We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unique hotel I have ever stayed”
Review of Luna2

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luna2
Ranked #14 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Only 14 rooms, we were treated like guests in someone's home...we had the Sunset view room, great views to the water. Room was very unique and large. Jessica, Helmut, as managers were more than that, assisting with restaurant recommendations and our every need...Alana the Chef prepared a special meal for us for dinner one nite, it was wonderful...Breakfast was always special. The pool area was unique and very nice, we mostly had it to ourselves. Beach was close, 50 meters or so and nice folks on the beach. Had massages in room, a vehical/driver avail for our shopping. Also we had the movie theater by ourselves, watched great movies(3)

Room Tip: Hotel was 100% booked, no noise, we liked our room very much...Sunset View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomthompson2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Front Office Manager at Luna2, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear tomthompson2000

Many thanks for staying with us at Luna2 studiotel and for taking the time to post such a kind review.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and especially in the one-of-a-kind sunset studio. I am also thrilled that you were able to experience everything that we have to offer - massages in your room, car & driver, and even a private movie cinema. I will also be happy to share your kind words about the dinner on to Chef Alanna and her team.
We hope to welcome you back to Luna2 in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Jessica
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

Don't be put off by the location which is at the end of some funky alley way. Luna 2 is funky and hip and if you are an Austin Powers fan ... you'll swear he'll show up "Baby".. The gals who work there are in mini dresses and go go boots. There is art depicting rubix cubes, large Monopoly hotels and houses and funk-a-delic art. The pool and surrounding area is amazing. This hotel features a 16 seat movie theater with two different movie showings every day. You can even order dinner to eat while you watch. Be sure and go to the Orbit Bar and do not miss trying one of their signature cocktails "Houston, We Have a Problem". The rooms are just as funky and each has its signature motif. The beach is a mere 30 second walk and the water was the perfect temperature to dive right in. The food here is some of the most creative and delicious you will try in all of Bali. Be sure to ask to meet Head Chef Alana. Her culinary cuisine expertise will wow your palette. Also see if you can try the new "In-Flight" meal in your room. Wonderful and personable staff, close to the beach and a short taxi ride to shopping in Seminyak. This is a quaint and fabulous hotel and you will be glad you chose the Luna 2.

Room Tip: Try to select a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank donnafig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna2_Bali, Front Office Manager at Luna2, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear donnafig

Thank you for writing such a kind review on Luna2 studiotel. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
I am thrilled you were able to experience so many of the superstar services that we provide for our guests, from dinners in Orbit to movies in Lunaplex cinema. I will also be sure to pass your comments on to Melanie Hall, Luna2 founder and designer. She will be pleased to read your compliments on the design and décor. I will also send your kind words to Chef Alanna and her team, as well.
We appreciate you recommending people to choose Luna2 and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Jessica Lee Cook
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

After reading the reviews, I was convinced that staying in this hotel will be a good change from the usual Bali villas & resort that I stayed in before but I realized in few hours that it was not for me.

Pros:
Clean, modern & new feel to it.
Loved the music played in the room.
Martini served on arrival was great.
Closeness to the beach
Service is good. It's what you get in a good hotel but we missed the personal touch we get from service crews in Bali villas

It felt like it's a good option for a work- business trip. However, I was there for holiday.

Cons:
It gives you a hotel feel vibe & forget that you are in Bali. It might be great for others, but not for me.

Breakfast was ok not great. Maybe I had high expectation after reading the reviews. The food looked like it has been outside, displayed for a while.

Swimming pool was un-inviting for me. But i liked the art wall.

It's a very quiet hotel. I only saw 1 couple during my 5 day stay.

It's a bit of a walk to everything else except the beach. So we had to use taxi to go mostly everywhere when it was raining or late at night.

Taxis did not know this hotel. But I understand that it's because it's new.

I was disappointed with the pillows quality & how few of them are available. With the price paid, I expected luxury sheets , pillows & covers.

I stayed on first floor in a studio called bond on street.

Overall, I think it's s good studiotel but not for me. I wish the reviews had more details which could've helped me with my decision. Also note that although close to the beach, if you want clean area to lie on the beach, you will need to go towards the neighboring resorts. Also when we walked to the beach, we saw the Luna hotel. Although we didn't go in that hotel, the swimming pool looked more interesting & less inclosed.





Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank tinakh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna2_Bali, Front Office Manager at Luna2, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear Tinakh1

Thank you for taking the time to write such broad and in-depth feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your pro’s and I sincerely apologise you feel this way relating to your con’s. We do understand that with the stark white and colourful interiors and pop art throughout Luna2 studiotel, the design is not what everyone looks for when they visit Bali. However, we are happy to provide a chic, ultra-modern and fun alternative for those who have been to the island before or are looking for a hotel with a more cosmopolitan feel. We have noted your all of your points and will be discussing at our executive meeting on how we can rectify them. We are grateful for you to bring them to our attention, with items to improve on such as the breakfast, sheets, pillows etc.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. Rest assured we do not take your con’s lightly.
At Luna2 we are proud to say we are #1, and it is great regret that we failed to deliver on our aim to provide you with superstar service during your stay.

Kind regards
Jessica Lee Cook
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

This hotel is very unique and I never experienced before. The design is very sophisticated, hi-tech and so futuristic. My kids love this hotel so much. However since I prefer the more conventional Balinese hotel, I put 4 stars on this review. Anyway, this hotel is recommended, and I think everyone must try the experience.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank andygreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna2_Bali, Front Office Manager at Luna2, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear andygrecco

Thank you for choosing to experience Luna2 this stay in Bali. We certainly agree that Luna2 is not a “traditional Balinese”, though we are a favourite spot for travellers who are looking for something fresh and new, and who enjoy ultra-modern and fun design. We pride ourselves on being one-of-a-kind, while also offering superstar and personalised services for all of our guests. I am delighted to hear that your kids loved staying with us, as our team enjoys going above and beyond for travellers of all ages.
Even though we do understand that many travellers to Bali are looking for a more traditional experience, we thank you for giving us a try and recommending that others do as well. On your next trip to Bali, even if you don’t stay with us, we hope you will come see us for dinner in Orbit restaurant or sunset cocktails in Space.
Thank you again for your honest feedback.

Kind regards

Jessica Lee Cook
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

My partner and I spent 2 nights at Luna2 Studiotel back in May 2016. Honestly, from the moment we were picked up from the airport (in a brand new mini-van, complete with a range of refreshments), I knew we were in for a treat! Although Luna2 is not what you would expect of Balinese accommodation, it is truly a phenomenal space. The interiors are a fun mish mash of mod, retro, and futurism, with lots of primary colour play. As there are only 14 rooms, you have a fair bit of space to yourself in your room, and you have a great view of the colourful pool from your own private balcony. With it's own cinema, a pool with pool toys, and an underground nightclub, Luna2 is perfect for adults and children (... and big children).

A highlight for me was most definitely the gourmet dinner we had at their restaurant, Orbit. Hotel food has never been that darn good! We had a great choice of wine and cocktails, and the staff were super friendly!

Luna2 is only about a 50m walk to the Seminyak beach front (their private hotel/villa is all that sits between the studiotel and the beach) and it is about a 5 minute drive to the Petitenget area.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Monique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna2_Bali, Front Office Manager at Luna2, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Dear Monique C

It was a pleasure to have you and your partner stay with us at Luna2 studiotel in May.
We are thrilled we were able to provide an out-of-this-world stay for you from the moment you were picked up at the airport. It is fantastic you got to experience all aspects of Luna2, from relaxing on your private balcony to enjoying a decadent degustation dinner Orbit restaurant. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our culinary team for the dinner experience.
We hope you can come back to watch a movie in Lunaplex cinema or to have more drinks in Space, our rooftop bar. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards

Jessica lee cook
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,707 reviews
1.8 km away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,588 reviews
1.4 km away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#22 of 148 in Seminyak
1,081 reviews
0.7 km away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Seminyak

Been to Luna2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna2

Address: Jl. Sarinande no. 20, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Luna2 Studiotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $292 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Luna2 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna2 Seminyak, Bali is located in the heart of fashionable Seminyak just a few steps from the beach and within walking distance of renowned KUDETA and Potatohead Beach Club. Ranked among the best small hotels in the world, Luna2 studiotel has 14 super- spacious open-plan studio rooms, personalised 5-star services and ultra-modern interior design infused with nostalgia, futurism, and touches of fun. On site, intimate Orbit restaurant features signature Lunafood and an award-winning wine list. Outdoor, the 25m colour-blocked lap pool is the ultimate escape. Ascend four floors to Space rooftop bar for sunset cocktails with the ultimate panoramic ocean view. Dance the night away in underground ‘groovy-baby’ Pop! lounge bar, or relax in a plush recliner in Lunaplex 16-seat cinema ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Luna2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna2 Seminyak, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing