We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic holiday..highly recommend Ulin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ulin Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Bali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday..highly recommend Ulin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed there for 10 nights with another couple. The bedrooms are separate villas within a private compound, the beds are very comfortable, the ensuite bathroom is gorgeous with a huge sunken bath and showers have great pressure and are hot!. The grounds are lovely and the pool was an edge pool, which was cool and refreshing even on the hottest days. Ideal location, up the lane way from Ultimos. The staff superb, could not do enough for us whilst allowing us privacy. The little extras like complimentary mini bar, afternoon tea and just how nothing was too much trouble for the staff made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. The in villa dining is excellent, staff not just bring dinner, they set the table and served us just like at a restaurant but with the relaxed atmosphere of being at home. Our villa was not available for late check out so we were provided a 1 bedroom villa for the day at no cost (we left at 7pm). The day spa is value for money and though not a great variety available in facials it was extremely relaxing. Would stay there again and highly recommended to all

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoonaBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear “DoonaBali”

We sincerly appreciate you have choosen The Ulin Villas and Spa as a prefered place to stay for your10 days of your last holiday in Bali. I am thrilled to read that your stay was extremelly relaxing and enjoyable. I am also delighted to know that the friendliness of our team members and the level of service performed made your stay even more enjoyable. The daily breakfast is available at anytime our guest would love to and the in-villa dining available for lunch or dinner. I am happy to find you loved it too. We are excited and look forward to seeing you again at The Ulin Villas and Spa.


Warmest regards from all here,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    69
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
148
333
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My new wife and I stayed here in March for five days for our honeymoon. We had the honeymoon package, which included a five course meal, massage, breakfast, wine on arrival and basically being treated like a prince and princess during the entire stay. I cannot say enough the facilities. The villa itself was pristine, the private pool was amazing, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was great, everything was spotless and refreshed daily. They gave us three pillows of varying firmnesses which was great. It also had a full kitchen so making coffee at our leisure and storing our purchased ice cream treats was easy. the mini bar was always stocked and included beer, soft drinks and snacks. We had everything on the breakfast menu at some point during our stay and enjoyed the food. The fruit was always fresh and delicious and the cook that came to our room was great. We are both foodies and would say that the breakfasts were akin to moms home cooking.
The other thing about this small villa accommodation is the privacy. We could have been anywhere and no where, but only 300 m from the main street in seminyak, 20 minutes walk if you dare, to the beach. Close to some amazing restaurants (dont miss Ku De Ta or The Breeze at the Samaya for some world class food) and Kuta. We really enjoyed the privacy and spent most of the time in the villa or spa, which bring me to my next point
the spa here is AWESOME, we've had lots of massages and spa treatments in the past, but this spa set itself apart, from the amazing ginger tea, to the super friendly staff, to the mad low prices, we went every single day, I think the staff thought we were nuts!
The best thing was the star treatment that we had, nothing was too small or menial, the receptionists were lovely and helpful and their recommendations were perfect for dinners and visits.
So overall, this villa, with great staff, amazing facilities and awesome atmosphere, if we could live here, we definitely would!
This is the only place i have ever stayed were i cannot really find anything negative so say, I usually try to make at least one suggestion, but these people have done it perfectly!

Room Tip: we stayed in 5, but i reckon all of the spa villas are the same and awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear “busy65”

It was a pleasure having you stay with us on your recent honeymoon in Bali, we were honored. We wish to thank you for taking your valued time to write your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the every part of your stay, from the beauty of the villa (and of course the private pool), the in villa breakfast which was always freshly served, our signature 100 candles candle light dinner, our prime location “just steps away from eat street” and the level of service presented by our team members. I am also delighted to find that you loved the Spa so much and I agree with you that the spa is something everyone should try. We really look forward to welcoming you again on your future Bali visit.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Ulin Villas looked exactly the same as the pictures seen on TripAdvisor. This is testament to the efforts the staff make to unsure that the villas are spick and span, giving all guests a positive experience. We loved the villa and its privacy, it was well maintained and contained almost everything you would ever need for your stay. There is also a complimentary mini-bar with snacks to boot. Tea time is also offered on the house which was a nice touch. The staff were exceptionally friendly, efficient and prompt.

The location of Ulin was also a plus point. There is food available just 2 minutes walk from Ulin, it is a little far from the beach but we did not venture much as the villa was just too inviting. Mosquitoes were not an issue for us as we come from a similar climate anyway. In any case, the staff are on hand to set up mosquito coils when it got dark.

We had an interesting experience as we stayed over on Nyepi day. The whole place was silent and serene. Surprisingly, we enjoyed it and are considering making another visit over Nyepi.

Ulin has plenty of positives and we will likely return. But the big negative of our stay there was the food. After eating a full day of room service on Nyepi, the night before Nyepi and on every morning of our 3 night stay, we can conclude that the food leaves a lot to be desired. It is a nice touch to have the staff cook breakfast in our villa but the quality of the food is just not on par with the other aspects of Ulin. The room service and candlelight dinner we equally sub-par if not worse than breakfast.

Food however should be the least of your concerns at Ulin, with good food joints like Ultimo at your doorstep I can't imagine why anyone would want to be confined to room service if they had a choice. Ulin is fantastic, just give the hotel food a miss.

Room Tip: We had a villa nearer to the reception which lessened the walk we had to make as there are some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear “BenL839”

Please allow me to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent stay at The Ulin Villas and Spa to tripadvsior.com members. I am very delighted to hear that you loved the privacy and the villa which fitted and come with your every possible expectations. I am also happy to note your high credit over our team members that were exceptionally friendly, efficient and prompt. Nyepi Day is one of the most unique Balinese tradition and culture. Nyepi literally means “silent”, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the special day as much as we did. We sincerely thank you for your feedback on the foods. We are in the middle of revising our list of breakfast and also the in-villa dining which we do hope would cater better to every individual preferences. Once again thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Cheers,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Villas were very private, which is fantastic, we practically swam and slept the whole day
The gardens were simple and clean with a large pool which is great.The staff were always very helpful and responsive, which is very pleasant but excellent customer service is being proactive - not reactive towards your client's needs.
Location is nice, close to nice shops and restaurants, but still very quiet.

We loved the rooms and the four poster bed. Simply furnished. However 2 huge negatives for us:

1) the food, breakfast (included) and dinner (candlelight) and anything on the menu actually were really poor and tasteless. I have informed the manager who is extremely courteous and capable - people travel to Bali to taste Balinese cuisine, we get hamburgers and sandwiches at home.

2) we booked from 21st Mar 2012 to 24th Mar 2012. As it was our first visit to Bali, the hotel could actually inform us that they will be celebrating their new year (Nyepi Day) prior to us paying our confirmation and booking our flights as we had contacted them before October 2011.Due to this, we had no choice but to come on the dates arranged initially, half our tours were ruined as the whole place comes to a standstill a couple of days before Nyepi. So if you are travelling to Bali, find out when Nyepi falls as it changes every year.

Nyepi is good if you want to experience the festival, bad if you want to travel around Bali and shop.

Overall a dissapointing trip - the villas were everything expected, but the service and food was not :(

Overall, too pricey, a good/average rating at it's best.
Stayed 21st March 2012 to 24th March 2012, travelled with spouse

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shankarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear “Shankarii”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review of your most recent stay. It was also a pleasure meeting once during your stay. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and loved our villas very much. Nyepi Day is one of a rare opportunity to experience Bali’s unique celebration. Nyepi literally means “silent” where no traffic is allowed (there was no even flight in and out Bali) and no guest is allowed go out of the hotel premises while you can do anything inside. Most guests enjoyed their time upon Nyepi day where I understand may become a turn-off to some. We did have an announcement on our “essential information about it”. We also value your suggestions to have local dishes on our menu. We loved to know that you loved the “ayam betutu” made by Ngurah our chef. Once again thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

It's hard to believe places like this exist. We originally did not book at Ulin, however upon arrival at another villa we were told they were at capacity and could not accommodate us. The other villa made arrangements for us to stay at Ulin for 3 nights before we moved back to the original hotel, and it was the best thing that could have happened! Not once were we treated like "comped" guests or felt like Ulin was doing the other property a "favor" by taking us in. We didn't want to leave and tried spending the rest of our stay in Seminyak there!

The grounds of the room were incredible. I write grounds because in addition to the bedroom and sitting room, each room had a private outdoor space equipped with a lap pool, massage hut, outdoor dining room, outdoor kitchen. It was all very spacious.

Every morning someone would come to our room to make us breakfast. We had a great massage at the spa. Our room received great sunlight and at night the pool was lined with candles. Very romantic!

The property is centrally located and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The public beach was a little far, however there is shuttle service to drop you off and we took a leisurely walk back through town. Another option is going to a beach club and camping out there for the day. I would recommend doing that because the experience is a little more enjoyable on a sunbed with umbrella - which are hard to come by on the public beach.

My favorite part about Ulin was the outdoor bathroom. Shower, tub and toilet are all outside (but under cover). While this may be a turn-off for some who are not as comfortable with nature, we love being outdoors and thought it was so different and unique.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurmingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear “Laurmingo”

We wish to thank you for your review at tripadvisor.com. I am very pleased to hear that you loved your stay very much and to read that you did not want to leave. Our villas offer luxury living space, probably one of the largest of it kinds, with lush tropical garden and friendly non intrusive service. I do hope you will book directly for your future trip, not because other villas you booked suddenly in full capacity without notice. We are excited and very much look forward to welcoming you again.

With warm regards from all here,

Wayan Winawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.6 km away
The Dusun
The Dusun
#24 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.7 km away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#3 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.8 km away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#8 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Property: The Ulin Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Merta Sari, Seminyak Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price range (per night): $433 - $838
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate Bali holiday experience in the heart of the evolving Seminyak lifestyle district, The Ulin Villas & Spa is the place to be. This multi award-winning villa retreat puts you in the vicinity of world-class restaurants, vibrant boutiques and after-dark hotspots on the beach. It is located just off Bali's famous "Eat Street" where everyone comes to enjoy food, fashion and fun. Following its recent aesthetic refurbishment, The Ulin Villas & Spa reinterprets contemporary Balinese design through customized interiors and luxurious touches. Each villa is a tropical sanctuary cocooned within a native garden featuring its own private swimming pool and essential modern home comforts. At The Ulin Villas & Spa, we understand the importance of relaxation and spending quality time with loved ones. Trained in the art of Balinese hospitality, our team is on hand to ensure that all of your needs are taken care of with a warm smile and a few friendly words to enrich your stay. The Ulin Villas & Spa is another exclusive property managed by Karaniya Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Seminyak, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing