We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ryan L
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Perfect away from Dempasar and see some other parts of Bali
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jan 2024
Christiana (the owner) saved us. We were at a local dive shop and had such bad service checking in, we were not comfortable diving there. We had very personalized diving service and saw some great critters while diving. And she knows her nudibranches. Even has one named after her.

We did lunch there as well and it was always excellent. I didn't expect to have lasagna as good as my mother's as well as great Indonesian food.

The villas are gorgeous with Asmat decorations. I wish we had slept there as well.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: One of the best spots on the planet to see nudibranches and go much diving.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$163
  • Expedia.com
    AU$163
  • Agoda.com
    AU$136
  • Priceline
    AU$163
2.8 km from Villa Markisa Dive Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$65
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$65
  • Agoda.com
    AU$66
  • eDreams
    AU$65
2.8 km from Villa Markisa Dive Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$115
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$119
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
  • Hotels.com
    AU$119
0.4 km from Villa Markisa Dive Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$39
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$39
  • Agoda.com
    AU$39
2.5 km from Villa Markisa Dive Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$101
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$101
  • Vio.com
    AU$87
  • Agoda.com
    AU$101
0.0 km from Villa Markisa Dive Resort
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
AU$30
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$28
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Villa Markisa Dive Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
AU$20
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • Trip.com
    AU$25
  • Vio.com
    AU$20
2.8 km from Villa Markisa Dive Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$89
  • Agoda.com
    AU$74
  • Trip.com
    AU$100
  • Vio.com
    AU$74
3.2 km from Villa Markisa Dive Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$90
  • Expedia.com
    AU$95
  • Hotels.com
    AU$92
  • Trip.com
    AU$101
3.2 km from Villa Markisa Dive Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
AU$41
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
  • Vio.com
    AU$25
  • Lol.travel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tulamben
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
186
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
186
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large infinity pool muck diving dive resort great diving a wonderful holiday sambals bathroom facilities are every guest closet space spanish dancers harlequin shrimp the north east coast tiny creatures fish different species octopus underwater photographer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2023

We spent a wonderful week at Villa Markisa. We were picked by the driver at the airport at 11pm and after a 2 1/2 hour ride we arrived at the resort. Our room was large and very comfortable, and the grounds of the property are stunning and incredibly well maintained. The pool is beautiful, and with a maximum of 16 guest the resort never feels crowded. The food is very nice and is a mix of western and Indonesian dishes.
The diving is amazing. I love muck diving and this is one of the best place for that kind of diving. There's one dive guide to every 2 divers, so the diving is very flexible, we did 3 or 4 dives every day, including several night dives. Our dive guide, Sumerta, was excellent at find all kind of incredible critters. most dive sites are within 5 min by boat, and there is the house reef, Seraya Secrets, for shore dives.
I cannot more highly recommend this resort for diving in Bali or if you're looking for muck diving.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Florent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Villa Markisa, Geschäftsführer at Villa Markisa Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2023

Dear Lucy , dear Florent , we are very happy to see you here at Villa Markisa. Thank you very much for your warm words and such beautiful review . See you next time .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2023

Husband and I just came back from a 6 night/7 day stay here, and we loved it. We are both avid scuba divers and have been taking dive vacations twice a year for the last 20 years. This is our second time diving in the Tulamben area, first time at this resort. The property is not very large, there are only maybe 8 rooms with a staff of 30+ so the staff to guest ratio is almost 2:1, and it shows. The property is clean and beautifully maintained for maximum serenity and relaxation. Plantings create pockets of privacy. The pool was gorgeous, and never crowded.

We loved our spacious, tastefully decorated room (#4, attached to the main villa) -- a/c worked well and the bathroom was huge with a separate entry outside (perfect for entering with your wetsuit/swimsuit and not getting the entire bedroom wet). There's a TV that seemed to have the streaming services like Amazon and Netflix, though we only turned it on once to see how it worked and never actually used it. There were many thoughtful touches in the room -- numerous outlets, a plastic mat specifically to rest your camera on, a large water cooler that was kept full so staying hydrated was never an issue, sarongs and portable water bottles for use around the resort. Bed had mosquito netting that would be unfolded with turndown service nightly while we were at dinner. Rooms were well-cleaned while we were at breakfast/diving in the morning, and all room maintenance was done so quickly and stealthily we almost never saw the cleaning staff.

All meals were included in our stay -- the dining area is a charming open-air long table that you share with the other guests. There arent other dining options unless you take a car ride out of the resort. We never left the resort bc all the meals were perfectly satisfying for us. It's not fancy gourmet dining, but there are enough Indonesian and western options to not get bored during a week's stay and all of the food is cooked to order (except for dinner which is buffet-style) -- and most importantly all of it is very fresh! Jams and breads made in-house, fresh-squeezed juices, fresh fruit and vegetables, and meats/fish cooked very well. It was fun to converse with the other guests during meals as well, since it's a small resort you get to know each other pretty quickly. There were lovely people from Austria and Switzerland during our stay and lucky for us they all spoke very good English :)

And now the diving. We love muck diving for all of the interesting small creatures you can see (nudibranchs, shrimps, etc), and the sites around here definitely deliver. The best part of this resort is that each room is basically assigned their own dive guide in the price, and that guide accompanied us for every single dive throughout our stay. We had Sumerta for our week there and he was amazing at finding so many creatures we'd never seen before. Sometimes I thought he was like a magician: I'd watch him stare at a small cluster of coral in the sand and he'd point - and suddenly there would appear a juvenile frogfish! or a nudibranch! or an octopus! Dives are done by boat or off the shore as per your request (the entry for both requires walking through a very large-pebbled beach so padded booties are a must). The dive crew does all the heavy lifting of gear/tanks/cameras to and from the boat. Also, if you like night dives they are a must-do here -- we did one every night during our stay, thanks to the flexibility of having our own dive guide!

All in all the entire staff worked extremely hard and went out of their way to make everything about our stay as comfortable and accommodating as possible. The owner Christiane and her partner Pablo live on site and were friendly, helped with any questions, and kept the conversations flowing at mealtimes. They have done a great job making this resort really comfortable and relaxing with all the conveniences a diver could want -- if we could have stayed longer we would have! Highly recommend this resort and will definitely be returning the next time we dive in Bali!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 1uc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Villa Markisa, Geschäftsführer at Villa Markisa Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2023

We are very touched, thank you very much for such nice and positive feedback. We do our best to that every guest is as satisfied as you and your husband. We looking forward to see you again at Villa Markisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2023

We stayed for 4 days there and were most happy about the place. The resort is run really well, service is excellent, meals are delicious, ... and everything works.
It is a beautiful and pleasant place (including the bathrooms) and the diving is simply superb. The dive shop is exceedingly well run. The dive guides are knowledgeable and enthusiastic and find fantastic critters on the reef which we wouldn't see otherwise.
Hope to go back there one day.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Baton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Villa Markisa, Geschäftsführer at Villa Markisa Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2023

Thank you very much for your review , we are very happy hear thats you are enjoyed your holiday .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

We had a fabulous experience. Picked up at the airport ( unfortunately a 2 1/2 hour drive) which we didn’t expect. They were very accommodating as we asked for a bottle of wine to be put in the room for us upon arrival. Next morning met the owner Christiane and manager Peter who gave us an overview of the property, dinner, etc. Introduced us to Wanta who was “assigned” to us as our dive master. 1 dive master to every 2 people! Outstanding! Wanta was excellent! Since our first time to Bali he made sure we saw everything we could! Sea life, corals, fish, just beautiful!
Our suite was large with a great deck overlooking the pool, gardens and the ocean. Only disappointment was the bathroom which was open air, so no air conditioning. Very strange and bug-gy. Needless to say warm!
Very small resort with just 9 villas, so only one dining area. Food for breakfast and lunch was exceptional! Dinner was always a buffet and just wasn’t the quality of breakfast and lunch. Every afternoon at 4p they had happy hour at their little bar overlooking the ocean. Tera and Desak were two servers/ bartenders that were great!

Very speedy internet!

Wanta after our last dive offered to rinse and clean all of our dive gear. First time ever that I didn’t feel the need to come home and clean it again! Just awesome!
On our departure several staff members came to say goodbye including Christiane! And then driven to the airport. A great experience!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SnKTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Villa Markisa, Geschäftsführer at Villa Markisa Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Dear all , thank you very much for your review and the praise for our resort. We are very happy you enjoyed staying and diving with us .We would also like to thank you for comments about dinner and we will check this immediately . Just let me make sure, thats everything what we prepare in our kitchen we prepare with love , local ingredients and western standard . As you said, we are private resort and private touch between guests and staff ( 2+1 diving or 2 times per day room cleaning ) is our standard . With many thank Villa Markisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2023

Villa Markisa is perfectly located in a quiet seaside area, set in lush tropical gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of the more commercial parts of Bali. A stay here will rejuvenate and nurture your soul, each day filled with wonderful delights, from diving to spa treatments, a swim in the crystal clear pool or a tour to a nearby cultural attraction, a varied menu of consistently delicious meals prepared with love, and great company to share the experience, whether it's old friends or new. It is clear from the attention to detail that the owners and their team strive for excellence and their efforts do not go unnoticed. The staff are so friendly and kind, greeting you by name. The menu choices for breakfast and lunch are a-la-carte, with plenty of choices from around the world and dinner is a buffet. The food was quite simply amazing: expertly cooked and beautifully presented, some of the breads, jams and ice creams are home-made - a nice touch. The rooms are beautifully appointed, with welcome fruit and your own stainless steel drinking water bottle given as a gift. The bathroom shower gel, shampoo and body butter made in Bali and smell so good, it's worth buying some to take home with you. Thank you Villa Markisa - I will be back!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Villa Markisa, Geschäftsführer at Villa Markisa Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

We really appreciate your words, thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again Linda . With love Villa Markisa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews