We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Customer”

New Mexico Rails-to-Trails
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Cloudcroft
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We hiked multi Le trails out of Cloudcroft last year and were so impressed with the trails and the amenities that the RtT program supports.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank IndySig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"trestle bridge"
in 3 reviews
"rails to trails"
in 4 reviews
"the main road"
in 2 reviews
"hiking trail"
in 2 reviews
"snow and ice"
in 2 reviews
"recreation area"
in 4 reviews
"on site"
in 2 reviews
"great trails"
in 2 reviews
"viewing platform"
in 2 reviews
"miles round trip"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful hike"
in 2 reviews
"white sands national monument"
in 2 reviews
"interpretive signs"
in 2 reviews
"railroad"
in 13 reviews
"canyon"
in 14 reviews
"alamogordo"
in 7 reviews
"woods"
in 6 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

I’ve been coming here for over 20 years, it offers wonderful hiking trails and stunning views. When my husband and I decided to get married we chose the trestle overlook off the road. Definitely a place to stop and experience the views and read up on the history of the railroad.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank A1521MCjenniferc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

This wooden railroad trestle is not only historic but very photogenic. Hiking to the viewing platform at the other end was worth the 2.5 mile (roundtrip) hike and you get great views for your trouble!

Date of experience: June 2018
7  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I did the Cloud Climbing Trestle Trail which takes you to the rebuilt trestle over Mexican Canyon. This was part of the rail line that transported lumber from Cloudcroft over 9000 ft to Alamogordo some nearby 5000 feet below.

Stared at the renovated Train Depot and hiked down and back. Several switchbacks but the trail is well marked.

You can see the remains of an old S Trestle on the way down as well.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 44dave56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

My husband and I took the New Mexico Rails-to-Trails from Trestle recreation area (rebuilt depot building) to the old Trestle. We took the fastest route about 2 miles round trip (in and out) using Trail T5001B to T5001. There are a few trails in this area and they are marked well. We picked up a trail map at the depot just to check the trail signs with the map. We loved the trail. There is also a park/pull-out along US 82 with a view of the old Trestle. The pull-out has a short boardwalk and a very nice viewing platform. We got closer to the old Trestle by taking the trail and the trail was half the fun. Other old trestles have fallen in the woods along the trail. There are several benches along the way. Be sure to take water to drink. Pretty cool and recommended for the whole family.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Mexico Rails-to-Trails also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Rails-to-Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing