We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 230
USD 144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc(Phu Quoc Island)
USD 151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saigon Phu Quoc Resort(Phu Quoc Island)
USD 71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Bay Resort(Phu Quoc Island)
USD 90
USD 84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Famiana Resort & Spa(Cua Lap)
USD 94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island(Phu Quoc Island)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
149
107
54
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
107
54
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront villabeach frontmango bayhuge hillsunset restauranthammock on the balconyfoot reflexologyquiet relaxationday bedmain townwaters edgebeyond the call of dutyhuge bathroomthe pool and beach areaclean beachcrystal clear waterrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Sea Sense,Phu Quoc for 7 nights. The beach front villas are the way to go, waking up to the waves lapping on the shore and going for a swim before breakfast. The rooms are good size, king bed which is very comfortable and the bathroom is very large.
The breakfast is good and plenty of variety and Peter and his staff were very friendly.
The pool is very well maintained.
All the staff are very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Narelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Wonderful location with a beautiful beach, pool and setting.We were upgraded to an ocean view room which was large,clean and very comfortable. A quiet and relaxing few days. Food was generally good but the evening restaurant lacked atmosphere. It would have been nice to have the beach bar open later. Helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Beach view or ocean view are the best. Sea view rooms are further away with a more limited view.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ros M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

First - beachfront villas are great, some 20 meters from gulf. Silent, relaxed place. Nice room. Good breakfast. Clean, chill beach area.
Still there were some issues - if You like to have good food, head directly to Mango (skip Ancarine, as this was even worse).
You also may struggle with AC issues, if so, don´t except more than small sorry, if You need to pack and move to another room.
But again, despite of that, this is the place You can consider.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lufternurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This hotel is located on the main tourist beaches of Phu Quoc, called Ong Lang. About 20 minutes drive from the main town of Phu Quoc itself.

Some lovely quiet villas face the beaches, although those to the North of the "Sunset" restaurant overlook rocks (as opposed to beach). However, these villas are newer and larger (in some cases), so you may consider the 5 minute walk to the main beach facility worth it. They are also more peaceful, as there is no beach outside their verandas.

The hotel is well managed, with an excellent restaurant for evening meals - called the "Sunset" restaurant. It is not 5*, but definitely a solid 4*. No need to go anywhere else if you are looking for a relaxing beach break. Staff are very friendly (some from the Philippines) so a lot speak English.

Breakfast is Ok, although (as with many Vietnamese hotels) they seem to have learnt nothing from their time under French rule about making croissants (theirs being both hard and rubbery at the same time!). But an excellent omelette, made to order by the attentive chefs, made up for that. Sometimes the breakfast gets a bit "low" on some items if you turn up at a later time (it ends at 10am).

But generally, we really liked this hotel and would definitely come again. The beach is superb, and the water temperature the best I have had anywhere (way better than in Thailand or the Caribbean).

Room Tip: Go for the larger "executive" villas to the North of the property.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EuropeanLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

After reading a mix of reviews before booking me and my partner bit the bullet and booked to stay for ten nights - and what a mistake that turned out to be!!

We booked 10 nights advanced purchase with a free shuttle from the airport included in the package - we called the hotel multiple times to organise pick up with no answer so contacted booking.com to help us, they gave us an alternative number and email address which we called and finally managed to organise the shuttle. On arrival at Phu Quoc airport there was a car waiting but the name on the card wasn’t ours, we explained to the driver that the name on the card wasn’t ours but we had also booked a shuttle to the resort and he just told us to get in the car and we set off to the resort.

On arrival at the resort we were greeted by a young lady who very suddenly turned cold with us and said we had been “very sneaky” and “stolen” someone else’s shuttle and now we would have to pay for their taxi from the airport. We were absolutely stunned! We then explained that we had booked a shuttle and had it confirmed and got out our phone to show the emails and the call log with the hotel but they didn’t believe us and said we have to pay. She then called over another man who told us to keep our voices down and to calm down and that we had to pay the other guests taxi until they had the chance to investigate the matter - at this point I burst into tears as after a long journey and actually not doing anything wrong we had arrived into a resort late at night and were being treated like criminals!

As I was upset and crying and they had more guests due to arrive they decided to take us to our room to continue the discussion there. At this point we wanted to leave the resort but we had paid upfront so would have lost over £900 if we would have left! In the room the man from reception explained he was the guest relations manager he passed us a bottle of water and told us to take a seat, I chose to stand and he very sternly said to “sit down” - this was turning into the holiday from hell. He said someone had made a mistake either us or them and he would get to the bottom of it but in the meantime to relax - great advice.

He then left the room and we realized we hadn’t been told anything about the resort like - what time was breakfast, where was breakfast, where was the bar etc. we were left in our room not wanting to go out as they had made us feel like liars and had actually told the other guests that we had “stolen” their ride from the airport when it wasn’t actually our fault at all! it was an awful feeling.

Within 30 mins the man returned to say he had spoken to the day time receptionist who confirmed we did book a shuttle but he had forgotten to pass the details on and it was his mistake. The man then said sorry and said we could have a free cocktail from the bar....all we needed to do was to walk to reception in the morning and explain what had happened and then we would be given two vouchers for a cocktail. There’s two things here:

1) a lousy cocktail does not make up for ruining the start of what is meant to be a relaxing holiday.

2) the last thing we want to do is to have to re-live the ordeal just to get a free bloody cocktail.

The rest of the holiday was tainted really. Don’t get me wrong the location is beautiful but the resort is scruffy - glasses round the pool and beach sit for days and attract huuuuge wasps whilst the staff in the bar just sit round in huddled chatting to each other.

Service is hit and miss, at least three times I ordered a drink and was left waiting whilst they served drinks to tables that were seated after us and then you would chase up your order and they would add another drink to your bill!

Food is expensive and really bland, there’s also a race against time to eat it before the swarm of flies do!

Getting out of the resort is epic, it’s a good 1.5km walk up and down a very steep incline and the golf kart they have to get you around the resort is strictly for “disabled and diseased” people - which is actually written in your room!

If you’re considering staying here - don’t book to stay longer than a couple of days, there is so much better resorts on the island with staff that are actually nice and care about their guests.

If you’re drawn in by the bath on the balcony - don’t be fooled!! It was absolutely filthy, with a rusty plug and no hot water to fill it! Complete waste of money!

Will not be returning!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahTrinh, Owner at Sea Sense Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Ms.Ball Cairen,

So sorry to hear about your case. Due to our complimentary service policy, all airport transfer information must be provided to our resort within at least 24 hour. I knew you did make an urgent call to our FO for free transfer when you had just arrived to Phu Quoc Airport.
Unfortunately, the FO staff who picked up your call was a brand new staff, got mistake to confirm that our driver had been there to pick up you. In fact, our driver got the pick up information of another guests , but not you.Like the explain form our FO, this was a misunderstanding.
Although we could refuse to pick up but we did pick up you free of charge. We accidentally made you depression at the first minutes at check in....
The offer of free cocktails to you was only to make you relaxed and to show our care to your feeling...

Above of all, your feeling was the most important. By this chance, I would like to apologize for my staff 's mistake, and slow reaction.
This case is the lesson for our FO department to improve their skill and adjust the cooperation in our FO Department.

About the restaurant, I also thank you to let me know this and the observation and examination will be taken immediately.
Once again, I hope my letter ease your sorrow and wish you the best.

Best Regards
Sarah trinh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews