We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 128
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/11/21
Hotels.com
USD 128
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/11/21
FindHotel
USD 95
View deal
Booking.comUSD 113
eDreamsUSD 113
PricelineUSD 111
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
188
138
61
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
138
61
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink dolphins superior bungalow a la carte beach bag sea view design thai sa poolside ladder relaxation crystal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Having travelled to Thailand for almost 20 years, we were desperate to find somewhere that re-captured the beauty of the early years of our travel to Thailand. Koh Samui and Phuket are now so vile with over-development, we felt our search would be in vain-until we found Aava Resort and Spa in Khanoum. This hidden gem lies on a 9km virgin beach, with crystal clear waters lapping gently to its shore.The design is Scandanavian , clean and striking with a definite Thai influence. We chose to stay in one of their poolside villas(there are 6), the doors open out to a cobalt blue pool, which overlooks the sea. The villas are superbly designed and furnished with all the trappings of luxury- huge mega comfortable beds, a flat screen tv, great sized bathroom with a rain-shower and large bathtub, and a patio with sunlungers outside your door. The staff were warm and friendly, engaging yet discreet, and always attentive insuring we made the most of our stay. The food at the Aalto restaurant was astonishing, and as a couple who greatly enjoy gourmet food, it certainly did not dissapoint. The choice at breakfast alone was incredible and caters for all tastes and demands- healthy option -grilled chicken with salad coupled with a brain booster vegetable and fruit shake or your full on traditional fry up. We also had the Taster menu one evening which was creative and utterly delicious- coconut seafood soup, followed by carpaccio of tuna,fillet of fish baked with lemongrass, Australian steak so tender, you hardly needed a knife to cut it, and finished off with a delectable desert of panacotta with fresh berries. The owner Atte Savisalo chatted to us at length, he and his wife found this place when they were back-packing around Asia, and decided this is where they wanted to live. His passion is infectious and he was a mine of information, suggesting all the places we should visit, giving us tips for the best local restaurants, and must do activities.

Room tip: I would definitley choose a poolside villa, it gets very hot, so its wondefully refreshing to dip in and out of the pool. Also great to have a pre-breakfast swim
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank frances g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Aava Resort is a wonderful resort on a long stretch of white sandy lonely beach.... The rooms are big and very comfortable, big beds with good matress and pillows, huge bathrooms. Good pool and pooldeck next to the beach. Very good restaurant and tasty food. Excellent service and very helpful and friendly staff. A place to relax and pamper yourself.

Room tip: Poolvillas are greate and huge, little privacy, rooms in the back are quite and good.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The hotel is situated in a very quiet and unspoiled part of Thailand and that is nice. The beach is beautiful. The hotel has very stylish "Scandinavian" decor but in many details style goes against practicality. Wide areas covered with a black floor boarding is not the best solution in Thailand where the sun is hitting hard all day. Also some of the wooden panels need already now paint or oil. The sliding doors of our pool villa had to be made waterproof with duct tape. As somebody said here: “The resort is designed by architects who don't seem to have visited Thailand in the rain”. The whole our short visit we had huge problems to open the sliding doors of our pool villa to the private terrace. The breakfast was a disappointment. It is not a four star hotel breakfast if you compare it to other hotels in Thailand.

About the pool side villa: Don’t take it if you are planning to have peaceful moments behind you book. Unfortunately during our stay in pool villa there was in the hotel several families with small children who spend the whole day from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm in the pool. The pool is relatively small and mostly situated between six pool villas and children were jumping to the water from our private terrace.

Room tip: Don't take a pool villa if you seek privacy
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Esko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2012

By long, quiet beach. Only few hotels near by, no night life. Excellent small hotel. Free wlan. Pool side villa, where we stayed, is expensive, but worth it. The restaurant is excellent but pricy if you are used to basic thai restaurants.

Room tip: Pools side villas are expensive but excellent with access to a swimming pool from own terrace.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2012

During my most recent trip along the south-eastern shores of Thailand I had the chance to discover a new gem - Khanom Beach and Aava Resort. The resort is small but offers all amenities you may need, rooms are very well designed, modern and very comfortable. The beach is first class (better than Samui!) and for the time being still rather peaceful. The service at the resort is very friendly and attentive and the wonderful Finnish owners (Kati and Atte) as well as the GM Jack make the picture complete! I would recommend to everyone seeking a perfect beach break this resort and Khanom! One more thing...the restaurant (Aalto) is sublime - go for the tasting menu!

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevius
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews