We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Olongapo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arizona International Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Olongapo
Certificate of Excellence
Ponson Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have stayed at many resorts in the Subic area and give Arizona a 5 star rating. The staff will do anything they can to make your stay a pleasant one. The restaurant is great, they have fresh seafood and a full barbecue menu. I stayed in a deluxe room, bed comfortable, shower had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The resort has WiFi, can use anyplace at resort. Attached to Arizona is Score Bar, make sure you stop in for a cold beer, play pool or darts.

Room Tip: I like to stay on ground floor, stayed in room 7, close to pool and exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    79
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
21
49
90
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

First time I had been to Subic area Barrio Barretto , for 15 years and of course its changed, and its still not very pretty to be truthfull the only point of going there would be for the raunchy nightlife single men only need apply ,,

Dont take your wife or galfriend or kids I think not they might be depressed with it all, a mongers girly bar town .

The Hotel Arizona was perhaps the best deal I was told by folks who had been there, good for a few days visiting the nightlife , music bars, I like music bars and if I can find it live music, and Arizona is right on the beach , the first hotel you come to on the beach road the beach is nothing special its well known , pool area in the hotel though I noticed no one ever used it . ,

I stayed just over a week in Barretto.. , Arizona well my view everything seems to me just ok, Its an older building , the room I had look like some renovation has happened but to a basic standard , my room old fashioned, fixtures worn a two star budget place at best ,window air con was not good had to be on all the time creaked and groaned , huge mirror on the wall by the bed was very anoying, very basic furniture and fittings, showerand wc was just about ok again but looked so out of date nothing fancy at this place all, so its just about being ok , hot water most of the time that was good .There is a sports bar and get this even a girly bar as part of the Arizonas attractions open late, anouther reason men only hotel really , but better and plenty of entertainment can be found not far away outside .

Staff always pleasent and helpfull so full marks exept they have a hotel dog running around sometimes running up when your eating sitting under your chair,sorry to say Arizona managment I hated that dog in the restraunt, really most folks would I think so., many vendors outside the resaraunt trying to sell you junk, they should be kept away why dont the management fix that ! obvious there quests dont want that, and yet the food was not bad good portions and choice, because of the dam dog, I hate dogs caround food possible hygene issue I elected to eat out after the very first day , Would I stay again , not sure really, I will try anouther place next trip I think so because the Arizona Aussie run I think is in need of an update, and obviously some investement would Improve it lots because its right on the beach got a great location it could be so much nicer than it is, a shame it needs fixing up ,.I believe it could be great. .

Room Tip: I would ask to see your given room before unpacking, and ask to see other rooms as well, I should ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eub4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubicGav, General Manager at Arizona International Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Sorry you didn't seem to enjoy your stay as much as other reviewers on TripAdvisor. Thanks for your comments both good and bad anyway.

As previously stated, the management team is always visible, and always approachable. Any problems you encountered could have dealt with immediately if they were pointed out to us while you were here.

Sorry you seem offended about the "Girly Bars', but they are part of the attraction of the area, and part of the culture, and make Subic a popular place with tourists. By your profile, your travel in the Philippines has been limited to Angeles City and Puerto Galera, both places built on "Girly Bars" and tourism. Its more of that culture thing.

If you had stayed here in October as stated, you would have checked in a few days after the worst typhoon if the season, where we suffered minor structural damage, but had problems with salt water and rain intrusion. It would be really nice if we could control the weather, and make it Sunny Subic all the time.

As for out resort dog "Pangit", he is more popular with our guests than any of the staff. He is shampooed and groomed daily, and has monthly vet checks. He has been here since June 2010, and you are the first visitors to find him annoying or offensive. And to reiterate the point, had you informed management at the time of the problem, it would have been taken care of immediately.

Hopefully we will see you again in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I just returned back to the United States today and I wanted to send you and your staff a thank you note for the OUTSTANDING service I received at the Arizona International Hotel!!

First off, thank you to Gercheann! Extremely courteous and professional in all of our correspondence. I was in contact with her during my on-line reservation and she replied promptly and answered all of my questions!

Secondly, thank you to Rose! She was the nice, friendly lady at the front desk and she went above and beyond the call of duty by sending a text message to my friend Scott Fleury to let him know I was in town (I didn't have my cell phone with me).

Thirdly, thank you to Gavin! He introduced himself when I first arrived, and let it be known that if I needed anything, to not hesitate to ask! I thought that was great and as they say, first impressions are lasting impressions. To be acknowledged and greeted by the hotel staff immediately upon arrival is great customer service!

Fourthly, thank you to my favorite waitress Clarisse! Friendly, knowledgeable and a cheerful and bubbly attitude!! It was a pleasure to dine in your restaurant and have a great waitress who thoroughly enjoys her job!!

Fifthly, thank you to everyone in Score's!! Upon my next visit, I will have improved my pool game, hahaha.

Finally, thank you to Tommo!! Anyone who I know that is going to Subic and needs a place to stay, will get a recommendation from me to stay at the Arizona International Hotel!

Again, thank you for a great stay! I'm really looking forward to my return visit next year!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdarryl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed here 3 times in the past year. Great hotel over all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz4nu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My first trip to Subic . Checked in the Arizona .. Premier Ocean View Room .. was just perfect . Two way windows opening out to the Bay view and roomy .. for someone who likes space .& luxury.

Good food , ambience & the bars just a short walk away .

Thank you Tommo with his hands on boss approach , Gavin the amiable GM & the girls specially Gercheann the front office manager .

Nothing to fault except the food portions are huge for a picky eater like me . LOL .

Looking forward to my next R&R there soon .

Over & out from Subic !

Room Tip: Check out the rooms 28 Rack Rate 4500 Pesos . Even the regular dlx rooms are decent enough to crash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelkaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olongapo
1.0 km away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#1 of 18 in Olongapo
167 reviews
0.4 km away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#5 of 18 in Olongapo
166 reviews
1.0 km away
Subiza Beach Resort
Subiza Beach Resort
#13 of 18 in Olongapo
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Subic Residencias
Subic Residencias
#3 of 18 in Olongapo
69 reviews
50.7 km away
Rama International Beach Resort
1.4 km away
Treasure Island Resort
Treasure Island Resort
#4 of 18 in Olongapo
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona International Resort

Property: Arizona International Resort
Address: 47 National Highway | Barrio Barretto, Subic Bay, Olongapo, Luzon 2200, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Olongapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Olongapo
Price range (per night): $40 - $132
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the National Highway and fronting Subic Bay, the Arizona Resort is one of the best-kept secrets of the Subic Bay area. The beach front resort has 31 well-appointed rooms, which vary in price to suit the budget traveler to those where money in no object. All rooms have queen size beds, air conditioning, color televisions with CIGNAL Digital TV, DVD players and in-room safes. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort. The resort also boasts South Seas Bar & Grill, the best 24 hour restaurant in the area. For the sports fans there's Score Sports Bar, the area's only fully air-conditioned Sports Bar. On the water Arizona Floating Bar has all the hospitality of the resort but the fun of a bar. And Arizona Dive Shop, a PADI registered dive shop, is considered the best dive shop on Subic Bay. All in all, The Arizona Resort is your one-stop-shop for a great value holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arizona International Hotel Olongapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing