We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful contemporary villa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Ranked #5 of 142 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful contemporary villa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Samaya villa, I had a one bed villa which was really very generous in size, spotlessly clean, and had a huge spa bath with candle all set up plus a double shower, they even had a separate bidet,really good bath soaps and creams, the bed was huge and sooo comfy,
The garden and private pool were immaculate and again very spacious in size.
The breakfast was great and probably too big in size but excellent presentation and fresh fruit daily in your villa.
All the staff were kind and helpful and if you used room service or booked a car or taxi the service was always quick, and never invasive.
Excellent location in Seminyak walking distance to top restaurants.
I would definatley recommend the Samaya.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FrenchieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,518
    134
    35
    10
    15
See reviews for
258
1,222
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at the Samaya Seminyak and Samaya Ubud in September. I broke my foot in two places on the second day of our holiday but the wonderful management and staff at both Samayas made sure we had a great holiday nonetheless. They were discreet but genuinely helpful - nothing was too much bother - the service and the warmth of the staff is unbeatable. We stayed in the Royal Courtyard villas at Samaya Seminyak and ate at Breeze restaurant right on the beach. Ubud was even better - a wonderful villa with a huge private pool and a glorious location on the side of the hill, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation running down to the Ayung River - we ate breakfast at Scene restaurant overlooking the rice paddies and the mountains beyond and dinner at Swept Away restaurant right on the river. Roosters crowing, from the village near by, tiny Burung Pipits & other birds in the trees around the villas - wonderfully restful & only 10 minutes by hotel shuttle to Ubud. We are very experienced travellers over many years but Samaya is something very special. There are bigger places and possibly more luxurious but Samaya has all the luxury you could ever want with the best staff and wonderful locations.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 103 at Ubud ... great because it is close to reception & the restaurant becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SydneyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Samaya Bali was a fantastic, memorable experience from beginning to end. Upon arrival at The Samaya we were presented with a beautiful flower neck garland and transferred the few feet to our villa on board one of the complexe's many golf buggies.
As we walked into our villa our breath was taken away by the fantastically built and presented accomodation that we were going to be staying in, we also found out that we werre the first guests to stay in our newly built villa which perfect as it was our honeymoon. The villas are extremely plush and have a mansion feel to them. As we walked through our villa we first came to a TV room with a sofa that could easily be used as a bed. In the next section there was a four poster super king sized bed, surrounded with crisp white bed linen and beautifully draped netting (there was also another tv in this room) In the next part of the villa there was a long wide corridor that contained the toilet, shower room, jaccuzi bath (which had been filled with rose petals of yellow with a red heart) next was two sinks one for a lady and one for a gent. In the middle of these sinks was a door to an outside shower. To put the size of the toilet room, shower room and outside shower room into perspective, you could easily fit a single bed with room to walk around in each!!! The outer area of the villa did not fail to impress either. With an ample decking area containing pull out comfortable loungers. A swimming pool that was big/long enough to swim lengths and then at the far end was a cannopied decking area that had another large sofa on (also big enough to lay out on)
We were shown round the villa by our 'butler' who was very welcoming and helpful. In the fridge as it was our honeymoon we had been given a honeymoon cake and a bottle of champagne. This was presented to us by our butler who then confirmed that the contents of the fridge, (which contained cans of pop, juice, water, bar of chocolate, fresh milk etc) would be changed on a daily basis and were complimentary. We were then informed that on a daily basis an afternoon tea would be served between 3 and 5pm, this was also complimentary and we could have this wherever we wanted (In our villa, by the pool, in the restaurant etc) The menu of drinks for this afternoon tea was extensive and ranged from simple teas and coffees to Iced coffee, hot chocolate, cold chocolate and wonderful lattes. We then got to have a small sandwich and little cakes. One of us has to have gluten free food and they accomodated for this perfectly. All of these added daily extras were a real special touch, especially as we were only staying on a bed and breakfast basis.
After about 10 minutes of arriving at the villas we recieved a call from the general manager, Ray Clarke, welcoming us to the resort. We were very impressed by this and Ray showed that he was really interested in the quests he had staying at The Samaya.
On our first evening we went to the villas own restaurant called ' Breezes' we enjoyed a fantastic meal all whilst over looking the ocean. The cocktails were truely sublime!!!! especially the berryoska!!!!!! This resort looks fantastic in the day time but the evening creates such a romantic feel, exactly the mood we wanted for our honeymoon.
At breakfast on our first morning we were greeted by the very cheerful staff and made to feel that nothing was too much trouble for them. They accomodated our need for a Gluten free meal perfectly and even went as far as to buy in further gluten free products to enable variation in the meals. Ray was also there every morning to greet the guests and we truely felt from that very first day that we were part of The Samaya family. we were also given a daily laundry allocation that we thought was a fantastic idea and truly welcome extra to the hotels fantastic service. All the items we sent to laundry came back beautifully washed and pressed.
We had been given a complimentary 30min massage that they were happy to accomodate us having together in the same room. When we booked into this we decided to book a couples spa experience as well. This was absolutely fantastic and well worth the money we paid. We were so refreshed following a 2:30hr spa which involved a foot ritual, 1hr massage, coffee body scrub, milk jaccuzi bath, ginger tea to drink and to finish off a facial. We then book me in for a hair spa which was a extremely luxurious experience (1:45hr of hair treatment, head massage, hand and arm massage and hair dried to finish off)
One of the things that made The Samaya even more special was the butler service, they were absolutely fantastic, genuinely interested in how you were and only to happy to help in making your experience a memorable one.
We decied one evening to have our meal in our room and the service was just perfect and as usual the food was A class.
On our final night at The Samaya we had dinner in the 'Breezes' retaurant again (Perfect food and service as ever!!!) and then when we told them that we were getting picked up for our transfer before breakfast in the morning they offered us in room dining and took our order there and then. We were leaving the villas at 6:30am and they prepared breakfast for us for 5:30am!!! This was a wonderful parting gift from The Samaya.
You have to experience The Samaya it is truely amazing and we want to thank all the staff, especially the two butlers that looked after us during our stay and of course Ray Clark who runs The Samaya perfectly. We hope to return to The Samaya one day soon as it is an experience that we definitely want to have again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach front villas, which were close to the 'Breezes' restaurant and were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liamcharlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I work for a luxury tour operator, and I have therefore been lucky enough to stay at many of the most luxurious hotels in Bali. The Samaya Seminyak is without doubt my favourite.

The service and level of care at the Samaya (and their sister hotel in Ubud), is better than any other luxury hotel I have visited in Asia, not just in Bali. The Royal Courtyard Villas are vast, with large private pools, jacuzzi bath tubs, super super king size beds. They are incredibly private and very romantic. I also had a look at the pool villas by the beach while there and they are just as good.

The butlers will look after your every whim and all of the staff there are always smiling, friendly and willing to help. If you choose to sit at the loungers by the beach, which I often did as I enjoy the view and sound of the sea, the pool staff are very good at keeping your water topped up. They also serve fresh fruit and a very good and sizable afternoon tea (this could also be served in your villa if you wish).

The sunsets are spectacular and the cocktails to die for. It is certainly the best place for sundowners on that stretch. And I have tried a few places!

The restaurant Breeze serves unbelievably good breakfasts from eggs benedict to fruit platters, to banana pancakes etc etc. There is so much choice and the dinner is even better. The setting right by the sea, the lanterns dotted around .....it is incredibly romantic.

Equally if you want to eat out, there are a number of very good restaurants about 5 mins walk away.

We were also lucky enough to try the spa. With a spa suite overlooking the ocean, we enjoyed an excellent Balinese massage to the sound of the waves.....I couldn't have been more relaxed.

Having sent a number of guests to the Samaya, it is easy to see why they all rave about it. This is my all time favourite hotel in Asia...and I have probably stayed in over 100 luxury hotels on the continent so that is saying something. Do not hesitate...just book!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Zelie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I would just like to say that i stayed at the samaya in March 2011. Firstly i am very late writing this review - but i just had to do it so people know what this place is like. From arrival to ending...this was an amazing place. I don't know where to start. As soon as we arrived at Bali we got a little scared because it didn't look as good as KL airport lol. but don;t let that scare you. :) My whole experience having your own villa which was very private, swimming pool jacuzzi - rooms were cleaned everyday...a buggy service to take you to the restaurant which has a sea view...omg absolutley amazing having breakfast lunch or dinner by the sea...!! the staff were amazing - lovely amazing smiles each time they'd see us...would always nod and ask if we were okay...lovely sauna steam room. lovely massage services...it was great...than on top of that...its location was great too...you were a short ten mins drive from the little city centre of it all which is lovely and packed with amazing restaurants, loads of bars and clubs...oh and quite a few drunk australians...lol...loads to do on the island and soo much to see!!!!!! so worth going!!! we wish we can go there again!! Mr Malik & Nafisa.

Room Tip: this place didn't have good rooms - this place had villa's which were amazing... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mohammad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 km away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#9 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.4 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#24 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.5 km away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
0.3 km away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Property: The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Address: Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price range (per night): $670 - $1,018
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Samaya Bali Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing