We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice park

We only stayed one night here on way to Colorado. The park is off the highway quite a bit, so not... read more

Reviewed 5 August 2018
Mickimoto32
via mobile
Dinosaurs tracks

What a lovely state park, very nicely kept. A pleasant surprise to us was all the unique wildlife... read more

Reviewed 3 August 2018
marleytad
,
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Read all 99 reviews
  
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
44
40
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
40
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinosaur tracks small lake new mexico dark sky day pass nice picnic million years nature trail short hike trout off the highway lake state park dam footprints spillway fishing antelope
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This was one of our may stops for our BSA Troop 158 camping trip. The day time temperatures were in the low 90's but as soon as the sun went down it would drop to the low 60s. There was a lot of campers when we visited there because of a fishing tournament. The Park Rangers were very helpful and there were several for the amount of people that were present. The Park Rangers told us that usually the camp site doesn't have this many visitors. While we were there we visited the dinosaur tracks and "tail drags" at the park. There is running water, bathrooms, and hot showers next to the Ranger Station. There are several out houses through out the park. Depending on the type of visitors your have is how clean the outhouses are going to be. The main objective of this trip was for the kids to experience nature and that's what they got. From watching deer walk across my camp site to looking at the stars at night. The kids got to fish and swim as well.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank TexasFire124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

After reading reviews on here that this was a good place to stretch legs in a part of the state that doesn't offer much interest when you are on a road trip, I am glad we included the stop. This was about fresh air and exercise for our boys 6 and 10) before a day of driving ahead, For $5 and an out of your time, its worth a party walk to the Dino tracks and a few photos for your memory book.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank CEEQ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Remote location, I chose it because it's listed as a Dark Sky park and son wanted to see dinosaur tracks. It was relatively dark sky except for bright street light at boat dock road entrance. Note there is no Wi-Fi, no RV dumping station, no cell phone service, and no camp hosts to help check-in or ask questions. Nearest dump station is Lowe's gas station in Clayton, about 12 miles away. So, plan your water usage wisely so your tanks are not full before you need to leave. Road is rough going to park and it dislodged several items in camper by the time we arrived. If you need to find park attendee for help, the mornings around 8 were best to catch someone when they're emptying the trash cans. Bathrooms were relatively clean, showers had a lot of soap scum but I was glad they have hand soap available. Minor maintenance needs done in bathrooms. Sites have a nice picnic table and cover. If you need to make a cell call, you might barely get service at the park entrance on the top of the hill. If you want isolation, this park seems to fit the bill.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank FlyingSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

There's an old saying that it only takes a few people to ruin it for everybody. That's true in the state of New Mexico at Clayton State park. This could-be a really nice place but instead it is covered with dog poo virtually everywhere. Along the trails along the waterfront everywhere. Also you should know that I could not find any place to dump my Gray water or sewage in this park. although they give you water and electricity as soon as your tanks are full you're done. If a dumping area does exist it is not able to be found and the park only has one employee will you can't ever get ahold of.

When you search online, it states no reservations, but actually you have to have reservations or leave by Friday morning.

You get what you pay for, $14 but no cell phone service or wifi available.

it is quiet as long as you don't count dogs barking at 6AM

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

If you are traveling the High Plains through New Mexico, be sure to visit Clayton State Park, only a 15-minute drive north of Clayton. You'll pass through beautiful wide open plains with antelope grazing and end up at a beautiful park. We pack a picnic dinner, grill out in one of the picnic pavilions, and then take the short hike over the lake dam to view the dinosaur tracks. Amazing. We end the day with a trek along the nature trail (lots of deer and birds) and a viewing of the endless night sky and stars, a designated International Dark Sky site. This little park is a gem.
Show less

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews