We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
455
255
65
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
255
65
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews liberty wreck deluxe room hot water mosquito net rooms are basic restaurant staff balinese massage tulamben area mola mola early morning rocky beach private guide macro photography open water free nitrox pygmy seahorses mount agung
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We are travel there in Dec for a diving trip,
our package is included Balinese Massage, like the massage so much.
The resort is providing a good service, swimming pool is good as well the restaurant.
Standard room is a bit small for 2 person, should upgrade to a better room

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank garypcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

First time coming bali and first time stay in Matahari dive resort. Lovely staff, everytjing is good definitely will come back again.

And also many thanks for Suci amd team for my husband birthday cake preparation.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NICO1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019

We were pleasantly surprised by this property. It was clean and spacious and the staff were very attentive. The food exceeded our expectations - great selection and good quality. Breakfast not so much - but still good. Best mango juice ever . Ice is made from filtered water - no stomach issues for any of us and we only ate and drank here at the resort. Only regret is that I didn't try the spa earlier - such wonderful ladies and a great massage, mani, pedi and hair wash. The dive staff are super chilled. Our DM was Bentar. He made every dive a good one. We felt safe and trusted him with our newly certified teenage divers. Great wreck and good boat dives too.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

I would strongly advise to think twice before staying there. I am sure they have major problem with communication.
I have called them 3 or 4 times. Got through and talk to the front lady for reservations. She confirmed receiving my emails and told me to wait for confirmation email.
Guess what, I never got any communication from them. WHAT A SHAME.
I stayed in adjacent resort walked to Matahari and confirmed they had room available but no customer communication.
Place looks nice but lacks management.
Bottom line avoid them.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suci K, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

We are very upset about this review and rating. If you are not able to check your emails then it is not our fault. We answered your mail ONE HOUR after we received it and offered you our rooms with rates and also diving:

From: Komang Suci <divetulamben@yahoo.com>
To: N W <xxxxxx911@hotmail.com>
Sent: Tuesday, December 11, 2018 9:00 PM
Subject: 13.12.-19.12.2018 Nathan

From: N W <xxxxxx911@hotmail.com>
To: "divetulamben@yahoo.com" <divetulamben@yahoo.com>
Sent: Tuesday, December 11, 2018 8:21 PM
Subject: Diving and staying

After I heard from my Reception Team about your complains I direct send you another email and explained it to you and re-send our mail from 11.12.. Looks like you also didnt see this email. Means YOU have a problem and not our management. And I want to mention that the emails are done by myself and my daughter and not from the Reception.

When our place looks nice then this rating is also NOT BALANCE !










Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

I went for a diving vacation in Bali, chose Tulamben as it's the #1 diving destination there. I initially booked another place, but changed my mind later and booked Matahari as I wanted a beach facing facility. Amazing place, beautiful with direct sea access, you put your wetsuit on anytime you wanted, grab a tank and jump in the water in a minute. The dive sites are directly placed infant of it. The staff is very polite and friendly, I asked for a room upgrade the next day and it was done immediately, they always try their best to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable. I tried the spa services, booked a city tour with them, enjoyed the food in the restaurant, and made great friends. Would absolutely go back!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wessam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews