arrived - two very nice bedrooms with queen size beds, full kitchen, living area with fireplace, nice bathroom and deck. Very private and comfortable. It is true there is not much storage for clothes/suitcases but it was not a huge deal for us. I would recommend taking your own DVDs -there's not much there espscially for children. There are a lot of games and books though but we mostly spent our time relaxing and building fires in the fireplace with the kids so they could roast marshmellows.

The breakfasts were served at the Highway 4 Cafe, which is owned by Bob, Leone's husband. They consist of breakfast burritos or waffles, but mostly pastries. We pretty much ate oatmeal and pastries (which are really, really good so I don't want it to sound like it's not) but I also don't want you to be surprised if you want a more traditional "fancy" breakfast like at many other b&bs. We liked it but by the third day we were a little tired of it and would have liked something else. Also note, Bob is closed on Mondays so we felt a little funny running up there when he's supposed to be closed and everything's pretty much turned off. We just picked up coffee and pastries and went back to the room to make our own breakfast that day.

We thoroughly enjoyed the simple peace and quiet of just hanging out together. We did go up to the Soda Dam, Valles Caldera and Bandilier in the mornings. We ate dinners at the Laughing Lizard (awesome!!!) Other than that, just enjoyed our nice little place for the weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffandG...
Bury
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spacious,well-equipped cottage”
Reviewed 1 November 2007 for a stay in September 2007
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Dragonfly Cottage for 4 nights and can highly recommend this self-catering cottage.Situated in the grounds of the owners' house (which also serves as a B & B),it is completely private with views over the red canyon cliffs to the rear. The river runs by at the bottom of the garden area. The very spacious accommodation consists of a large dining area and lounge (with comfy chairs and settee),patio door leading out to a huge decking area with garden furniture,fully equipped kitchen,2 double bedrooms(one with patio doors leading on to decking area) and bathroom with a double tub. There is no TV but a playback video is provided with a selection of video tapes. The furniture and fittings are all of a high standard and it is a lovely,peaceful place to stay. Good for visiting Bandolier Monument & hiking around McCauley Springs area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Space and quiet
Liked least: No wardrobes or hanging space in bedrooms
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjb9574
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gracious Hosts--Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 7 September 2007 for a stay in September 2007
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Desert Willow for one evening this month, and we highly recommend it as a peaceful and relaxing getwaway in Jemez Springs. The breakfast is absolutely delicious (yogurt and fresh fruit smoothie followed by blue corn waffles with fresh blueberries, stawberries and peaches, fresh whipped cream, and fresh maple syrup; homemade cinnamon cake; coffee; grapefruit juice; etc.) and is by far the best B&B breakfast I've ever enjoyed. We actually booked when there was a mix-up with our reservation at another local inn and they called the Desert Willow to see if they could help out--we couldn't have been more pleased. Leon graciously agreed to take us in at the last minute, although she wasn't planning on taking guests that day, and even woke up extra early to prepare us a full breakfast before our early start to a day of hiking. The room was cozy and the bed very comfortable, with nice linens. Our room's windows opened to the relaxing view (and sound) of the stream. Water and sodas are available all day, and truffles provided at night. We especially enjoyed sitting by the stream in the evening, surrounded by native and natural landscaping. We will definitely return to the Desert Willow when next in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Hosts were very warm and inviting--scenery/views excellent.
Liked least: N/A
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roving337...
Austin Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most restful, low key b and b”
Reviewed 30 August 2005 for a stay in July 2005
5
people found this review helpful

It's hard to imagine how a b and b experience could be more delicious than this. I stayed twice this summer and each time the hosts were as welcoming and helpful as could be, the breakfasts out of this world, the beds/linens oh-so- luxurious, and the setting as relaxing as you could want. Could not recommend it more highly. We stayed in the main house but the cottage is sweet as well. I plan on going back at least a few times a year.

Value Rooms
Cleanliness Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewit...
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favorite getaway!”
Reviewed 14 March 2005 for a stay in August 2004
4
people found this review helpful

At least once a year we go to this lovely, low-key B&B to enjoy unparalleled quietude, beautiful and unusual canyon sunrises and sunsets, the babbling Jemez River and Leon's amazing breakfasts. The bedrooms are beautifully appointed with everything you would want or need, including very comfortable beds, truffles, fruit and a refrigerator with drinks. The entire place is absolutely spotless as well. The gardens are gorgeous!! Our getaways to Desert Willow are always our most peaceful and easy-going weekends, and we are never let down.

Value Rooms
Cleanliness Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing