We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day, disgusting ending”
Review of John's Tours

John's Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: John’s Tours is the best tour operator on Phu Quoc island. We organizing: Daily boat trips - Daily land tours 2 islands – 3 islands – 4 islands trips snorkeling- large fishing - squid fishing private car - private boat & speed boat for rent. Sightseeing around island: south & north Our private island - party boat cruise – Sunset BBQ – camping. Good price & guaranteed quality services with professional & experience staff...
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We booked a 4 island speed boat tour with Johns Tours to visit Fingernail island etc. En route to boat we were taken to an unscheduled stop at the Pearl Museum(shop) but everyone on our bus (10 of us) was unhappy to get out - so our guide listened to us and cancelled the visit. Once on the boat we had a good day, altho snorkelling was very cloudy and fairly plain. Lunch was excellent and being on a small boat put us ahead of the large, slow boats (also Johns Tours)packed with people when we landed at each island. On returning to the harbour we got back on the minibus and were all disgusted to watch all our rubbish (cans/bottles) which we had collected in a bag during the trip, tossed over the side of the boat into the sea. We told our guide who went and spoke to the crew member, but there was no attempt to retrieve it. It appeared to be an every day occurrence. Disgusting behaviour. Vietnam was obviously once a beautiful country but pollution and litter is spoiling it - big time.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns_Tours, Người quản lý at John's Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Client,

We did try organize have an tour enjoyable for our customer but it was totally spoiled by the actions of one thoughtless individual.

Pursuant to the recent spate of negative reviews on this forum the management at John’s Tours held a staff meeting wherein an amended code of conduct was presented and it was reiterated to all staff members that protecting the environment is paramount for both the long-term prosperity of the island and our business.

We have composed a standardized reply to our clients setting out our new policy on environmental protection: henceforth, any staff member seen polluting the harbor, sea and islets will be severely penalized and fined. In addition, staff members will face serious consequences for any other behavior that it considered harmful to the environment.

We appreciate that sustainable tourism requires an unwavering dedication to maintaining a clean environment and we will endeavor to educate our staff to act accordingly.

We value the feedback from our clients as it helps management become aware of staff behavior that is contradictory to the ethics of John’s Tours. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with the names of any staff members whom you see polluting our environment.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tour guide"
in 80 reviews
"pepper farm"
in 45 reviews
"wine factory"
in 17 reviews
"fish sauce factory"
in 26 reviews
"coconut prison"
in 28 reviews
"day trip"
in 34 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 9 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 7 reviews
"south island tour"
in 12 reviews
"spoke very good english"
in 7 reviews
"boat crew"
in 12 reviews
"top deck"
in 8 reviews
"the reefs"
in 10 reviews
"three islands"
in 9 reviews
"turtle island"
in 21 reviews
"prawns"
in 8 reviews
"fishing village"
in 13 reviews
Filter

289 - 293 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Yesterday my family and I took Johns Tours ‘4 islands speedboat trip’, we travelled on a speedboat registered as KG 576.82.

Our day out was a good experience but was totally ruined by what we saw when we got back into An Thoi Harbour at the end of the day.

We got off our boat and on to the waiting mini bus and had to wait a few minutes for 2 passengers from another boat, during this time our boat driver started to clean up his boat. During the trip we had drunk cans of beer and bottles of water. We had been careful as a group to make sure the waste from these drinks was put into suitable containers for disposal. As we sat on the minibus we watched our boat driver throw all of these empty cans and bottles straight into the water of the harbour, it was left floating everywhere.

I think I speak for everyone on the bus when I say we were all disgusted by what we saw. We all have a responsibility to treat our planet with care to make sure it is there for future generations, this was totally lost on our boat driver. We complained at the time to our tour guide on our bus but he was ineffective.

We did have an enjoyable day but it was totally spoiled by the actions of one thoughtless individual.

I think Johns Tours have a real responsibility to look after the environment that they make so much money from by showing tourists around, what I saw yesterday tells me they really don’t care. If they carry on like this then soon they won’t have anything special to show to tourists. They should watch the BBC documentary Blue Planet and they would learn about the impact of their actions.

I’m really not a tree hugger but I do know blatant abuse when I see it and this is what it was.

I would not travel on any trip with Johns Tours again and would encourage all readers of this article to think about spending their holiday cash with a different provider - the only think that will make them change their behaviour is a reduction in sales.

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank 882philw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns_Tours, Người quản lý at John's Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Client,

We did try organize have an tour enjoyable for our customer but it was totally spoiled by the actions of one thoughtless individual.

Pursuant to the recent spate of negative reviews on this forum the management at John’s Tours held a staff meeting wherein an amended code of conduct was presented and it was reiterated to all staff members that protecting the environment is paramount for both the long-term prosperity of the island and our business.

We have composed a standardized reply to our clients setting out our new policy on environmental protection: henceforth, any staff member seen polluting the harbor, sea and islets will be severely penalized and fined. In addition, staff members will face serious consequences for any other behavior that it considered harmful to the environment.

We appreciate that sustainable tourism requires an unwavering dedication to maintaining a clean environment and we will endeavor to educate our staff to act accordingly.

We value the feedback from our clients as it helps management become aware of staff behavior that is contradictory to the ethics of John’s Tours. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with the names of any staff members whom you see polluting our environment.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The scenery and tour was great but the staff really made us feel uncomfortable. We were given a faulty snorkel. When I tried to swap it the tour guide turned from pleasant to almost confronting. He refused to exchange it. I spent the whole day unable to actually snorkel. To top it off he yelled at me and my kids insisting that we owe US$10 for the broken snorkel. Soooo disappointing.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Bart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

A fun day out snorkeling by three islands off the southern tip of Phu Quoc Island. We were picked up from our hotel at 9:00am and then given a bottle of water for the day and a safety briefing while we picked others up from their hotel on this group tour. The journey took about an hour.

The three islands we visited had pretty good snorkeling opportunities with a decent amount of fish and interesting coral, although not the bright colors you might expect to see. Lunch was on the boat and it was ok with mostly seafood and vegetables along with tofu as a vegetarian option.

The guide was good and explained everything clearly - his name was Kular.

The only downside was the speed of the boat as it was extremely slow and so took ages to get out to the islands which really wasn’t far!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We booked tour 3 (snorkeling in the North Island). The hotel pick up was smooth. We had a small group ard (16 of us) which was a good size. The guide Mr Kular(not sure if the spelling now) did a alright job. He was friendly and quite engaging. Fingernail Island was not great. The current was strong on the day of our tour and swimming to the reef and back to the boat was a challenge. The reef was dead, wouldn't recommend this. The second island was good and the waters were calmer. The tour group enjoyed snorkeling here. After this was lunch on the boat. The third island didn have much reefs. We decided to just swim for a bit and rest on the beach. In a whole, an average island tour.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank jamutra2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Tours also viewed

Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to John's Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing