We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“IToo large and spread out. sterile atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Ranked #37 of 137 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,343
    842
    227
    62
    28
See reviews for
587
1,249
102
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Royal Beach Seminyak - Mum, Dad & 5 yo. daughter stayed 5 nights in March 2012

STAFF: Beautiful! Forget if they can actually do their jobs well (which they can BTW), they are all just so smiley, welcoming & warm. You are greeted everywhere you go around the resort and it just makes you feel so welcome. We went from this resort to another in Sanur and whilst it was a great place we were hardly ever greeted and it really made us feel differently about our stay. Well done to you Royal Beach for making guests feel like they are at home not just another visitor!

ROOM: We had booked a deluxe room but were lucky enough to receive an upgrade to a beach front Villa. It was heaven! You walk in through your private front gate to a beautiful courtyard complete with table & 4 chairs, umbrella, cabana, plunge/whirl pool & gorgeous veranda. The gardens are beautiful and each day someone comes and sweeps the grass & paths as well as cleans the pool. The Villa is great. The bedroom is huge complete with king size bed, mosquito net, desks air conditioning & TV. The ceiling is high with a view of the traditional thatching. The bathroom has separate bath & shower and has all the bits & bobs you would need (toothbrush, paste, sewing kit, shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser, nail care, etc). There is a kitchen with small full size fridge and an instant espresso machine - the coffee pods are delicious!

POOLS: There are 2. The main pool just back from the beach is large and has several features such as a bridge, statues & kiddies wading pool to keep your children intrigued. Always clean and with a gorgeous out look. The 2nd pool is hidden in the garden and it great too. The outlook is lush gardens and the hotel rooms beyond. Each morning signs are put out at both pools requesting guests NOT to leave their towels out unattended for more than half an hour so everyone can have a chance of a sun lounge - this is great in theory but doesn't always work. Also some times all lounges are full and you have nowhere to sit but soon enough one becomes available - could be tricky in high season.

FOOD: Breakfast buffet is good with many options from the standards of eggs, bacon & sausages to a japanese corner, Indonesian options & lots of sweet pastries. Yummy! Room service was good with all the usual suspects such as club sandwiches, spag bol as well as nasi goreng etc. Delivered hot & on time it's a winner. You can enjoy drinks & food around the pool or out on the lawn. Again food is good.

SPA: We received a massage each as part of our accommodation package. It was delightful! You are in your own private room with gentle music & it smells great. Our massage therapist was so professional & we each really enjoyed our hour long massage. The manager worked with us to fit us in before we had to check out.

SECURITY: A huge presence at the front driveway with each vehicle being checked both in the car & the boot. There are also security personnel at the beach which gives a holidaying family huge peace of mind.

LOCATION: Close to some local shops, but a short taxi ride to Eat Street. We walked south on the beach path to the Padma then cut inland and along to the Bintang Supermarket all with a 5 year old. An easy stroll if you have lots of time & don't mind a pit stop here and there for a Bintang : )

FAULTS: I am struggling to come up with any! Let me think.... no can't think of any : ) Thank you very much for an excellent 5 night stay & start t our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MonoWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear MonoWilli,

Thank you very much for this kind review. :) It's always a pleasure to receive such nice compliments. We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your whole stay with us.
Again, thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday. I will share again your comments with our team which will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a very nice hotel in an excellent location. However we were paying a 5* price for our room which was not really outstanding for the price.
The location of the hotel is excellent as it has a beach frontage and is withing easy reach (ie walk or short taxi ride) of excellent restaurants and shopping but I do think that $300 US for a room and breakfast (we actually paid around $250 without breakfast (a nice breakfast can be obtained on the beach at Zanzibar for under $10) but breakfast was available at $27 per person) needs to be justified.
We arrived at the checkin time of 2pm and a/our room was not ready - as was the case for others also.
The room was okay but had minor irritations - the airconditioning had no remote control and could not be set above 26C which was to cold for us, the toilet must have been designed for a midget (or perhaps a small Balinese person?), there was no single easily located switch that turned all the lights in the room off, etc. etc.
It was a nice room but whether it was worth $250 (or $300 if you include breakfast) is another question!
Another considerable irritation was that we were there on the eve of Nyepi (which is the Balinese (Hindu) New Year and is one of their most important religious hoildays) and were told by hotel staff that we would have to go to the airport (which is normally 20 to 30 minutes away) at 4pm to catch our 11pm flight because there would be a Nyepi procession. The hotel could/would not provide us with any information regarding road closures so that we could catch a taxi ourselves so we took the hotel car at 5pm (at 5* cost again) which was going to the airport to pickup passengers and we arrived at 5:30pm and the driver certainly knew the way and there was only one small minor deviation from the normal trip. The hotel could have provided some service for the cost of their hotel room for 4 nights! We had to wait at the airport for approximately five and a half hours (the asme time it took us to fly back to Melbourne) and we had the impression that the hotel simply wanted to get everyone out of there so that the staff could go home for Nyepi - their advice was not very useful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucien Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here in February for 5 nights, but loved the hotel so much we wished it was longer. Upon the drive up to the hotels lobby we were thinking wow this is impressive. We maintained that view the whole stay! Security is there to meet you and check the car upon entry.
We pre-paid for our accommodation with a 40% off special through the Accor website. So we splurged and went for the Grand Deluxe room. The room was huge, with what we think was way too much space for 2 people. There was a comfy king size bed (proper one too, none of this two singles but together!), a chaise lounge, a huge bathroom (big shower and separate bath) and there was still tons of space in the room. I think this room would be good for a young family with one or two small kids.
The range of bathroom amenities was amazing - the usual shampoo and conditioner, but also toothbrushes, toothpaste, mouthwash, loofah, nail file and the list goes on.... The wifi really wasn't great from inside the room, but was fine on the balcony. But it is free (unlike some other resorts) so that was fine with us.
The resort has 2 pools - our balcony (level 3) overlooked the garden pool and there was also the beach pool which is really just gorgeous. Lots of pool lounges here - maybe not enough for peak season though. But what made the biggest impact on me was the grassy section that borders the beach. This is the property of the hotel, and as such no-one from the beach comes over to try and sell you anything. There is also a security guard patrolling. There are more pool lounges here, along with actual lounge chairs (good for watching sunsets), hammocks, and bali huts with beanbags (the best!!!). Every afternoon we just hung out here reading, then swimming, then reading. It was fantastic just to relax here. Beside the beach pool they also have a bar and a raised covered area with more beanbags - people were bringing their laptops here, to surf the net and have a few drinks.
We ate at the restaurant once, dinner on the last night. The food was great and as it was Sunday we got a free drink with dinner. I think for an entree each, main and one alcoholic drink it was about 500,000rp. We didn't have breakfast in our package, and it was quite expensive (I think 160,000rp each) so we ate out each day. Our favourite place was Me'nu just down the road.
There is also a laundry just down the road which was very cheap - it was beside Delicious Onion on Jl Drupadi. I think we paid about 25,000rp for quite a few days worth of laundry. The hotel does have a laundry service, but it was much more expensive.
Overall we loved this hotel and hope to return again soon. We are trying to decide if it is worth the full price, and I think the answer is yes :) We will be recommending the Royal Beach Seminyak to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chazwazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Chazwazza,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments and sharing so many details of your experience with us. It's always a pleasure for us to receive such enthusiastic reviews.
Glad to know that you really enjoyed your valuable time in our Resort.
Your feedback will be a great motivator to our team to maintain the standards and to continuously improving our services.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more memorable!

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue Hill
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Excellent hotel - best pool area and loved the ocean swimming too!
Seminyak is definitely the area in Bali we'll come back to!
Good restaurant if we felt lazy but best dining in Seminyak.
Light airy room even if older style - may be would upgrade to an upstairs room - didn't look at them.

Definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Maybe upstairs - ours may have been a bit damp, and reasonably far from pool, restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailBBellevueHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear GailBBellevueHill,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for the nice and constructive review. I apologize should the room location and conditions did not meet entirely your expectations and rest assured that we will provide you a room even better and closer to the pool for your next visit.
I will share this with our team and I am sure that it will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
1.9 km away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 137 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#12 of 137 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.4 km away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
0.7 km away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 137 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Property: The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#30 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price range (per night): $166 - $295
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing