We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time and still impressed”
Review of The Ahimsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ahimsa
Ranked #100 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melb Aust
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Third time and still impressed”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was our third visit to Bali and our third visit to The Ahimsa Jl.Kunti.My partner and I with our two teenage boys love the villas with the grass around the sunny pools.The efficient friendly nature of the staff guided by expat Mr Stuart ensure that you are treated as a VIP.The airport transfer service & local drop offs no matter what time of day are comforting.Always there are upgrades to vehicles,rooms and concepts nothing gets shoddy.This year The Ahimsa have added a nice touch by talking a photo of the family at the villa and then framing and presenting it on departure.Ours is on display at home as a constant reminder of our enjoyable stay.I agree with the other reviews that the location is fantastic,the open lounge is conducive to family bonding,the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable,the bathrooms are luxurious with the showers exposed to the open.Breakfast is great with staff coming in to prepare and serve.We can also recommend The Ahimsa Beach at Jimbaran Bay & The Ahimsa near Seminyak Beach.We divide our time between the three and love them all equally.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    53
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
61
63
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at The Ahimsa, staying in a 3 bedroom villa.
Right from the booking stage and throughout our stay, nothing was too hard for the staff and we were welcomed with such open arms. From the amazing breakfasts, local car transport, villa facilities and above all the attentive, happy and caring staff, The Ahimsa is second to none. We had our two kids (1 & 4) and parents, and the villa was more than spacious. The staff interacted with our kids so beautifully, and for safety put up a fence around the pool.
Forget what people say about the location, forget what you see on google maps. The Ahimsa is a 60 second walk to Bali Deli, there are ten restaurants within 10 mins walk along JL Kunti, and the beach is 10mins away (if you really want to go there!). We would get the complimentary transfer daily to either Kuta, Legian or around Seminyak, and the taxi home was never any more than $2.70!! I've been to Bali a few times, and while Kuta and Legian have great shopping (albeit mostly the same stuff) and lots of restaurants and cafes for lunch/dinner, it was so nice to leave that kaos behind and return to our private villa in Seminyak. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Seminyak other than around the JL Kunti area (and the Ahimsa!). We went down to the Oberoi area and there's nothing much there! And as for Ku De Ta....extremely noisy, over the top and overrated!! You may as well stay in Bondi if you want that.
Seriously, if you want the villa experience, to relax, swim, and eat in your own private and quiet surrounding, I urge you to consider The Ahimsa on JL Kunti.

Room Tip: Villas at the back don't get any of the motor bike noise through the day, which is prevalent in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

When we arrived in Bali, booked via balidiscountholidays.com for 6 nights at the Ahimsa villas we were devastated to find that the Internet site was in fact fraudulent and we in fact had no booking at all!
What's more the Villa complex was fully booked for our Devasated and nowhere to go, the owner of the Ahimsa Villas, expat Stuart Smith, and his staff, refused to let the incident spoil our holiday and put on the most wonderful display of welcoming hospitality anyone could ever imagine!
He truly did everything to provide us with wonderful 5 star accommodation at 2 of the sites, one at the beach, and the other in Jl Kunti. What's more, when the fraudulent tour operator showed up at the Villa complex in a bid to smooth things over with his excuses, Mr Stuart was instrumental in his apprehension and handing over to the Balinese authorities!
Our experience at Ahimsa was fantastic. So close to all the wonderful shopping and world class restaurants. The staff were so friendly and professional and always remembered our names.
This is undeniably a top class villa complex run by a top class crew! Thank you Mr Stuart...we will surely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed at the Ahimsa for 4 nights in July and loved it. It is conveniently located across the road from Bali Deli and only a few minute walk to the main shopping strip. The staff at Ahimsa were outstanding; always ready to help and always smiling and friendly. We have a 2 year old and a 4 year old and when we arrived we found that they had already put a pool fence in place.

The breakfast freshly cooked each morning was great and the only thing I could complain about are the mosquitos. However that's a problem pretty much everywhere and nothing to do with the Ahimsa. The rooms are well appointed without being brand new and the mosquito netting saved us at nights! The bedrooms are seperate - each with their own bathroom, so are perfect for a couple or families.

We had Villa 1 which was closest to the road so there was unfotunately a lot of road noise but that was only noticeable from the lounge/dinning room area - not from the bedrooms.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sully_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed in the three bedroom villa and we cant fault it. The staff were so attentive to all our needs. Nothing was too much trouble. We were a family of six and found the villa to be very spacious with gorgeous bedrooms and spectacular bathrooms. Having breakfast cooked for us in our own kitchen was awesome. Location wise, we were very well situated within a short walk to the supermarket which was very well stocked with any thing that you may need. Plenty of excellent restaurants nearby also but then again we were a quick taxi ride to anywhere in Seminyak. Overall a really lovely stay which we highly recommend. Maria Withers. Australia.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria_withers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.0 km away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 143 in Seminyak
624 reviews
1.3 km away
The Haere
The Haere
#89 of 143 in Seminyak
102 reviews
1.9 km away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#66 of 143 in Seminyak
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
#34 of 143 in Seminyak
541 reviews
1.5 km away
bvilla + pool
bvilla + pool
#116 of 143 in Seminyak
30 reviews
1.7 km away
The Ahimsa Estate
The Ahimsa Estate
#125 of 251 in Kuta
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ahimsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahimsa

Property: The Ahimsa
Address: Jl. Kunti 121, Seminyak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#46 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#70 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#72 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price range (per night): $169 - $390
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahimsa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AHIMSA group redefines luxury accommodation by providing discerning guests with the ultimate boutique villa experience. Contemporary design and traditional Asian architecture coupled with impeccable five-star service ensures your stay will be an unforgettable one. Our philosophy is embodied in the Sanskrit word 'AHIMSA' - meaning 'to abstain from harm or violence to all earth's creatures'. Followers of the Hindu faith believe embracing this ideal will lead to a better way of life. Our hotel stands as a reminder to our valued guests and the people of the world that Bali is a gentle island with caring inhabitants. The Ahimsa is situated in the heart of vibrant cosmopolitan Seminyak. Choose from sixteen private villas, ranging from one to three bedroom. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The Ahimsa Estate features five luxury villas comprising 2 one bedroom pool villa, 2 two bedroom pool villa and 1 three bedroom pool villa. Our villas have all the superior appointments of the Seminyak Villas but incorporate a more contemporary architectural treatment. Located 5 minutes walking from Seminyak Beach-just off Bali's most fashionable street for dining and entertainment. Jalan Oberoi - next to famous restaurant Kudeta, Ahimsa Estate affords guests all the pleasures they seek for the ultimate Bali experience. The Ahimsa Beach boasts eleven luxury villas situated 150 meters from one of Bali's best swimming beaches and only a stones throw from the Four Seasons resort and spa. The Ahimsa Beach consists of seven one-bedroom, two two-bedroom and two three-bedroom exquisitely appointed villas fitted with the air and essence that have made Ahimsa hotels one of the most popular boutique style hotels on the island. En-suite bathrooms, full-service kitchen, state -of-the art entertainment systems, open plan lounge and dining areas, ensure your every need is catered for. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The use of local materials in the choice of interior fitments ensures the indelible spirit of Bali is captured in all its grace and beauty. Dining is a pleasure at The Ahimsa where a team of culinary experts will prepare a la carte breakfast every morning for guests as well as any special meal requests for nights spent relaxing in your own villa. Experience a better way of life The villas are constructed in a style that combines the very best of traditional Balinese architecture with luxurious Western amenities. This combination places the Ahimsa hotels the forefront of this beautiful island's boutique -style accommodation. Honeymooners, discerning travelers or families can look forward to the guest services the Ahimsa has become famous for, including secure private accommodation, in villa spa, beauty treatments, the famous Ahimsa Barbecue, a well-equipped business centre, personal tour guides and sight seeing packages plus much more. Travel arrangements, tours and cruises can all be organized by the resort's staff for guests. Popular activities include scuba diving, snorkeling and rafting. Whether you stay at THE AHIMSA, THE AHIMSA ESTATE or THE AHIMSA BEACH, you will enjoy the best this magical island has to offer and as a result - discover a better way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ahimsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
The Ahimsa Seminyak, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing