We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 78
Fully refundable before Wed, 13 Dec
No prepayment needed
Priceline
USD 78
Fully refundable before Wed, 13 Dec
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
USD 77
Fully refundable before Wed, 13 Dec
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
eDreamsUSD 78
Vio.com
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
511
269
69
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
511
269
69
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews liberty wreck fish deluxe rooms restaurant staff macro photography diving course diving experience tulamben area diving center breakfast was included mt agung muck diving didi package drop massage resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2022

The resort is on the the shore front and so provides excellent access to the dive shop, the restaurant and the beach (for shore dives). It is compact, but attractive and quiet (though I think the guesthouse rooms could be noisy as they are situated on the main road which is busy during the day, quiet at night). The staff are all lovely - very friendly and helpful. Our room was very reasonably priced, if small, and there was a problem with the plumbing, so there was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom. Despite this problem, overall we were very happy with our stay at Matahari Tulamben. It was a great place to meet other divers.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilB2978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2022

After covid we finally could go back to Bali. And of course back to Matahari.

We booked a year in advance and asked for one of the bigger bungalows and friends of us took the other bungalow.
We arrived on time at the airport and our driver from Matahari was waiting for us.
The transfer to the resort went smooth, even with the heavy traffic around the airport.

Arriving at the resort was so very nice. All the people working there before covid are still working there! Suci, the owner, has kept the people healthy and provided food during the pandemic.
Everybody still knew my name and we were really welcome once again.

The 19 days went without any problem, only too fast!

The Matahari team made the holiday very nice and with the great food, fantastic diving and the weather it was once again a perfect time.

Thank you Suciajd team!

Room tip: You have 3 rooms, small, medium and bungalow
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marcelv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2022

Once again had a wonderful dive vacation at this resort. Really enjoyed this beautiful place, nice staffs and the great food.

Many thanks to the receptionist who immediately arranged a car to take me to the hospital when I felt unwell and patiently waited for me at hospital to take me back to the resort.

Dive center: Our dive guides Ketur (hope I spelled it correctly) and Gun were amazing, very experienced and super friendly! Thank you so much for the safe and wonderful diving experience these days.

Spa: Kuman is my favorite spa therapist, massage was very relaxing.

Thank you Suci and your great team. We will definitely come back again!

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OnAir29730978838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2022

We stayed here for 5 days doing an advanced adventurer diving course. Didi was a great instructor and a super nice person, and we enjoyed our time with him a lot. The diving here is excellent and feels very safe. The location of the hotel is perfect - right on a beautiful beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved the good vibes and calmness - it felt like home!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_8987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2022 via mobile

We booked a whole package at matahari, ssi Open water diving course and spa. Everything was exceptionaly good, the communication between suci in adwance was super nice and uncomplicated.

Diving center:
As i said me and my son booked also a diving course,. Didi was our diving instructor, as a father of a 14 year old kid I was a bit scared of the diving course, but obviously for no reason. Didi is an awesome teacher, he took his time explaining us everything in detail and was super friendly. My son had some problems with one of his tooth while diving and unfortunately we couldnt finish the course because we already booked another location in ubud. But we decided that we will come back and finish the course and thats what we did now, a simplle whatsapp text to didi and everything was organized, its just lovely how everybody in matahri resort tries to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Im looking forward meeting didi again tomorrow and finish the course. The equipment was also great and the riffs in front are an extra plus for the location, my wife spend her time snorkeling with turtles and soo many fish while me and my son where diving.

Resort
We decided to go for the ocean view bungalow wich is on two floors with a very nice terrasse, the rooms where clean, and again the staff extra friendly and helpfull, the room is full of books to read on the big terrasse. It has a misquito net wich we did nod needed, fridge and ac. The reception was also very helpfull, we misscalculated a bit and did not bring enough cash. They drove us to the next city to an atm, and when that atm did not worked, they gave us cash we could pay for with our credit card. I mean its just a tiny detail but it just shows that they want to help you out as much as they can. I fell instantly in love with the place and the team.

Restaurant
Excellent food,, the thai food and everything we tried was very good, so where the drnks with a beautifull view. The staff was also very nice in the restaurant.as i said we had not a lot of cash and i felt miserable that I couldnt tip directly in the restaurand. We tipped in the end at the reception with the cardi hope that was ok too.

Now we are back in the tulamben area but matahari was already booked out but still they offered us a driver to pick us up at our place for the diving course, but i allready miss that place.

Total recommendation, loved it

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bergmongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews